We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,779)
Filter reviews
2,786 results
Traveller rating
1,621
722
264
96
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,621
722
264
96
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbolero holidayslazy riverice creammobile homenext yearon siteblu barpizzarotisserie chickenall agesbouncy castleal mareaqua parksthe bushorse ridingbusy roadfamily holiday
Filter
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 2,786 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2015

We holiday several times a year at Union Lido throughout the season and each holiday is different and wonderful. We have been going for around 30 years now and enjoy meeting old friends and making new ones. The staff are welcoming on our arrival and helpful during our stay and also many speak good English.

They have various events for people to enjoy including parties and spectacular fireworks, but you can also find peace and quiet, relaxing on the beach or in the bars. We have seen the site continue to develop over the years, yet still provide a high quality facilities whilst retaining its unique character.

We are now on our 4th generation as a family taking our holidays at Union Lido. Our grandson was only 4 months old on last year's holiday but has already got Nana's sun lounger with his own umbrella, sun shade and cream!

Can't wait for the start of the new season for the wonderful food that is served in the restaurants, the entertainment provided and the relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camping_unionlido, Ufficio Qualità at Union Lido Camping Lodging Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2015

Dear Mr McLeod,
we are very happy to be the chosen place for your holiday since so many years, and we hope to welcome you again and again!
Thank you for your opinion,
best regards

Vanessa Teso
Quality Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2015

My wife and I have stayed at Union Lido together for over 15 years and my wife for over 30 years with her parents. You must have a love of camping and Caravanning and everything to go with it. The investment that has been made to the site over the years never stops and it has gone from strength to strength.

There is nothing not to love about this site, amenities are FANTASTIC. We have rented accommodation on site to driving there in our motorhome, each one as exciting as the other.

The supermarkets are well stocked, the restaurants will leave you with a decision as to which one to visit.......then finish your evenings with a Crepe or on-site made ice-cream while you stroll back to your accommodation.

Everything finishes at 23:00 hours and this is fantastic as you will not get the rowdy parties.

Security used to be much tighter and that is the only element I would say they need to tighten up on. I must stress this is nothing to do with safety just with controlling the handful of patrons who will always try to bend the rules.

We are booked again for 2015 and if you visit you will understand why we have also booked to return in 2016.....................................

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul and Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camping_unionlido, Ufficio Qualità at Union Lido Camping Lodging Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment! We are pleased to hear you like Union Lido so much and that you appreciate our concept and service.
See you soon,
kind regards

Vanessa Teso
Quality Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2015

We stayed with eurocamp from 8th-16th August with our 3 young children. The two other families we travelled with were placed in caravans very near to us and we had a fantastic holiday due to the company of our friends and the wonderful facilities on the huge site. Despite it being august we didn't find it overcrowded (with the exception of aqua parc mare, which is horribly rammed in the afternoon - wait until 5pm before you go).
We spent every morning at the idyllic aqua parc Laguna with its sandy floor. I can't recommend this highly enough for families with toddlers - they could easily get in and out of the water and bob about in their swim vests and armbands while we sat at the side drinking the best coffee I've ever tasted in my life (from the pool bar).
Waterslides good but not as good as we expected - bit samey.
We chilled out at the caravans during the siesta times and would then do beach bar, mini golf (the best mini golf I've ever seen) or aqua parc mare (with the lazy river) followed by funny world or the bouncy castle area. The kids were in their element! Funny world (small theme park) was hilarious. But you'll spend at least €20 each evening on this for the tickets.
It is a shame there isn't a central area with a bar and baby disco like other parcs. The leisure time is either focused on the kids or the adults. There isn't any evening activity that will please both groups at the same time.
The beach is gorgeous. Swimming in the Adriatic in the moonlight was beyond special.
We received fantastic service from Sheela and Kara at the beach bar at the eastern point of the parc. I mention this because it stood out as the only good service we received on union lido (sadly we only visited this bar on the last night). They were both exceptional and made a real fuss over us and the kids. We gave them a good tip and were delighted to be made to feel like welcome guests. Thank you!
So we had a great time on our holiday. Unfortunately I wouldn't recommend union lido to my friends for the following reasons:
- rude staff. We didn't receive any good service in any of the camp restaurants or bars except for Sheela and Kara as mentioned above. I took other people's trip advisor comments about the poor service with a pinch of salt, but it really is that bad that it makes you reluctant to eat out. In Bar Blu (beach bar) they abruptly told us our kids had dropped some ice cream and we had to clean it up. Unfortunately we hadn't noticed the drips, and were mortified, but you don't expect to be scolded like naughty children by the hospitality staff. The dropped ice cream on a table (plastic and easily wipeable mind you!) I agree wasn't ideal but we had spent a fortune there every night and this was the first time our kids had stepped out of line. The staff dealt with it terribly and we didn't return after that night. Children don't seem to be welcome. There is no baby change. I was so disappointed as I had heard that the Italians are fantastic with children. Not here they aren't.
- average food. I expected to be blown away by Italian cuisine. The food was mainly Germanic - Wienerschnitzel etc and nothing special. You don't feel like you're in Italy.
- mosquitoes. I spent £50 on mosquito products before we left but we got caught on the one night we walked back from the beach and I'd forgotten to take the repellant with me. Our kids were bitten but mercifully didn't get any reaction. My husband and I were so badly bitten on that one evening that we had to be prescribed antibiotics and strong antihistamines upon our return to the uk because they'd all turned into hard swellings. I still have bruises from the bites, 3 weeks after returning. Don't overlook the repellant after 5pm!!!
- Marco Polo transfer. Taxi very expensive so we opted for bus on our return to uk. Info office at union lido provided timetable but, in their usual bare minimum of service way, didn't add any verbal advice to the handing over of the timetable. Setting off at 8am on a Saturday, we managed to make our connections as the traffic had not yet got too awful. Our friends who left on the 10am bus (allowing over 2 hours to make the 1 hour 10 min journey), took 3.5 hours to get there and missed their flight. Very expensive and stressful to resolve and something that the union lido staff could have warned against about the traffic on a Saturday.
- checkout procedure. The Union lido gate offices are run like a prison camp - the office staff are like angry prison wardens trying to control the unruly and unlikeable prisoners (the guests). It is obligatory to hand all your passports in at the office on arrival (I can't believe this is even legal), and they won't hand them back to you until the exact moment you leave the site for good. You have to queue up for ages to get the passports back. Obscene! We were leaving so early on the Saturday (before the prison camp office opened at 8), so I queued for an hour on the Friday evening (what a thing to have to do on your last evening!?) to pay the tourist tax, check out and get our passports back. Would you believe these awful people wouldn't give us our passports back even when I'd paid all our outstanding charges? They said we would have to get them from the night porter the next morning. My husband attended the night porter at 7:30am to get our passports and to get a golf buggy to come and collect the rest of the family and our luggage from our caravan (15 mins walk away). They still wouldn't give him the passports until we were actually leaving. So the rest of us got to the office 15 minutes later, ready to leave. They only had 4 passports for our family of 5! They had misplaced mine. I have rarely been so stressed or angry. We were in danger of missing our bus to the airport, and consequently our flight. They were awful about it, blaming me for not checking properly at checkout the day before (I had checked properly and there were 5). Luckily I had the thought to ask them to check with our friends' passports. Yes, they had misfiled mine during the checkout process. This hideous woman didn't apologise to me for losing this critical document which she had no right to withhold from me, instead eventually thrust them at me while shouting at me. We made it to the bus stop with 3 minutes to spare because of this long delay. So stressful. The most shockingly awful system. Leaving it until the last minute to return these to you means that there is no contingency for losing a passport. I have never experienced such disgusting customer service.
What a shame that a gorgeous holiday ended so nastily. Miraculously we caught our flight.
In conclusion, what a shame that a children's paradise is spoiled by the staff. I think union lido is so confident about the fantastic facilities that they arrogantly don't need to provide any customer service. If you go, be prepared to be made to feel unwelcome. Barbecue at your caravan and enjoy the facilities. Allow yourself hours and hours to get out of the prison walls and get to the airport.
If you have already booked and are fretting over my review, don't. We really did have a great holiday and so will you, but in spite of the union lido staff.
Please note this is by far the worst review I've ever put on trip advisor. I'm not a whinger.
camping_unionlido, Quality Service at Union Lido Park & Resort, responded to this review,26 September 2014
Dear Mum,
Our company was created with and for families on holiday. The managers of activities and restaurants and the staff at Union Lido are parents. Union Lido’s way of being and communicating is focussed on kids and families. We are known for the professionalism and courtesy that is appreciated by thousands of guests who come back and stay with us every year. Our in-house questionnaire shows a high score (8.86 out of 10) for the courtesy of staff at the bars and restaurants and therefore calling us a prison camp is extremely offensive.
For the same reason the bar blu, which you describe as a place with no service, has been voted the best bar at the campsite for courtesy and professionalism for the past 4 years. This is the opinion of thousands of guests. But perhaps something that leaves a little to be desired is the fact that after three days in which you spent your free time in our bar, allowing your children to occupy the whole terrace and play freely, dirtying the floor and disturbing the relaxation of other guests, you left your baby’s dirty nappy for the whole day on the floor under the table, causing an unpleasant smell. Other clients asked you to throw the nappy away – you only needed to throw it in a rubbish bin. Therefore we are sorry there was no changing table in the toilet at the bar, but we think that the bar owner also merits a little understanding.
On arrival at the campsite you were given a list of rules that are accepted by and applied to every family. It would be good practice to read the conditions and rules, which explicitly state: “Departure: to avoid any delays on the day of departure, guests are advised to settle their bill on the previous day. The Cashier’s Office is open from 8…/12.00pm and from 4 to 7 pm.” You therefore received the information related to your stay. You can also get your passports back the day after your arrival and just leave a driving licence instead.
As regards activities, entertainment and shows for the whole family, the kids’ disco took place every evening in the amphitheatre, along with every other kind of activity: a beach volleyball tournament, Universiade Games, a fashion show, live music, an artists’ gallery and market, classical music and themed parties in bars took place from 8th to the 16th August. These events were communicated on paper, via e-mail, by loudspeaker and in the little book called “benvenuti” given at check in. A prison camp doesn’t offer so much…unfortunately at certain times of the year the mosquitos make their presence felt, because we are in an open-air structure with lots of surrounding vegetation.
Thank you for having stayed in our structure
Best regards
Patrizia Union Lido

In response to the management’s points:
Regarding “spent your free time in our bar”... We came for our evening meal on three consecutive days, arriving after 5pm and leaving at around 7pm. We spent the majority of our free time in your facilities as described in my review.
Regarding “you left your baby’s dirty nappy for the whole day on the floor under the table, causing an unpleasant smell. Other clients asked you to throw the nappy away – you only needed to throw it in a rubbish bin.”.... I took our 2 year old’s swimming costume and unsoiled swim nappy off on the sand next to the bar as she came out of the sea as she needed to eat her dinner in dry clothes. The nappy certainly didn’t have any smell because it was not soiled and was there for a maximum of 3 minutes on a public beach. Once she was seated I removed it. We were never at Bar Blu all day, only for our evening meal as previously mentioned.
Regarding, “You can get your passports back the day before departure and leave your driving licence instead.” Your staff absolutely refused to give our passports back on every occasion we asked for them, as detailed in my original review. They did not mention any other course of action.
In general, your response to my review reflects the customer service available at Union Lido (customer is always wrong!) perfectly, so thank you for illustrating my points! Hilarious!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Mum_of_2_Stockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2014

OK, continuing on from my previous post Union Lido Part 1, my family and i decided to go back for a second time to this great resort with Eurocamp. (part 1 was summer 2013 of course)!!
So second time round pretty much everything i wrote in part 1 still stands true however, when you go back to any resort the second time around you do start to look at things slightly differently.
For example, my biggest bug bear is that when you arrive at Union Lido or in our case whilst we were on the bus i had to ring a mobile number given to me by Eurocamp to inform their reps that we were on route.

- My question is, why am i incurring roaming mobile phone charges calling the reps when they should know that we are arriving and for the money that Eurocamp charge they should be there at the gate waiting for us. As a new arrival I shouldn't have to phone them and once the courteous Union people have dropped us off at our plot again, i shouldn't have to wait another 10 mins for some bloke to arrive on a bike from another resort!! Which i have subsequently discovered that the Eurocamp Reps are all based at Ca'Savio which is the next resort up the road!! So that is one thing to bear in mind when booking with Eurocamp, the reps are based elsewhere and will only come to greet you once you've called them incurring expensive mobile roaming charges!!

- The resort itself was exactly the same as last year but i did get the impression from some of the staff on resort, especially in the bars and restaurants that because of the poor weather the general mood around the camp was a bit down. We were luck because we went the last 2 weeks of August and the sun had finally come out and it was Hot but not as hot as last year, apart from that we had a great time and once again we discovered facilities at the park we missed the previous year, so that was great.
I have read some comments that at the info desk in the main square that the staff were rude, i didn't find that at all. We booked a day trip to Venice with 4 young children and they gave us everything we needed with regards to travel info etc, so no complaints there either.
And yes because they had a wet summer the Mosquito's were bad this year and i guess that's a problem that Union Lido are aware of but i'm not sure what they can actually do about it.

- Most importantly i guess second time around we started to have a look at the other accommodation around the vast site and this is where we had the shock of our lives!! Now remember, we have now been twice with Eurocamp and we paid our money for a particular type of standard, however what we didn't realise is that everyone else on camp apart from the actual campers in tents etc were living the life of Luxury compared to what we had paid for. And believe you me, we asked questions and got quotes and we were really shocked how much we were paying for our 80's style accommodation compared to say Bolero or even Union Lido's own accommodation.

- Another example of this was outside the Bolero main office you have a notice board giving family's the most up to date info on what's going on that day, very useful because we did miss out on a lot of events because by the time we found out it was too late.
Eurocamp don't do this because they don't actually have any staff on site, they only turn up on their bikes when there's a problem or new arrival.
so for any new families or returning families to this wonderful site bear in mind that you can get much better value for your money but you do need to book at least a year in advance then immediately sort out your flights.
I hope anyone who reads this finds this review helpful.

Umberto

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
20  Thank ugiannini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camping_unionlido, Ufficio Qualità at Union Lido Camping Lodging Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014
Google Translation

Gent.ssmo sig. Umberto,

grazie per la Sua recensione e valutazione e speriamo di rivederci nel 2015.

Cordiali saluti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2014

We stayed at Union Lido for the first time in June. WeMy wife and I travelled with 3 year old twins and a 6 year old.
We stayed with Bolero Holidays.
Accomodation was immaculate.
Service was just perfect.
The Union Lido Park itself was an ideal place to stay for our young family.

Room Tip: Book through Bolero Holidays.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank l888pjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camping_unionlido, Servizio Qualità at Union Lido Camping Lodging Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear Guest,
thank your for taking your time leaving your opinion.
Bolero's staff is professional and helpful.
We do hope having you as our Guest again
Best regards,
Union Lido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews