We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,816)
Filter reviews
2,816 results
Traveller rating
1,641
729
266
97
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,641
729
266
97
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bolero holidays lazy river ice cream mobile home next year on site blu bar pizza rotisserie chicken all ages bouncy castle al mare aqua parks the bus horse riding busy road family holiday
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 2,816 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I first reviewed Union Lido back in 2015 after spending 2 weeks in one of the campsites own dwellings - camping home patio which was basically a compact log cabin. Nothing luxurious about it,...it did the job I suppose but I like space! The campsite more than compensated for the short fall in our choice of accommodation though. We booked directly with the campsite, as their properties are closer to the facilities. Canvas, Keycamp etc are bog standard and far away at the other end of the campsite (& it's a huge campsite!).

It all depends on your budget & likes. Another couple we got to know were staying 3 weeks in a Canvas mobile so had to budget. Our holiday was for 2 weeks & we chose better accommodation, but definitely couldn't have afforded 3 weeks in it.

After our return in 2015 we surfed the net for weeks and we failed to come up with another holiday that in our opinion offered the same facilities for our family. We're a fussy lot who like luxury & usually stay in villas. We have a 7 year old boy who likes action & so have a lot of requirements in the last few years to please him AND fulfill our needs. Although in the past we didn't normally return to the same holiday destination more than once, we have now changed our habit...Union Lido is hard to resist. But this time we upgraded to one of the campsites apartments, (Murano). Wow!!!
Yes it cost an arm & leg but we didn't regret it. First let me say we booked for July 2016 back in Oct 2015 & just about got what we were looking. This campsite is SOOOO good that people book a year ahead.
The apartment is located behind the hotel. Doesn't look anything grand from the exterior but had loads of space, and very clean. Consisted of 2 good sized bedrooms, both equal size. One bedroom & bathroom upstairs and exactly the same on the ground floor with the addition of a kitchen/dining area. Dishwasher etc. We had a TV (which we never had on) and I think the sofa in the dining area converted into another bed. Immaculately clean and cleaners came daily. Towels changed as many times as you wanted providing you put them in the laundry bin.
Only things missing were a toaster & kettle. They supply a coffee machine but my dear husband loves his Punjana tea and so we boiled our water in a small saucepan.

The apartment was very close to the shops & had its own private pool for apartments & I think hotel guests only. I thought we would never use this pool considering our son was addicted to the Aqua parc. But we did & the simple pool was never crowded, it too ticked our boxes some days when we felt lazy.
We did hear our neighbours children some mornings but considering how much it costs to stay in these apartments they were not roughies & apart from hearing them initially waken were never bothered with noise. Generally I don't think you would find any undesirables on this campsite its too expensive.
The campsites new Aqua parc is fantastic & speaks volumes when I say my son would like to return again in 2017. A few things could be improved upon though...on an odd occasion there was not enough sun beds up on the higher level away from the pools and having Rheumatoid arthritis meant I could not get up & down from lying on the sand without help. There was room for more & I think Union lido could comfortably fit in another 12 & it still wouldn't be crowded. Plenty of space to lie near the slides even in July, but I liked the quieter spot to read. Yes it was very busy but the campsite could more than cope. I would love to see a ban on smoking around the pool areas also. They are immaculately clean but the reak of cigarettes is not pleasant for children or non smoking adults. Having said that I only smelt cigarette smoke on 2 occasions within the 2 weeks.
The other pool complex (Aqua Mare I think) has been changed and another big play facility has been built in the middle of the children's pool which was terrific, especially for younger children. Our son also loved the lazy river.

We hired bikes again from a shop a half a mile up the road, outside of the campsite & they were great. My son & husband headed off on cycle adventures whilst I made lunch, and I used mine usually for heading to the beach which took 5 mins on the bike.

The beach...what can I say fantastic! Glorious soft sand, deck beds with canopies for shade, a huge huge HUGE play castle, free water inflatables. It's the best beach ever for children & adults.
We took our son on the pirate ship which sails in very close to the beach & had a great mornings fun.
Trips: we didn't do Venice this year having done it the year before (too hot) & hard work trailing a 7 year old about tourist attractions in 35 Deg heat. Having said that, we did it before & very easy to arrange via the campsite.
We did of course do Aqualandia!!! A great water parc on an even bigger scale than the campsite. Bus arranged via the campsite & picks up just outside the hotel on the main road. 20 min journey. A great day had by the boys (old & Young) who just love the thrill of all those crazy rides.

Changing blocks within the campsite are awesome! Immaculate, like something you could only dream of. They are so well laid out & maintained that we took ourselves in them on our way back from the beach to shower off the sand instead of trailing it into the apartment.

The MANY restaurants within the campsite as ever didn't disappoint. Excellent food and that's rich from us as we are hard to please. We love healthy, fresh fish, good veg but same as the previous year ordered most of the adults dishes for our son as the kids menu became tiresome after a week. The restaurants were very busy but most of the time we ate before 7pm and avoided the crowds. Having said that the restaurants could cope & had plenty of helpful staff. We usually finished off with a naughty dessert or indulged in a lovely frozen yogurt on our return journey to the apartment.

One gripe I did have was the opening hours of the shops. Especially the large supermarket which was very good. They NEED to stay open longer! Trying to shower, eat and shop for groceries before they close at 8pm is a pain! Even more so as they close for the traditional 2 hr siesta in the middle of the day. Their sales would increase so much more if they accommodated the demand.

The shops provide everything you could need apart from decent brown sliced bread (see last years rant) - don't be expecting to make a sandwich as it falls apart!

Funny world which consists of amusements & roller coaster rides were again a huge hit with our son so much that we had to limit him to frequenting them every other night. Trampolines, bouncy castles at the other end of the campsite in the evenings were also very popular.

Mozzies...what can I say, the blinkin things are still eating the legs off people. We plastered ourselves in the campsite repellents (UK stuff doesn't work). As result we had far less bites this year but enough iykwim.

One thing I would love to see is a little more Italian culture within the campsite...after all it is in Italy!!!

We have trawled the internet yet again, both hotels, and Campsites & I think we might just be booking Union Lido as nothing seems to come close. Union Lido please open up another Campsite in the south of France. We have been to the best 2 years running & thus the bench mark is too high for others to compete.

The canvas brochure etc don't do this campsite justice. I brought home some of the campsites own brochures to give to friends and their reaction is Wow we didn't know such a great place existed.

I must say this place is definitely NOT crawling with British and that for us was a plus! Lots of Danish, Austrians etc. Every other car parked in this campsite is a BMW, Mercedes or something equally as prestigious. We became friends with a southern Irish couple but seldom saw them as the campsite is so big.

It's not cheap here, but in our opinion you get what you pay for.

OK, Union Lido, can you now offer us a half price discount on our next booking since I've been acting as an unofficial rep for your campsite LOL.
Watch this space....

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank hal96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camping_unionlido, Quality at Union Lido Camping Lodging Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review!

You have really put a great effort in reviewing every single aspect of Union Lido!
Such an extensive review must have required quite an amount of time!
We are really pleased and honored by your interest and dedication in our structure.
Mostly however, we are glad that your holiday with us was a pleasant one, and that you and your child could have had the fun and relaxation you needed.

We would also like to thank you for all your kind suggestions and advices: the opinions of our Guests are of great importance to us, and if we are given the chance to improve in some aspects, we will definitively try to pursue this opportunity.

Your accurate description of our territory and the entertaining possibilities outside of the campsite will be of great use to other Guests as well. Many do not feel the need ever to leave the campsite, but our territory has lots to offer for those who are willing to discover it!

What more can we say other than: thank you so much for your detailed review and all your advices, and see you soon at Union Lido!

Best regards,
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We have been travelling here for 10+ years and have recommended it to friends who have also loved it. This year we took my one year old nephew. There was still a lot for him to do and the staff were so helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Everything was so clean. We love it here and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betht1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camping_unionlido, Quality at Union Lido Camping Lodging Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Dear Guest, 
Thank you for your enthusiastic review of our campsite.

We are glad that you had the chance to appreciate many of the services that we offer, and that you could enjoy and relax yourself.

We would love to greet you again at the Union Lido in 2017, to show you all the novelties and services that we have in store!
Best regards,
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Perfect five star camping near Venezia.
Comfortable accommodation in the camp, beaches, clean bathroom facilities and a great restaurant. We've been in camp for several and very happy to return. Perfect place for a trip to Venice.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vojtechl542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camping_unionlido, Quality at Union Lido Camping Lodging Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed and enthusiastic review.

We are glad that you had so much fun on our campsite and that you could notice, use and enjoy a great number of our services! The trip to Venice is also a “must”, and we hope that you had a great time by taking advantage of this great opportunity, as many Guests don’t feel the need to get out of our campsite and may miss it.

We will love to have you back next year, and to show you all the novelties that we have in store for 2017!
Best regards,
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Travelled with my wife and 14 month old son. Everything about this place is great. No matter where you stay you are not far from all they have to offer. Supermarket is very well stocked, the sandy beach is easily accessible and there are lots of little play areas for little ones, including two on-site aquaparks. There is even a mini fun-fair and a indoor spa with pools and wet steam room for a bit of rest and relaxation. Lots of places to eat and the food is good. We only stayed 3 nights but wish we could stay for longer. We were able to park our car securely on-site and use the facilities even after check out as we had a late flight booked which was really appreciated. Thank you for a lovely stay Union Lido... we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Milind P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camping_unionlido, Quality at Union Lido Camping Lodging Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your enthusiastic review of our campsite.

We are glad that you had the chance to appreciate many of the services that we offer, and that you could enjoy and relax yourself.

We would love to greet you again at the Union Lido in 2017, to show you all the novelties and services that we have in store!
Best regards,
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Very impressiv handling and organisation! Very unlikely for Italy! Highly recomendable, but not cheap! Everything very clean and friendly staff. Bungalows in different sizes and in good condition. Likely agan ;)

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 261markuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camping_unionlido, Quality at Union Lido Camping Lodging Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Dear Guest, 
Thank you for your enthusiastic review of our campsite.

We are glad that you had the chance to appreciate many of the services that we offer, and that you could enjoy and relax yourself.
We would love to greet you again at the Union Lido in 2017, to show you all the novelties and services that we have in store!

Best regards,
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews