We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great 4 of 5”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kalura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kalura
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Cefalu
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great 4 of 5”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were kindly greeted at this hotel and immediately found out that it is basically 100% german guests. With that out of the way, this hotel is in a very good location outside of the city of Cefalu. There is a quick bus you can take to the city center, but if you're looking for the city feel, this is not your spot. Hotel Kalura had a very nice private beach (concrete platform) which was incredibly relaxing. The natural rock formations contributed with an exotic feel. The restaraunt was very good for all three meals, which you'll likely dine at for all three. We took at 10 euro cab from the train station and a 10 euro cab to the center of the city. I won't stay here again, but I'd recommend it to any couples looking for a relaxing, quiet, and clean stay! The hotel stay was very friendly and always helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    274
    100
    35
    21
See reviews for
128
384
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

For the price of this hotel I was expecting a lot more. We had an outdated and old fashioned room which looked nothing like the photo on the website. The room was poorly cleaned during our stay and they never changed the bed sheets. However the worst part of the room was the bed, it was terribly lumpy and so uncomfortable both me and my partner ended our stay with bad backs! Breakfast was average with poor quality produce and bad tasting coffee which considering we were in Italy was totally unacceptable. The best part of Hotel Kalura was the private beach which whilst it was concrete was beautiful with clear blue sea and a helfpul attendant to hand out sunbeds.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniela j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at Hotel Kalura the final evening of a two week stay in Sicily. This was a splurge hotel for us and we were not disappointed. The hotel has a resort feel to it as it is just outside Cefalu central, and has all the amenities of a resort. The rooms are amazing, the private beach is perfect, and the dining room has a beautiful view of the sea. The staff is courteous, and speak very good English. I especially appreciated the free parking. We will definitely stay here again when visiting the beautiful city of Cefalu.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BassoII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Amazing location - Superb views - excellent staff (especially the 3 waiters during the day time) - lovely ambience - stylish pool area - secluded beach - fine sized rooms - good aircon.
JUST BOOK IT!!! You will not be disappointed.
Cefalu town has super restaurants, fine shops and some of the best Gelato in Sicily.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lightfeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

A typical resort offering holidays in Cefalu. It is on its eastern part, a 30 min walk from the town. It enjoys a privileged access to a nice beach at Kalura bay. The facilities are a bit 80s. The rooms are basic, no thrills, a bit worn out. Poor breakfast (especially if you stay there several days). Nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomaszsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I've just returned from a holiday in Sicily, where I spent my first 2 nights at this hotel in Cefalu. The hotel is beautiful and we were upgraded to a better room for free of charge. The room we were given was a family room which was clean and had the necessary facilities, my only slight criticism is that the air con did not seem powerful enough for the entire room. The hotel grounds are exceptional, with a perfect large swimming pool and some really breath taking views. I found the staff really helpful and cheery and the breakfast was amazing, with such a great choice of food.

I have travelled to a number of hotels in Europe, the US and Asia and can honestly say that this is one of the best and I will definitely return.

Access to the beach was a real positive for me as it gave me a chance to practice my snorkelling skills and was a nice way to end the day.

I found the staff really friendly especially Angelo the waiter, I only wish that we tried the food in the hotel as the vista was wonderful.

It is a walk into town and on a hot day it seemed quite a walk, but on our way back we got a taxi for €10.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu26England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel has excellent facilities and a good sized car park at the front. The main hotel is built on top of a rock outcrop and overlooks the bays in either direction. We stayed in a room called Lipari which is situated beneath the main hotel and off the steps down to the private beach. This location gave us a feeling of privacy and peace and quiet.
The room was very generous in size with a very large double bed in an area that could be separated from the rest of the room by a curtain. There was also a double sofa bed that could also be used. As well as the fridge there were two rings that could be used to heat food.
The bathroom was also very pleasing.
Breakfast was provided in the main part of the hotel with an option to sit outside on the terrace if you wanted to. All tastes were catered for on a buffet style but there were no shortages of food.
We walked into Cefalu each evening which took about 30 minutes. We would have hopped on a bus to return but the last one leaves Cefalu at 8.30 pm however there were no shortage of taxis that cost 10 euros.
The private beach was stunning for swimming with options to hire a canoe or scuba diving.
The only negative thing I can say is that at lunchtime the staff in the bar need some help as it takes far to long to get a drink or a snack.
We stayed for 3 nights and both felt sad to leave and wished we had booked longer at this hotel.

Room Tip: Lipari is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petez324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cefalu Sea Palace
Cefalu Sea Palace
#1 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bluebay Cefalu
Bluebay Cefalu
#7 of 35 in Cefalu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.2 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#5 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#12 of 35 in Cefalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kalura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kalura

Property: Hotel Kalura
Address: Via Vincenzo Cavallaro 13, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
#10 Family Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kalura 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zimmer im 2 Stock ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kalura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalura Hotel Cefalu
Hotel Kalura Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing