We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“far too expensive for what you get”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cefalu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Agriturismo Guarnera
Ranked #34 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Cefalu
Zwijndrecht, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“far too expensive for what you get”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Situated in (most of the time) quiet surroundings, a beautiful garden so called ‘Sicilian garden’ with swimming pool, with a view over the sea. Old mansion with typical furnishing. So far the positive facts.
Our room was very dark, smelled rather mouldy. No need of airco, because isolated from the sun behind thick walls. Almost no view through the small windows. We couldn’t stand up to take a shower because of the low ceiling (staircase above). No possibility to lock the door of our room, no safe neither …
Be early enough for breakfast (different timetable depending of the language in the ‘rules’), once platters empty, almost no refilling – insisting may help.
Dinner consists of three courses – primo, secondo, dolce and some fridge-cold fruit. Nothing special, not too bad but you have to eat quickly. Telling ‘piano – piano’ to the waiter can help. Local red wine in carafe, no choice (except if you choose water instead). Insist to have a bit more wine than foreseen. No Limoncello or coffee afterwards, until you explicitly ask for it. Be prepared to have the same contorni the following evening.
Hospitality: just what needed, not more, not really friendly. The room wasn’t done daily – even the bin in the bathroom in which we had to throw the toilet paper wasn’t emptied ….
If they say you have to pay the bill by cash, do the same as with other examples mentioned above: be assertive and say you want to pay by credit card, it helps because it is possible without any problem.
Conclusion : far too expensive for what you get. We certainly will not go back...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DVBossche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    10
    4
    3
    9
See reviews for
13
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

If you like to experience real Sicily we recomend going to Donatellas place near Cefalu.
It's not a 4* hotel, but a very decent,comfy place to stay for a couple of days. You can talk to the owner (Donatella), her friendly housekeeper or some of the other staff. They are very friendly and honest people, the place itself is worth a visit:
400 year old olive trees, orange trees and incredible lemon trees with hundreds of lemons on it. Never seen that before. Splendid nature!
You also get a nice view from the terasse to the seaside. The pathway to the pool is covered with different flowers, banana trees, and many more plants to explore and indulge yourself...it's a little secret paradise.
For breakfast they serve different kind of fruits, bread, cake ..... just the italian way.
You need a car to get there since it is a little up the hill.
If you are looking for a holiday meeting locals and find out about local habits, italian life and traditions Agriturismo Guarnera is the right place for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillvera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Although the photos on their website promise a paradise in Sicily, my experience was that Agriturismo Guarnera is very far from a paradise. I was particularly disappointed by the surly and rude attitude of the owner and some of the staff. I have stayed in many agriturismi in Italy and I have always enjoyed my experiences. Unfortunately this was by far my worst experience in Italy. Of particular note was the written list of 'rules' and 'procedures' I was handed within 5 minutes of arriving - (exhausted after a 6 hour drive). I was told of the strict one hour breakfast period and the fact that it was 'continental only' and not to go asking for ham or eggs - which I wan't planning to do anyway.I felt like leaving immediately.
The breakfast was very meagre and when my husband politely enquired about some more chocolate to add to the children's milk (because the chocolate container was empty) - he was gruffly told the equivalent of "We ain't gone none."
I question why people of this personality type wish to work in hospitality ??? There are so many wonderful agriturismi in Italy and my advice is to leave this one on the scrapheap where it belongs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Francesca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cefalu hotels

Pasajes, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I cannot understand people giving Guarnera bad reviews.
Very beautiful panoramic views over the bay of Cefalù.
The house is a 200 years old tradicional sicilian site, with a colonial tuch, surrounded by hundreds of old fruit, olive and almond trees..
The owner of Guarnera, Donatella, is a brave cultured sicilian, good conversationist, excelent adviser of where to go.
Elene and Josemari Arrazola. San Sebastian. Spain

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We initially reserved a FAMILY room at this agriturismo for 4 days and left immediately giving up our 30% deposit. We arrived with our 3 small (but cool and well-traveled) children only to find that families AREN'T welcome! Along with a long list of strict rules and general regulations, the dog bites, the owner told our kids off for simply playing the common area, there is no outdoor lighting in the evening and a family room consists of 4 beds crammed in one dark, dingy room (normally family rooms consist of 2 separate rooms)! This place may be pretty but it is anything but relaxing or welcoming -- it speaks volumes that we lost 150€ AND packed up our kids with no place to stay that night.....

LUCKILY we found Agriturismo Poggio Aureo in Castel di Tusa... it's the most wonderful agriturismo perched on the mountains with a stunning view of the sea! Less expensive and super kid/family friendly!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank boolouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We booked a trip for two families but left after 15 minutes. The owner was not at all friendly and "welcomed" us with her set of rules which she insisted we listen to carefully because she would "only repeat once". Children were clearly not welcome because the owner told us they were not allowed to play outside on their own. She should have told us when we booked. The apartment we booked (two rooms and a kitchen) was very dark and we were not able to keep the door open otherwise the cat would come in! All in all a waste of money (we had paid a deposit) and very very disappointing.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank IloveSicily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Signora Donatella created something like a small paradise an easy 10min drive up from the coast in the area of Cefalu. Agriturismo Guarnera is situated in a beautiful garden with a view to the blue sea down below and a heavenly smell of orange and lemon blossoms. The rooms of the old mansion are individually decorated and have great character. Don't forget to book dinner, it is communal experience sharing nice conversations with the fellow guests and very good home cooking. We hope we can come back some day and enjoy the tranquility and beauty of this place!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amouage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cefalu
3.8 mi away
Agriturismo Le Campanelle
35.2 mi away
Agriturismo Masseria La Chiusa
Agriturismo Masseria La Chiusa
#1 of 2 in San Giuseppe Jato
281 reviews
11.7 mi away
Turismo Rurale Cefalu
Turismo Rurale Cefalu
#7 of 61 in Cefalu
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Antico Feudo San Giorgio
Antico Feudo San Giorgio
#1 of 10 in Polizzi Generosa
151 reviews
8.2 mi away
Fattoria Pianetti
Fattoria Pianetti
#1 of 61 in Cefalu
34 reviews
29.0 mi away
Agriturismo Sant'Agata
Agriturismo Sant'Agata
#1 of 5 in Piana degli Albanesi
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Guarnera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Guarnera

Property: Agriturismo Guarnera
Address: Contrada Gargi di Cenere, 90016 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Cefalu
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The FARM HOLIDAY GUARNERA, is an old nineteenth century rural home immersed in a large and luxurious citrus orchard on the first layers of the madonie slopes. Facing the blue Cefalu sea line and on the pleasant Buonfornello plain , only 50 Kilometers from Palermo , we are surrounded by numerous natural, cultural and historical resourses in the neighbouring areas.The beach can be reached in just ten minutes drive. The FARM HOLIDAY GUARNERA is also a farm of about nine hectares that produces citrus fruits, oil, vegetables and orchard fruit using exclusively biological methods with the QCI and I certification. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Guarnera Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing