We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the place in Cefalu”
Review of Hotel Tourist

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tourist
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Cefalu
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We are a mature couple and have been on the road for 10 months.
This hotel has been a great stay - we booked for 3 days and stayed a week.
It is a good base to explore by car or train (an hour to Palermo) but as well it is situated well along the waterfront so is in a very quiet area.
We walked in and out to both the old and new town at least twice every day.
We paid a little extra for the sea view room - well worth it.
The hotel is older but very well maintained and very clean. The lady did a good job servicing the room each day.
Reception was manned by Marco, Fabio and Pepeno who were all so friendly and helpful and full of good information. They provided maps and would oblige with any requests.
The room was large with an excellent bed and had a good sized bathroom. There was plenty of storage.There was tons of hot water at a great pressure.
The balcony had two chairs with an excellent view.
There is plenty of sandy beach nearby and a lovely promenade walkway into the bars and restaurants.
WiFi in our room (middle of 2nd floor) was a bit of a disaster as it kept dropping off and would not upload data. However there was a handy two seater and table in the hallway two doors down where reception was perfect so we based ourselves there to use the internet. The only problem was there was no privacy for Skyping (important for us long-term travelling grandparents.)
Breakfast was very good.
We had dinner a couple of nights and on one occasion had the best fish dish we have tasted in Sicily.
After a week we were sorry to leave.
If we had WiFi in the room it would have received 5 stars no problem at all.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view with balcony, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Due to a change of plans, we found ourselves trying to find lodging in Cefalu as we were driving there. We tried a few other places that were booked before we found the Hotel Tourist. The hotel is very clean, the balconies have great views, the beds are comfortable, there is a large pool, and there is beach access across the road. They probably have the best shower in all of Sicily! Town and restaurants are within easy walking distance. The beach at Hotel Tourist is a tad rocky but there is a beautiful sandy beach just down the street. Breakfast is included in the price & it's o.k. although when they bring out eggs, it's like feeding time at the zoo. They also have the option of including supper at a slight additional cost. We prefer visiting local restaurants so didn't do that but a lot of people did. We had lunch there on a Monday because many places are closed; we shared a shrimp risotto. The shrimp were small enough to hide behind the rice. Like I said, the name says it all. The restaurant portion of the hotel truly seems to be a place for tourists who prefer to have their meals at the same place every night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Of our 3 hotels on our Sicily trip, this was the one we had least expectations of, but it was surprisingly good.
The location is on the seafront at the western end of the resort and as the road is a dead end it was very quiet and peaceful. It's a pleasant 10-15 minutes stroll along the front to the centre of Cefalu.
Our room was perfectly adequate, overlooked the sea and had a small balcony.
The hotel has a free private beach over the road, with loungers and umbrellas; it also has a swimming pool which my wife rated as first class.
We were on half board and the food did not disappoint, indeed it would have been possible to dine on the hors d'oeuvre/antipasti alone, such was the huge array of choice. The fish special night was particularly good with tuna, swordfish, prawns, calamari etc.
Friendly service throughout contributed to an enjoyable 4 night stay.
I cannot judge the value for money, as we had no price break-down of the 3 hotels we stayed at.
Cefalu has good beaches and is a very pleasant town to wander round and the cathedral is very impressive. One day was spent visiting Palermo, an easy (and cheap) 50 minutes train ride.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikebutler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The hotel was adequate for what we needed but it is nothing special, although the view from our room over-looking the bay was lovely. Generally, the hotel could do with a little modernisation and the walls are a little thin, however it is clean, the rooms are comfy and the staff are friendly. To be picky, it is slightly further out of town (10 minute walk as opposed to 5) than other hotels, but the walk along the sea-front is very pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 433katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed in Hotel Toursit, Cefalù in June 2013. The staff was very friendly and spoke good English. It was more than we expected in half board booking. The buffet food was good and they also did very great gluten-free and vegetarian food. Rooms were very clean and nice (cleaned every day I suppose). The minibar acted as a fridge. This isn't a luxury hotel but the quality-price ratio was excellent. Tourist was truly worth staying.

The pool area was nice and tidy. The hotel beach was also open but there weren't chairs or umbrellas yet because the waves were too big. The only minus for this hotel (also for Cefalù) was the lack of other activities like minigolf, tennis etc.

It was a 15-minute walk from Hotel Tourist to centre of Cefalù and only few minutes to the beach so the location was good. The hotel was quite quiet at nights but there were some noises on Saturday night when people left the disco nearby.

Room Tip: The sea view costs extra. The view to pool area was good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nordiskal_nderMju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 10 years ago on a very romantic break, and returning was no disappointment. The decor was the exact same, service was as friendly as ever and the vista of the bay and the beautiful town were just as we remembered. Not for those seeking great cuisine or luxurious surroundings. But perfect for rest and relaxation with a little quiet private beach across the road to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cavanlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Evin S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Baia del Capitano
Hotel Baia del Capitano
#12 of 36 in Cefalu
359 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Calette Garden & Bay
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cefalu
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cefalu Sea Palace
Cefalu Sea Palace
#4 of 36 in Cefalu
756 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bluebay Cefalu
Bluebay Cefalu
#3 of 36 in Cefalu
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tourist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tourist

Address: Lungomare G. Giardina, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range: £56 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tourist 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few metres from the sea, Hotel Tourist offers an equipped private beach and an outdoor pool. It is on Cefalù’s promenade and most rooms overlook the sea. The hotel’s restaurant specialises in international cuisine and Italian favourites, all accompanied by local wines. Rooms at Tourist Hotel are air conditioned and come with a flat-screen TV and a balcony. Some have either partial or full sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tourist reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Cefalu
Hotel Tourist Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing