We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value quirky hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Club Costa Verde
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Cefalu
Berkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good value quirky hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

As a single middle aged female, I found the friendly staff in the restsurant really nice as they would not let me sit alone but put me on a table with fellow brits and made me feelvwelcome. So its a bit canteen like and food is ok but edible . The pool is massive and in oct was empty. The beach is a bit disappointing but you get free sunbeds and umbrellas so again ok. The bus driver is hilarious and watch out single ladies as he likes to get to know you but flattering at this age. Cefaluvis to die for but you have to rely on the hotrl bus which is payable. You cant walk anywhere from this hotel so you do need a car and without it you limited in getting out and about. The other odd thing is that this hotel had lots of christian conferences during my stay and this entailed hymn singing in the restaurant. But this is sicily and anything goes. I loved it even though I ended up in casualty with a galllbladder attack and that is another story. When I came out and had to have a non fat diet the chefs were great making me special meals.



t

Room Tip: Sea view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windchimesBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    255
    161
    88
    64
See reviews for
322
168
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent a week in the end of June 2014. The weather was warm - 25-33 degrees.
We were part of organized group and didn't have a car. I want to ensure you, that you can go everywhere from the hotel without a car. There are 5 buses to/from Cefalu, 1 bus to/from Palermo (7.50 departures/12.45 from Palermo) and you have shuttle to/from the beach every half an hour. From there you can go to the train station Lascari, which is 15 min. walk and catch train. The only problem is after 18.30 pm, when is the last bus from Cefalu, but taxis are available for 15 euro.
The hotel was full of middle-aged French and Belgians, There were no many kids at all. The animation is in italian and french, english not very spoken, but the team is great and they performed a great shows every night.
The rooms are of good size and convenient, but the central air-conditioning system works only in the afternoon till midnight.
I've chosen the hotel for the Aqua park, but it was rather disappointing - only 2 slides and 1 big pool. Only for 5 euro/day.
The food is more than tasty and higly varied. There is fish and frutti di mare every night, together with all kinds of meat, salads, anti-pasti and pasti. The ice-creams are great and the pastries also. What I didin't like was the hotels' wine - it is cheap and it is not proper. The waiters are very sly with the wine - they are trying to cheat with every bottle.
The beach is beautiful and of a big size - the sand is so fine, there are some stones in front of the water, but you don't need see-shoes at all. You can walk the enormous beach for hours, it is so pleasant. Next to the hotel's beach is a cute Lido beach, there is a small caffe and you can enjoy some classy pizzas and salads.
If you want to shop from the supermarkets, the most convenient is ARD Discount, which is in front of the Lascari station. It is open from 9 am to 8 pm with no "siesta" breaks. The same with the Deco supermarket /near the post, former Sidis/, which is the biggest in Cefalu. There is another Conad - entering Cefalu, 2 km from the train station. All this supermarkets are open in Sunday from 10 to 13.
I really didn't believe that the sicilians are so crazy about their siesta, but from 13 to 16 the live stops everywhere, The traffic decreases, the people disappear from the streets - it is so unusual to me. We were in Taormina from 14 to 16 and the shops were closed, only the eateries work. Even the Duomo in Monreale is closed, as the mainly churches in Palermo. So make your plans having in mind this!
If you want to buy some excursion, the prices in Cefalu are better than in the hotel.
As a whole experience - sicilians are very polite and with no Italian you can understand them - even with hands.
This was very nice experience to us and we shall go back definitely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mihailova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Hotel bright clean and friendly there's a free bus to beach and a bus every half hour until twelve to cefalu its lovely narrow cobbled streets full of shops take loads of money we took a few trips.toarmina is well worth a visit lots of designer shops I was in heaven would go back again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taillant, Poitou-Charentes, France
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We spent one night here as part of a one week auto-tour of Sicily, the hotel having been selected by our French tour operator, FRAM, through their Italian intermediary, Aeroviaggi. Located some 7 kms outside of Cefalu, the hotel was not easy to find as the address we were given was not recognised by my sat nav. The hotel, allegedly 4 star, resembles one of the many concrete monstrosities to be found on the Spanish Costas, with corridors generally poorly lit and dismal. Sadly we were allocated a room facing the scrub-covered mountain instead of one facing the sea, which was disappointing towards the end of our stay in Sicily. The hotel was actually heaving with people. mostly coach parties, so breakfast the following morning was not a particularly pleasant experience. I was extremely glad we only stayed here for one night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Located alongside a highway, below average food and sweating outside dinng only (i.e. no air conditioning), our room was located a good 15 minute walk from the lobby and dinng room, and all activities were in Italian and French only. Definitely do not come here if you are not fluent in Italian or French and are not a fan of Italians, the French and French-speaking Belgians because that's all you will find. The Kiddie Club was more like glorified babysitting - our 5 year old did not like it and had difficulty communicating with the staff due to the language barrier (she speaks Dutch and English). Overcrowded pool with not enough lounge chairs and nowhere quiet to sit since there was always aqua gym/dance class/water polo, etc. going on in the pool area and the instructions always seemed to involve shouting. The only nice things I can say about our vacation is that we had beautiful weather, our daughter loved the aqua park across the street (free access if you go for the all inclusive deal at the hotel), the nearby town of Cefalu is quite charming with restaurants that serve decent food (unlike the hotel), and we slept quite well given that we were so far away from the lobby. My husband, however, refers to our experience as Costa Merde.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cefalu hotels

Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Having seen some odd negative and erroneous reports due to its remote location 5 km west of Chaffalu (pronunciation)Yes It is 2 km from main road s113 and high on a hill behind the quietish two lane motorway which is not accessible for miles either side of the hotel resort.
Even the village (town) Lasaki is not within easy reach but the 30 plus buses at precise times both in and out of the resort?available at end of season they are sufficient if you plan properly.ie Beach Cefalu and Palermo.(That is if you want to waste your time and risk being robbed?.)
Also the usual Thomsons etc excursions pick up from the Water park below the hotel which is a five minute downhill walk.Multi firm booths for Car hire occasionally but no currency exchange at the moment.
Large seating area around bar and a few boutige shops on ground floor to avoid heat.
This is a huge complex with Five star multilingual helpful friendly receptionists.Similair the waiters now over attentive? and fun Chefs,Room serviced daily ,The entertainment (cabaret in English by Marco who is a star) /huge internal theatre/outside stage dance area plus archery/boules/table tennis/darts/a film night Italian lessons etc etc etc and swimming pool is fabulous.All way above criticism

Deckchairs and parasols provided and simalair at their private cleaned beach just one km away but 4.9km by free bus.. Has toilets plenty of seats and small reasonable price bar/ eating place.
Hotel Rooms were large and overlooking the sea is worth the price just for sunsets.Despite errors stated in other reviews, it has 4 lifts and internal digital safes and only the wifi is less than 5 star.
Huge circular dining with seats allocated so that Brits can be together (includes the moaners ?) Brits Mostly kept together of floor 5.The Large flatscreen TV has hundreds of channels but only CNN if you want daily repeated news in English.
Deposit required for the zappa.
The mixture of Brits Germans, others and French and Italians was varied in proportion and brits share will increase next year.One or two days we were the majority..
Gardens well maintain and the large varied food choice of pastas 2 main courses or more changed daily,salads meats ice cream sweets soups all Sicilian produced food and wine.This was better than the costly sea front restraunts in beautiful quaint Cefalu.

I believe Normal season has access to the lower waterpark which is fairly large and a boon for kids.(Not open after Sept)
Even has a wheelchair lift on front stairway into reception.
A Marvelous different holiday place.Struggled to find even a small fault but maybe it could do with a few vending machines in the bar area? Nah Its the moaning britishness of me coming out.
Best last minute decision we ever made on a holiday.We are usually tourists.

Room Tip: Pay for sea view and if you go to Palermo then use the tourist buses.Dont go privately as you WiIl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Didn't realised when we booked that this huge 4 star hotel was the other side of a motorway and main road from the private beach and that there were no footpaths down to it. This was not much of a problem thanks to frequent free shuttle bus, but I still think it detracts from the hotel, especially as at this time of year the nearby Aqua Verde water park was closed. Also hadn't appreciated just how HUGE the island of Sicily is and a hired car would have been useful – but a nightmare to drive in the narrow village streets!!
We thought the food and staff at hotel were excellent, however. We chose half board and the free wine with the evening self-service buffet was an unexpected treat. Just as well as beer at the bar was expensive and limited choice. The entertainment team were very friendly and hard-working, even though the hotel was pretty empty during the last week of the season, and although most did not speak English, young Marco did and he was a very efficient & charmingly Italian translator for the team. On the last day I discovered there were 4 lifts to the 5th floor, not just the 2 slow ones we had been using! Wi-Fi seemed OK in the reception area to me and rooms were modern and clean, although it’s a shame we were not given a sea-view as there must have been loads of empty rooms at this time of year. We found it was nice being in a cosmopolitan hotel used by other nationalities but were glad we didn't come in peak season when the place must be very busy & noisy with loads of families with young children.
We were lucky and enjoyed a week of continuous sunshine and blue skies with temperatures around 25 degrees C. We thought Cefalu was very pretty and had lots to see and many good eating places. The stiff climb up La Rocca is a MUST DO and took us less than an hour with lots of stops. Coach trips to Etna and St Marco were very good though not cheap. We wanted to visit the gardens at Palermo but on 1st Nov (All Saints Day) we never realised that the bus services were reduced to one each way and so we missed out. However, other people said Palermo wasn't worth visiting! All in all a very enjoyable week.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cefalu
4.8 mi away
Le Calette Garden & Bay
1.5 mi away
Hotel Baia del Capitano
Hotel Baia del Capitano
#12 of 36 in Cefalu
335 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
#3 of 6 in Campofelice di Roccella
931 reviews
3.7 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cefalu
444 reviews
6.5 mi away
Acacia Resort Parco dei Leoni
Acacia Resort Parco dei Leoni
#2 of 6 in Campofelice di Roccella
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Costa Verde

Property: Hotel Club Costa Verde
Address: Contrada San Nicola, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Club Costa Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Club Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Costa Verde
Costa Verde Cefalu
Hotel Club Costa Verde Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing