We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great kitchen and servings”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Madison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Madison
Ranked #68 of 185 Hotels in Cattolica
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great kitchen and servings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Hotel was ok, with small but confortable rooms, a small swimming pool (standard size in the area) and overall nice and helpful perosnnel.
But the great value was the kitchen with large variety of starters (a buffet of 30 each day) and very good main courses served by very cordial personnel.
Wines at fair prices served at the table.
At the end yet another great buffet of cakes and fruit in quantity.

The value for money was there.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms as there seem to be 2 standards in the structure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dado_63xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    106
    37
    11
    8
See reviews for
165
82
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We started staying at the Hotel Madison in about 2001 and have been back many times since, I have taken most of my family to this hotel over the years ,infact last year there were 9 of us , its a perfect place for a relaxing holiday.
Location
The hotel is situated on a quiet street so there is no noise or traffic going past in the evenings which in my book it great because its a 5 minute walk to plenty of bars , shops and nightlife and yet when you are ready for your bed its peace and quiet.
There is entertainment in the hotel some nights but this is usually over by about 11.00 ish which is fine.
There is a brilliant ice cream shop just round the corner from the hotel......i dream about that ice cream on cold winter evenings back in the UK you must try it and its so cheap compared to the uk!
The main town centre of catollica is a short walk in one direction whilst the resort of gabbici mare is a short walk in the other direction, no more than 10 mins either way, everywhere is clean and well looked after.

Hotel
Pool is pleasant, I have been to better pools I must be honest but its fine and is nice enough to relax by and read a book.

Food
This is the part that I have to say its superb, its a buffet to start with and then waiter service for starter and main course with buffet deserts, now buffets are something I would generally probably steer clear of however the hotel madison buffets are exceptional , fantastic food at a very high standard.
Breakfast is also buffet service and there is plenty of choice to set you up for the day.

Beach
The beach is literally over the road from the hotel and if you book direct with the hotel you can opt for beach facilitys which include sunbeds and umberella, the beach is clean , well looked after and is perfect to spend some time soaking up some sun.

This hotel and resort is perfect for familys with young children and also for couples, the rooms are not high end and plush but they are very clean and very comfortable with the added bonus of a fridge.
The hotel is family owned and they do a great job
We have booked to go back this September and we cant wait, give it a try , it wont dissapoint.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank boostravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed in the apartment part of the Madison which was great value for money - very good facilities and the studios were spacious. The pool area was great with a slide for the kids and a jacuzzi for the adults, also very easy access and a lifeguard is on duty. Snack bar beside the pool serves very good food at lunch however the breakfast cost €9 each person and was of quite poor quality. This is the only downside though as you can't fault the location or cleanliness.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PCraig46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Me and my partner have been to the Madison twice now once in 2008 and 2009 and we have booked to go back again on the 28th Aug for 10 Days.

Initially we stayed there because we wanted to watch Moto GP. But now it has become our main holiday and I would go more than once a year if I could.

I am not the kind of person who likes to go to the same place every year but when we left the Madison from the first visit I didn’t want to come home. We got on really well with the staff, so good in fact that we keep in touch with one of them and have been to visit him in his home town on Pesaro on numerous occasions. The family are lovely and we have never had any issues with them.

The food is amazing and that is why the hotel is 4 star. The choice of food is different everyday and I always come home half a stone heavier (despite bike riding to the MOTO GP track which is 20 mins away).

We book with Ryan air who fly from Liverpool and pay next to nothing for the flights. The Madison will pay your taxi transfer fees to and from Rimini airport which is another bonus.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to go to a holiday resort where it is not full of ‘Brits abroad’ and wants a bit of Italian culture.

We love it and will continue to go even when Valentino Rossi retires.

PS I strongly recommend Staccioles- a bar at the top of the road straight up from the Madison. When you go about 5pm for an apretivo and order a bottle of vino you get plates full of food and it just keeps coming.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Di_G11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

This hotel is in a very good location. Just down a flight of stone steps and you are on the sea front with the sandy beaches and the hotels own beach just to your left, and the very pleasant marina with lots of restaurants to your right. A night time stroll to your left will take you to the town square where each night there was entertainment on, due to it being the main Italian holiday season I believe. The Italian people were very friendly. It is a traditional, large but not over commercialised Italian holiday resort. The only thing to be aware of are the mosquitos as they took lots of bites out of my husband and I and other holiday makers too no doubt! There is a block of appartments also within the hotel which appeared to be very spacious.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richardandruth20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

This hotel is run by a family who seems to be friendly during the reservation and upon arrival. We booked early to make sure that we would get seaview and an appartment away from the noisy road on the backside of the hotel. For this we payed extra. We got an appartment on the first floor facing the street. While contacting the reseption they just ignored us, and suddenly they couldn`t speak english... We had to wait for the "manager" who would contact us. The day passed by, and in the evening we went back to the reseption, and the manager had left without leaving us a message. Now they suddenly could speak english, and they said that we hadn`t booked seaview. We showed them our documents, which comfirmed that we did have payed for seiview on high floor. They were overbooked,and could not make any compensation!! Our impression was that the hotel was not full...

We had to ask for cleaning and change for towels and bed linen several times during our two weeks stay. The staff were rude to the children and us. There were no smiles to be seen during our stay.

The sofabed was horrible to sleep on. Hardly any furnitures on the terrace, and the kitchen-equpment was poor. The coffepot was moulded.

Conclusion: Overrated hotel run by ignorant family

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TravellersEuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Madison, Proprietario at Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Dear TravellersEuropa, we are very sorry about the problems that you have listed, a few considerations must be kept in mind though. July is a very busy month for us and unfortunately we were not able to satisfy your request, as our staff had already informed you in July, that we were full during that period at the Hotel and the Residence.

Regarding the cleaning of the room and the change of the linens, in the residence this takes place twice a week with the change of bed and bath linens. This is listed in the services page of the Residence. We hope that we will find you among our guests again in the future.
We send you our best regards, The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

Hotel is classed as 4 star hotel, but the room was actually suprisingly small. We where on our trip in Italy in 3 different 4 star hotels and the room was clearly smallest, dirtiest and dullest. We actually asked the hotel to clean the floor and under the bed as under the bed there was really much dirt. This bed is not going all the way down to floor so you can actually see the dirt and our little child could not be kept on floor at all. But unfortunately even after asking they didint clean the floor or under the bed even once in our 4 days stay in the hotel. Well atleast no need to leave tip for the cleaners :).
Also we used car parking facilities and there was a pipe leaking over the car so we had a wet car as well.... thank god it was a rented car and we only had the car there for 4 days.
One of the annoying things was that they had a show one night that took until midnight and we where sleeping with our 8 months old girl in first floor so it was impossible to sleep. Its completely unaccectable to have major noise and prevent guests for sleeping at midnight especially in a family friendly 4 star hotel. Then i asked from the reception if they have own beach zone and he said no... later on i noted that the hotel had one. I also asked directions to San Marino and they just told go to turist information (This is major destination in Rimini region) which i also did find quite poor service. They should know in reception these things. I dont think i received even one friendly smile from the staff in the 4 days stay att the hotel...
The elevator didnt work well and when we where leaving the elevator door did not work. That was annoying. Also there was simply nothing of 4 star value... why to pay over 100 euro per night for such an avrage hotel?

Also the location compared to central cattolica was suprisingly poor even tho it wasent that far away.. it was close to beach, but almost every 4-5 star hotel in cattolica is close to beach...

Good things are in short supply but the prices in the hotel where ok and the pool was ok and the breakfest was ok.. None of these where of really good standard.

I will only give this 1 star as this was so big disapointment compared to money spent and the official 4 star rating. If i would rate this without these in mind i would give this hotel 2,5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HansThim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cattolica hotels
1.2 mi away
Cormoran Hotel
Cormoran Hotel
#91 of 185 in Cattolica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Waldorf Palace
Hotel Waldorf Palace
#18 of 185 in Cattolica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria Palace Hotel
Victoria Palace Hotel
#73 of 185 in Cattolica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luxor Beach
Hotel Luxor Beach
#9 of 185 in Cattolica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Cattolica
Park Hotel Cattolica
#20 of 185 in Cattolica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ines
Hotel Ines
#15 of 185 in Cattolica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madison

Property: Hotel Madison
Address: Via Don Giovanni Minzoni 80, 47841 Cattolica, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Rimini > Cattolica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cattolica
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Cattolica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madison 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Cattolica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing