We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel all round”
Review of Cefalu Sea Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cefalu Sea Palace
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cefalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We checked into the Cefalu Sea Palace at approx 14.00 hrs, following a totally pain free transfer from the airport. The hotel reception staff were pleasant and polite. We headed straight to the pool after a quick change of clothing, where we were delighted by the amount of sunbeds available. The hotel bar by the pool had a substantial cocktail menu at usual hotel prices. Throughout our week at the hotel the staff were helpful: booking tables for dinner, obtaining extra sunbeds on the one afternoon where there weren't any available recommending restaurants. Our room was kept clean and tidy - the bathroom was fantastic, hot water and good water pressure whenever we wanted. A special mention has to be made to Lisa and Luke, the two Thomson reps - what a team! I highly recommend this hotel and would love to return there some day.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ruthsiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

What a fantastico Hotel - that's was the lovely lady who owns the hotel calls it - everything is fantastico. True it is quite lovely, a few little things here and there let it down but nothing major. Rooms are spacious and were spotlessly cleaned everyday. In fact. the hotel was also kept immaculate. When I tracked back at bag full of sand inadvertently from the beach, the cleaners were in the room cleaning it all way - nothing was too much trouble from any of the staff. Fabrizio and Parmela on the front desk were extremely helpful - whether it be for directions, recommendations and were always ready to assist you in anyway.

Beach and beach bar - wow what a treat. Food was delicious. Lifeguard very alert/attentive as I found out when I couldn't make it back to shore safely. By day 3, they were waiting for us with our two glasses of prosecco and 2 beers (right after tennis) and we would watch the sun go down.

Lots of super restaurants within walking distance from the hotel, along the sea front. A must go hotel to stay.

Room Tip: Sea views are always the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Have just spent a wonderful week in beautiful Sicily and enjoyed stopping at this hotel. It is clean, well maintained and has an excellent position along the seafront of Cefalu with easy access to its beach just over the road where you have the privilidge of using the sunbeds for free. The staff are friendly and courteous and the rooms spotless. So where does it go wrong?? Leaving notes in rooms with the opening line "It is forbidden".. this was just for leaving towels to dry on the balcony-or anything for that matter. The note was left in every room as though we'd all been naughty and not politely asked to do them a favour at their request. This kind of action angers holidaymakers who, when on holiday do NOT like to be told off in any matter whilst they are trying to relax. The other problem is again-"forbidden" to keep anything in the fridge. I get prickly heat so I keep aloe in the fridge? Where do they get off with this? I know I wasnt the only one angered by this. The hotel is stunning even if the walls are too thin and - yes the back room views are lousy-they wouldnt upgrade us unfortunately (Thomsons fault at time of booking) so I WOULD recommend it but bend the rules.. you are on holiday after all! A mention has to be said for Lisa the Thomson rep. Possibly the best I have come across-fantastic. Cefalu is beautiful and a must for anyone who wants a rustic holiday.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about a sea view room when booking-Thomson didnt suggest to us that we could upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a great location and is clean and modern for the area. The rooms are spacious and have a balcony. The air conditioner can be set as low as you want. TV channels virtually all Italian. Breakfast abundant but not high quality - fried egg, scrambled , and unappealing looking hot dogs and bacon; cakes ; cold cuts - standard Italy fare. Nice outdoor scene and bar at night as well as beautiful roof top views. I'd come back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have just returned from an amazing stay at The Cefalu Sea Palace. Having arrived at the Hotel the check in was both professional and painless. We were given our room card and to our surprise and delight we had been upgraded to a suite (room 329) with breath taking views of the sea and the gorgeous picturesque city. The overall impression of the hotel is that it is very well run and the staff are efficient and polite. We had no complaints about the food in the hotel but we were on B&B, breakfast was what it was supposed to be and more than adequate. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the roof on one evening which provided both a set 4 course menu together with an a la carte menu, again no complaints there either the staff and food were lovely and the sunset was dreamy.
Wine is reasonably priced, however, spirits and licquers will appear to some to be a bit pricey.

The private beach is lovely and the staff at the beach bar are equally as efficient.

All in all our stay here was one of the best we have ever had and I applaud them.

Dining out is easy there are a wealth of restaurants to chose from, but if you want to eat at some of the more popular one's you may need to make a reservation. We ate at Le Chat Noir on two occasions and can easily say that on both occasions we thoroughly enjoyed it. Equally Locanda Del Marinaio was gorgeous. There are also some lovely restaurants which overlook the sea and on the main promenade I can recommend Al Gabbiano, the staff work so hard there and the food is not only reasonable but of good quality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were apprehensive about this hotel after reading about the rooms overlooking the car park. We therefore contacted the hotel and asked not to be placed in one of these rooms. The hotel would not make any promises but promised to do their best. On arrival we were allocated room 314 which was on the quiet side of the hotel with a sea view. The rooms on the 3rd floor are definitely at an advantage. The room was excellent. The pool area is superb but with the private beach just across the road we never got round to using it. The beach is excellent with numerous sunbeds and a beach bar serving good lunches. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Lisa the Thomson rep was also very good and informative. Do not miss the excursion to Corleone which was brilliant value and gave a great insight into the Cosa Nostra.

Room Tip: Just try to avoid the rooms at the back of the hotel mentioned in the other reviews. They do have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have just returned from a brilliant week at the Cefalu Sea Palace. It has to be one of the nicest hotels on the island. The hotel was spotless, the food was lovely - plenty of choice at the buffet style breakfast ( I cant believe someone said they served the same food every morning - what exactly were they looking for ?) and our room was clean and very comfortable. All of the staff were very friendly and welcoming and spoke good English. Lovely pool area and private beach. Not a lot to do for children in Cefalu but beautifull retaurants and bars for the adults. Well worth the lengthy bus ride from the airport if you want a quiet peaceful holiday. If we were ever to return to Cefalu it would be to this hotel without a doubt.

Room Tip: it seems that the hotel does not have good views and sunny balconys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
1.3 mi away
Le Calette Garden & Bay
0.1 mi away
Astro Suite Hotel
Astro Suite Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cefalu
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cefalu
479 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bluebay Cefalu
Bluebay Cefalu
#5 of 36 in Cefalu
118 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Kalura
Hotel Kalura
#8 of 36 in Cefalu
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cefalu Sea Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cefalu Sea Palace

Address: Lungomare G. Giardina, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cefalu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cefalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
#3 Family Hotel in Cefalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range: £125 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cefalu Sea Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cefalu Sea Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cefalu Sea Palace Hotel Cefalu
Sea Palace Hotel Cefalu
Cefalu Sea Palace Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing