We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Cefalu Sea Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cefalu Sea Palace
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cefalu
Certificate of Excellence
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Excellent hotel , more than 4 star in our opinion. I agree with EssexLin1 early morning flights to Catania and then 2 1/2 hour transfer with Thompson is very tireing first day.

Staff were all brilliant from desk to breakfast to bar, we were on B&B, our prefered method, but we did have a beautiful steak in the fourth floor restaurant with great views over Cefalu and the sunset over the sea.

I would certainly stay here again if we ever go back to Cefalu.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine, we had sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan_Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    176
    57
    15
    9
See reviews for
162
395
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We first saw this hotel in the Thomsons brochure but didn't like their extremely early morning flights nor the two and a half hour transfer from Catania, when Palermo is only an hour away! We were told that this is because Thomson have only recently started to come here and their flights are set to Catania! As a result we booked the hotel directly, B&B, and took Easy Jet flights to and from Palermo and used Holiday Taxis for the transfers. We arrived mid evening, easy check in and we were soon taking an exploratory walk on the sea front promenade. It was a Saturday night and the Beach Bars were already playing music and lots of young people were walking around.... but not lurching around drunk as is common in the UK on a Saturday night!
We had a lovely room, sea view, and nice aspect of the town which curls around the coast, with a decent sized balcony overlooking the swimming pool area. The bathroom was equipped with a shower and bidet alongside the toilet. The rooms were kept immaculately clean by the maids who came every day to change towels etc. One plus in this hotel was the provision of beach towels, although we are used to taking our own. The hotel also has a private beach area just across the road where there are sun beds and a beach bar, which is economically priced and a reasonable choice of food. It had only just opened the week before for the summer.
Breakfast is served in a restaurant on the same level as the swimming pool. There was the usual choice of continental cereals (their version of cornflakes, rice crispies and muesli) and cooked eggs and bacon as a buffet, with the usual cheese and ham. Coffee and beverages are self serve from machines.
The first few nights we ate at the roof garden restaurant at the top of the hotel. It has a great view as the walls are mainly glass. Fascinating to see the sun go down and suddenly dip below the horizon. The Sunday evening was a Sicilian buffet which was a little daunting as nothing was labelled so no idea what half of it was! The desserts, as always in these hotels leave a lot to be desired: too much artificial cream and strange sweet pastries. Plenty of fruit for those that can eat it though. We ate there twice more though, from the menu, when we were too tired to go out, before sampling the local restaurants for the rest of our week, and found the food quite okay but not spectacular. They were quite flexible though: the couple on the table next to us the first night were celebrating a big wedding anniversary and the maitre d' had organised a special seafood meal for them at their request.
The hotel is situated a 10-15 minute walk from the town, so we got a bit of exercise going backwards and forwards. We often walked to the cathedral courtyard for coffee and croissants and down to the marina/beach. There are a lot of small gift shops in Cefalu selling the usual trinkets and some vintage items. Not a place to do any major shopping. We didn't go on any organised trips this time because they all start far too early in the morning but we did go to Palermo one day on the train, just an hour away, and hopped on the sightseeing bus. Wouldn't bother with Palermo again, it was just a typical big city.
Back to the hotel, the American Bar by the swimming pool also serves snacks and the bar is well equipped for every nation! During the day lying out in the hot sun, their ice cold vodka and blueberry juice just hit the spot! After dark the hot chocolate was lovely.
As usual we were disappointed that tea and coffee were not provided in the rooms. The clerk on the desk says that every Brit says that but they hadn't yet persuaded the owners to provide it. The hotel owners were on the spot and often in the bar in the evening.
When we were there they were just setting up the garden restaurant with a big screen for the World Cup. We did actually have dinner on the swimming pool terrace one evening, as they also hosted a celebration party for a local family.
One little quirk and easy to miss is the pond that is home to a few turtles!
There is a gym room with some machines that we used a couple of times, but they are rather crammed in and we did miss some mats on the floor.
But all in all, we would definitely recommend this good quality hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient and it was very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Definitely choose sea view and there are plenty of them as the hotel is tiered away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EssexLin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great in terms of location ,quality,rooms and with added bonus of own section of beach with beach bar and food
Ideally situated 10 min walk into town for many reasonably priced restaurants and cafe/bars
The only minor downside is the 2hour transfer from the airport although very smooth from operators but well worth it once at hotel

Room Tip: Any but sea view does what it says on the tin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Audilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very clean and comfortable hotel. We were on bed and breakfast, but ate in the roof top restaurant on one occasion, and found it to be disastrous! Food the worst we had eaten and service unfriendly and were made to rush and feel we were an inconvenience.

Having said that, the barman was exceptionally good and the reception staff friendly and helpful.

Although this doesn't relate to the hotel, we were on a Thomson package and must say that Lisa, the rep, was one of the best we have encountered. The transfer from Catania Airport was very long and arduous - two and a half hours!

On the return journey, having had breakfast at 5 a.m. we were extremely disappointed to find that when we boarded the aircraft at around noon, the food had run out! This apparently is par for the course!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool, preferably 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just 80 rooms on the outskirts of Cefalu in Sicily, this is a modern hotel with a Chic feel about it. The whole place is spotless and it boasts some friendly staff, along with the approachability of the owners, who are often in the American bar on an evening.
We opted for B&B in order that we could get around the island and not have to worry about getting back for dinner. We prefer to eat out in different restaurants to try and get a taste of local cuisine. After saying that, the rooftop restaurant in the hotel was quite spectacular not only with its views across to the cathedral of Cefalu and La Rock, the a la carte menu was very good. Service was a bit hit and miss but it was friendly and they accepted their mistakes by offering free drinks or even a reduction in the price of the meal. The reception staff were fabulous. Always had a cheery smile and a happy word.
We would not visit Cefalu again; we want to see more of the island but if you want to make a start at exploring Sicily, you could do far worse than starting here.

Room Tip: Email in advance and ask for a room facing South. It is the quiet side and you can enjoy the sun for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brownie047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Arrived mid june, this whole package was superb, from the location, hotel, staff, food etc, can, t wait to return.the only down side is the 2 hour transfer from Catania, really should be served from Palermo please Thomson.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luigi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel, first impressions were the hotel is indeed plush and we had a lovely room over looking the sea. The bathroom was excellent with hot water and clean towels. We had booked on a bed and breakfast basis. The breakfast had a good choice of food and drinks. We were however very glad that we had booked just breakfast and not dinner each night as one night we dined in the restaurant at the top of the hotel with views over the surrounding area. The setting was lovely. Unfortunately the dinner was the worst meal we had anywhere on holiday. Fish which was over cooked and tasteless with a very soggy courgette and potato side dish. We noted the majority of the diners struggled to eat this dish. Our other main, we think, was veal, this was tough, tasteless and sorry to be corny, but like eating a soggy flip flop.

Although all the staff seemed very very hard working and were always helpful and polite, there was absolutely no feeling of being a guest in a hotel. Blank expressions, no smiles or laughter, no --- enjoy your stay etc. The whole thing was very regimented. We got so fed up with cleaners being everywhere all the time from very early morning until 11pm at night, constantly cleaning the reception area, one cleaner was even hoovering the top of the reloving doors. Dont get me wrong, the cleaners were extremelly polite and very hard working, but clearly the orders given to them were so regimented and over the top, it was almost like the guests were leaving some kind of bacteria in the hotel by just staying there. The owner of the hotel seemed like a lady that would swan about, and clearly all the staff were in fear of her. Clearly this seemed to give all staff the general look of misery. Not a happy environment for guests to be in. The pool area was very pleasant, but the pool area and in general the hotel lacked any form of happiness, atmosphere, and indeed complete silence all the time. No mild back ground music in the pool area, and I dont recall any in the bar area. The beach bar was good as was the beach. However the menu was poor. One day we had a pizza which was quite nice. Another day we had another pizza which actually was served not cooked at all. Strange but true.

So overall the hotel was plush and lovely, but disinfected by constant cleaning and no member of staff looked at all happy ever, no staff member was particularly about in the breakfast area at any time.

Very sad to think such a hotel could be so much better by having happy staff. May be a happy owner would no doubt make happy staff. We certainly will not be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
1.3 mi away
Le Calette Garden & Bay
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
0.2 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cefalu
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bluebay Cefalu
Bluebay Cefalu
#5 of 36 in Cefalu
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astro Suite Hotel
Astro Suite Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cefalu
362 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Baia del Capitano
Hotel Baia del Capitano
#12 of 36 in Cefalu
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cefalu Sea Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cefalu Sea Palace

Property: Cefalu Sea Palace
Address: Lungomare G. Giardina, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cefalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cefalu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
#3 Family Hotel in Cefalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cefalu Sea Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cefalu Sea Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cefalu Sea Palace Hotel Cefalu
Sea Palace Hotel Cefalu
Cefalu Sea Palace Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing