We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate, clean and friendly!”
Review of Astro Suite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Astro Suite Hotel
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Cefalu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 September 2013

First impressions always say a lot and we were NOT disappointed! Greeted by Giovanni the manager, he showed us to our suite - room 110 - on the second floor. Instantly we could see how clean and bright the place was. We were also pleasantly surprised to note how large the suite was. A very large kitchen/dining/communal area with a very good sized toilet/shower room and a more than average bedroom with a KING SIZED bed! Storage was in abundance and the kitchen even had a proper full sized tall fridge which really did "chill" the drinks properly! For families, there is a comfortable single sofa bed in the communal area which converts to a nice double if required. From our bedroom we had a nice balcony with fantastic views directly ahead to the soft sandy beach and tranquil sea just 50m away! We also had great views of Cefalu old town and "La Roc", a 200m rock dominating the skyline behind the town. The "free" air conditioning had to be the best I have ever used! Previous reviews called it "the freezer" and they weren't wrong!
As the hotel was purely a B&B, there was no kitchen and subsequently, no means to cook. Obviously! Some previous reviews have complained at the lack of breakfast choices and "hot" food. Personally - with a varied choice of cereals, juices, jams/preserves, hams, cheeses, breads, fruits (limited) and pastries, who needs a full English anyway! My only criticism, was the coffee machine which broke down almost every morning! Nevertheless, a quick repair and it was slurping away merrily again!
Without a doubt, the cleanliness of the whole hotel was simply perfect. Our room was thoroughly cleaned every morning and actually smelt lovely (unlike some hotels who's cleaners use the same water throughout all the rooms). Even the lift smelt of Lemon cleaner.
The hotel pool was rather disappointing in that it was so small. Personally - I like to have a proper swim so my legs don't touch the bottom at both ends, but not so with this one! Nevertheless it was lovely to get in after a session on the beds in 30+ degrees! There is also a small Jacuzzi but this is very expensive at 5uro's for 15 minutes.
Overall - the hotel was Immaculate, clean with VERY friendly staff. Thanks to ALL of them (even the chatty/friendly cleaners) who took the time to wave and chat every time were caught their eye. Being only 2 years old, the hotel is still in pristine condition and I would whole heartedly recommend it to couples and families alike.

Room Tip: Go for 2nd floor rooms as they have best views to ocean and old town. Ground floor rooms are in very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truckerash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

Great little hotel. Family run affair to the very highest standards. Place is kept so clean. Each and every member of staff does a great job in running this hotel. Breakfast continental which is all you really need when the temperatures are in the mid to high 30's. Breakfast is either outside under the shade of olive tress or inside if you choose to have breakfast later - it's very busy. Rooms have a great sea view. There is a sort of funfair next door in an adjoining bit of ground but the sound insulation keeps that out plus the noise stops at midnight.

The hotel has use of a bit of private beach, unless of course you are Italian and the guy who sort
of supervises the beach (he is not under control of the hotel) will put a reserved tag on the prime seats directly in front of the sea.

Can't fault the hotel itself or the staff. Absolutely recommend this place. Should add it's got a nice pool and jacuzzi in the gardens, plus if you go up to the top floor you can access the roof area. Great for sunbathing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is a lovely place. The standard of cleanliness here is excellent, I love the fact that you can walk into your suite and smell the cleaning products used daily.

Our suite is on the 1st floor overlooking the sea. The accommodation has good air con which is essential, a nicely stocked cupboard with plates etc. The bathroom has a walk in shower with stool supplied. The bedroom has sufficient storage with a tv.

Yes on one side is a part completed building that is unlikely to ever be finished - no permission to build can you believe, but at this time there is no mess or noise to contend with from it.

The hotel is a short walk from the old town which is a maze of little streets with fabulous shops and restaurants, washing drapped over balconies with parrots and cockatiels whistling and chattering. It is a vibrant place with a lovely safe beach.

The staff are super and nothing is too much trouble.

However, be prepared. We did encounter a number of less than welcoming attitudes during our stay. As this is b&b, we needed to visit the supermarket which is always a challenge when abroad, and despite our best smiles and attempts with the language, we were made to feel very unwelcome.

That aside, we have had a lovely stay despite the weather being a tad damp!

Room Tip: Try to get on 1st floor, away from people walking by the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pitters447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We decided to return to this Hotel having absolutely loved our first visit last year. You really do get the complete package with this Hotel. I booked directly with the Hotel this year as it was showing as fully booked on-line. I was e-mailed back within 10 minutes and offered a lovely suite overlooking the sea which was perfect. We love that everything is within walking distance, that the suites themselves are so spacious and there is so much storage for everything. The free wifi is a real luxury. We had a few problems getting a good signal from our room which was rectified immediately once we raised the issue. What really made our stay special were the staff who were always on-hand to help with a smile. A special thank you to Giovanni for looking up, calling and arranging an appointment with the local Doctor when my daughter woke up unwell on the morning of our departure. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Front facing suites overlooking the Sea and Poole, suite 105 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MAF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Good posion. To centre city - 5 min. Historical and old city - 10 min. Ideally for a with a little child! There is a complete kitchen. Quietly. Beach across the road. It is always possible to go back into a number. Alongside market.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrii G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Astro Suite was an excellent place to stay - very clean and modern, close to Cefalu town, and close to the beach. Yes I agree with some of the comments about being near a deserted building site - in fact we had a room that overlooked it.! (as well as getting a sea view). At first I was bothered until we learned that it was not an active site and in fact it proved to be a bit of a godsend. Our room was private and not overlooked by any other of the rooms - some people on the ground floor were unhappy because everyone passed by their rooms to get into the hotel, so no privacy when on the balcony. Our room was immaculate, very clean with modern kitchen equipment, large bathroom and comfy bed. We really have no complaints. Breakast was more than adequate for us - yes coffee machine a bit slow, but hey what's the rush you are on holiday. Finally staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and did evrything they could to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alicia0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I found this hotel on the internet, and wanted to book direct (I know Cefalu very well, so was pleased to see this new hotel so close to the town). I could not see any prices on their website as all dates showed as unavailable. On contacting them by phone, I was told that this was because they could only accept bookings from the UK via Thomsons, as they have sole rights. I would never normally use package holidays, but to get this hotel I booked accommodation only via Thomsons. It was very expensive but judging by the website and reviews, it seemed to be a luxury hotel, so we agreed the price - £1,500 for seven nights.

On arrival I was disappointed with the quality of the accommodation, the small pool etc and especially the ground floor room with no privacy. I asked to be moved, and also picked up a price list in reception. The official, published, rate for the room was a third less than I had paid Thomsons - that is, $170 per night, instead of £214 I had paid. (And being already in Sicily, I could check the rate for that night on the website: it was only $100 for the same room!)

I think that preventing the hotel from taking bookings directly, then charging 30% more than the published rate is sharp practice on Thomsons part. They provided no additional service, no tour guide or travel transfers, and no ability to cancel after payment in full months in advance.

I am pursuing this further with Thomsons, but so far they are refusing to refund anything. So I feel justified in warning other travellers now, while I take legal advice.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the ground floor, you are within feet of the swimming pool. And don't bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank WilmaRubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astrohotel_11, Proprietario at Astro Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013
Google Translation

Prendiamo nota della Sua recensione e ci dispiace per la prima volta ricevere un commento negativo relativo ad un problema di prenotazione con l’agenzia Thomson con la quale confermiamo avere un contratto in esclusiva e con la quale tutte le altre recensioni ci confermano l’eccellenza della struttura e dei servizi.
Con rammarico Le contestiamo che quanto da Lei descritto sull’assegnazione della camera non ci risulta; infatti al Suo arrivo ha ricevuto una bella Suite così come da nostra normale assegnazione per gli arrivi dei clienti Thomson. Alla Sua lamentela per la posizione della camera a piano terra,
abbiamo provveduto al cambio, assegnandoLe una delle più belle Suite al primo piano e con Vista Mare diretta, che Lei con entusiasmo ha gradito.
Per quanto riguarda il prezzo menzionato di € 100,00 la tariffa indicata è legata alla stagionalità invernale e non sicuramente al periodo di maggio/giugno che corrisponde alla tariffa ufficiale di € 170,00 come da Lei segnalato.
Tutto questo crea alla nostra struttura un danno notevole sia all’immagine e sia alle recensioni dei nostri clienti.
Distinti Saluti Cefalù, 15.08.2013

Antonio Cannizzaro
Direttore
Astro Suite Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
1.1 mi away
Le Calette Garden & Bay
0.1 mi away
Cefalu Sea Palace
Cefalu Sea Palace
#2 of 36 in Cefalu
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cefalu
477 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Baia del Capitano
Hotel Baia del Capitano
#13 of 36 in Cefalu
363 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bluebay Cefalu
Bluebay Cefalu
#5 of 36 in Cefalu
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astro Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astro Suite Hotel

Address: Via Lungomare G. Giardina, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cefalu
#1 Green Hotel in Cefalu
#2 Family Hotel in Cefalu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cefalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range: £76 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astro Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astro Suite Hotel is a new Hotel located on the Cefalu Sea Side a few meters from historical center. Hotel offers the following guests services:Reception 24 hours, breakfast room, bar Hall, tv room, garden with sea - view, solarium terrace, small swimming-pool, inside garage, equipped sun beach.Our rooms offer the following services:22 nice suites en modern style and private bath room with panoramic view on the Cefalu Sea.All with balcony, heating and air conditioning self control, TV Sat, Wireless, Phon, Mini Bar and another inside room with kitchen.Our welcome will get of your stay an unfergettable memory !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Astro Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astro Suite Hotel Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing