We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Roomantic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roomantic
Ranked #50 of 64 Cefalu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 9 day stay at Roomantic in Cefalu. Our every need was catered for - we like to stay in self-catering apartments, but this was the first one with the advantage that when you get back from a day sightseeing or at the beach, you find the fridge has been stocked up with all the necessities for the next days breakfast! The place was kept very clean, linen and towels as required, the views are to die for, as is the air-conditioning - perfect on hot days. The town itself has lots to keep you occupied, with new things to discover every day. It is well worth walking up 'the rock', there is the fantastic cathedral, and lots of other elegant churches and buildings. The beach is a long, and understandably popular, stretch of golden sand - our favourite was the small bay at the far end by the porta pescara. There are cute, quirky shops as well as more smart/chic places, and bars, cafes and restaurants to suit every pocket. Le Chat Noir was recommended (thanks Luisa!) and we enjoyed it very much. The walk back to the apartment from town is definitely up-hill - but that's the price you pay for the fab views, and its a great way to walk off all that lovely food!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulineMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

Our room was amazing! Private entrance, private bathroom, private balcony overlooking the sea, our own kitchen with a stove, mini toaster oven, and fridge. It was also impeccably clean. We drove and had our own private parking too, though we didn't move our car since everything was walking distance. Cefalu is a great town, and we had a couple of good meals there along with some really good gelato. Our host was extremely friendly and nice. She would restock our fridge daily with breakfast food and gave us great recommendations on where to eat (definitely go to Le Chat Noir) and what to do. The uphill walk is not hard at all and is no reason not to stay here! We are already thinking of our next trip back.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lacey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a very happy week at this wonderful B&B. Our room was fully equiped with kitchenette, double bed, sofa, private bathroom and balcony with a stunning sea view! We had everything we needed within easy walking distance including the beach, a fantastic selection of restaurants and even Spar on the doorstep! The room was large, spacious, clean and well-maintained. We loved the fact that it was fully self-contained and really, it felt like we had our very own, private apartment. Roomantic represents excellent value and we highly recommend it to those looking for a quiet, peaceful place and a relaxing time away from the 'madding crowd.'
Most importantly of all, our hostess, Luisa, was 'service with a smile' personified. She was kind and helpful in every way possible.She exceeded expectations in making sure we had everything we needed in terms of food, towels and ideas of things to do. She met us at the train station to welcome us and even ensured we had a lift to the airport on our return. For all of these reasons, we would like to recommend Roomantic unreservedly to any prospective guests. Enjoy your stay!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

We spent two nice nights there. It' very clean, homy, fully equipped, nice view with balcony, room service and very helpful owners. It's not so easy to find a parking, our room had the bathroom outside and you have to make the breakfast on yout own.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterCorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Roomantic isn't the biggest of apartments. It's not the most modern, or the closest to the beach, and it has a few little 'quirks' to come to grips with. What it does have is Luisa, an Italian/American/Italian, who immediately becomes your friend when you meet. She is very welcoming and enthusiastic. She has good english, with just a hint of American accent.
Yes, the room does have a sofa bed, but it is actually quite comfy, and we both had a good night's sleep. Roomantic is a little bit away from the main tourist area. It's about 500m up the hill from the main street, and another 500m from the main beach. The walk to either of these is all downhill, which makes the walk home, all uphill. Good for burning off that gelato or pastry :-)
The balcony area has a nice little table and chairs, and a clothes line. It also offers a great view across to the ocean and La Rocca on the right. In fact, I'm typing this whilst sitting on that very balcony. We walked La Rocca this morning.
The room has a kitchenette area, with hotplates and a sink. The fridge comes stocked with milk, juice, water, yoghurts, jams and butters. Even has 2 eggs. On the shelves you will find cereal, bread, coffee, tea, sugar, salt & pepper, etc. There is also a toaster oven. We made up a delightful breakfast with all of this. Eggs on toast was a real treat. Sure, some of the cutlery doesn't match, and the plates are the non breakable plastic type, and it would be even nicer to have a complete set of cutlery and matching crockery set, but hey, no big deal for us.
There is free WiFi, and a car parking bay near the front door (a rare commodity in Italy).
Luisa marked out some sights for us, and a couple of restaurant suggestions. She also provided us with beach towels. There is also a small mini-mart close by (100m), and a street market on Saturday mornings.
Cefalu is a seaside resort town, and a lovely place to spend a few days, especially out of peak season. As such, there is an enormous choice of accommodation varieties, in a number of differing price points. Roomantic is good value for money, and Luisa is a delight, but be prepared for some uphill walking. We had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicksWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We picked this B+B off the back of the solid trip advisor reviews. We found the B+B pretty easily using a satnav, but would have had difficulties if just using a map. There was a parking spot outside and our host came out to greet us and show us where to park. We were showed the room and a map of Cefalu - what's good to see/where is good to eat etc. This was helpful - and we had a beautiful meal down on the coastline. On the negative we were told - house rules, and found rules posted around the room and bathroom which seemed unnecessary and condescending. The bed was a sofabed, which wasn't brilliant, the decor was dated, and the room hadn't been cleaned properly. The table and chairs had crumbs and sugar from previous guests, and the shower was very dirty. It had a kitchen area which was useful and had been stocked with croissants, cereals, bread, milk an coffee which was great. However the cutlery was all random and the crockery was plastic with cartoons on - e.g. Tony the Frosties Tiger bowl! A matching set of China may have been more appropriate. The room had a balcony with a great view of the sea and town from up high. We watched the sunset before heading out for dinner. The walk upto the B+B from town was fairly long and steep. We are young and pretty fit and did it fine twice in one day, but anyone against walking far and at a steep gradient would need to drive to town and find parking. 

We had this room at a discounted rate of €75. Cefalu seemed to be an expensive area, so this was as cheap as we could find. With this in mind I still do not find Roomantic terrific value, and struggle to understand so many highly positive reviews. It was far from terrible, but we expected more. If we were to return to Cefalu (which was beautiful, and the beach/coastline was stunning) we would look for alternative accommodation. 

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eddie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stay here towards the end of June after a 5 day trip around Sicily & this was a great way to end our stay. We wish we had spent time on Sicily & especially Cafalu as the town was full of surprises. Finding Roomantic wasn’t hard. Tucked away up in the hills, but when we entered the room we looked directly over the ocean – just as the pictured promised. The room had self-catering facilities, which we used for breakfast but we explored the town for dinner. Luisa was a fantastic host & we enjoyed our discussions( in English) as we had been away from Australia for 3 weeks at this stage & found a long dialog thoroughly enjoyable(I hope your son finds his true passion & follows it Luise) – not that our spaghetti Italian wasn’t enjoyable…..

Room Tip: Stay longer if you can & ask for the room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonSandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
0.8 mi away
Villa Margherita
Villa Margherita
#8 of 64 in Cefalu
229 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Pepito
B&B Pepito
#18 of 64 in Cefalu
120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Calette Garden & Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kalura
Hotel Kalura
#8 of 37 in Cefalu
775 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
0.7 mi away
Bluebay Cefalu
Bluebay Cefalu
#5 of 37 in Cefalu
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roomantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roomantic

Address: Via Borgese N. 2, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Cefalu
Price Range: £42 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All comfort cozy Suite with beautiful view from balcony and private parking. Roomantic is its name & it fits its fame, not too big not too small, need advice just give us a call, not too close not too far, it is not necessary to have a car, air-conditioning, T.V. Satellite, wi-fi, free parking & small kitchen, can't think of a better condition! From the balcony what a treat: a view of Cefalu & sea right at your feet, Comfortable & pretty, to leave is such a pity. Don't keep this novelty to yourself, spread the news to someone else! New 2014: brand new queen size bed and mattress! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Roomantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roomantic Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing