We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing hideaway, not too close or too far from the bustle of Cefalu.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Baia del Capitano
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cefalu
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A relaxing hideaway, not too close or too far from the bustle of Cefalu.”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We were a little shocked when we first realised quite how far from Cefalu itself the hotel was. However the peace and quiet was incredibly relaxing. It had far more of a boutique feel than we expected.
The private beach area was really nice for the children and getting a lift down with the hotel beach tuk tuk was good fun.
Cefalu is €15 euros away, this was fine for us. At night Cefalu itself was beautiful but busy so as a party of 8 it was difficult to eat without bring very organised.
My only disappointment with the hotel was the food. We are in the restaurant both lunch and dinner. Sadly the standard wasn't very good, it was a little average compared to the quality of everything else.
The staff, reception, bar and cleaning were very good and helpful.
I would stay here again, we felt very relaxed by the time we left.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaiadelCapitan0, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Baia del Capitano, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s true that our Location is not in Cefalù down town but as you written in your review, we offer a relaxing area far away from crowd and noises with all the comfort inside the Hotel: Bar, Swimming pool, free wi-fi, restaurant and the possibility to go to the sea (very close) and to choose from 2 different types of beaches (rocks or sand).
Generally the restaurant is very appreciated by our guests, but it depends on their tastes, maybe they don’t really like to eat Sicilian typical dishes just because they are not used to.
For us the main goal is to have our guests satisfied at 100%, so for the next time, if there is something wrong with our food, it should be better, during your stay, to ask to have different dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    99
    51
    17
    10
See reviews for
60
159
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at this hotel, the experience overall was good. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, we particularly appreciated their service when they helped us locate the travel documentation which we had left in the first room they allocated us (see below).

The hotel is in a residential area with no shops nearby but the surroundings are very quiet and tranquil, perfect for those who seek to enjoy a peaceful time without fighting for resources and screaming kids, everything and everywhere you see is very new and clean. Furnishing is of good quality but the décor is a little dated and it can be a little dark in some places. We were first given a room with no windows at sight from the bed, I asked if I could change room, luckily my request was granted with the receptionist, who seemed willing to do what they can to make sure your stay is a pleasant experience.

Parking is a big plus, we never had to worry about the car overnight or not having a space when we got back. The shuttle bus service is quite infrequent, latest one runs at 18:30, so it you want to drink and go out into town for dinner the only way is to get a taxi back which cost 15 euros. The beach is small but nice, only 10mins walk away, the hotel occupies the middle section. It offers crystal clean water, but a little pebbly near the shore.

Breakfast was a bit of a mixed experience for me. I need my coffee in the morning and a good one, being in Italy I was hoping I wouldn't have to endure drinking horrible coffee out of a machine, but I was disappointed, although it did taste a bit nicer than those you find in Spain...what's more you had to queue a good 5 mins for it. Hot food was yummy but not a great deal to choose from (bacon and scrambled egg). Fresh fruits and yogurt was good.

We had lunch at the hotel on the first day (seafood tagliatelle), very tasty but a bit skimpy on the seafood.

Cefalu itself is a charming town with plenty of period character and a good variety of shops and restaurants. Check out the little shop offering frozen yoghurt crepes near to the cathedral!
Only a strange lack of places to drink without eating lets it down (that and the very limited parking). Following reviews here we also tried Le Chat Noir, finding it good but not sure about No.1 in Cefalu. We preferred the Baglio del Falco which is also more convenient for the hotel, in fact virtually the only eating or drinking place closer to the hotel than Cefalu. Always a good sign when the placed is almost entirely filled with locals!

Be aware that taxi transfer from Palermo airport is extremely expensive (EUR 100+), instead we hired a Smart car which for 3 days hire was around the same price as a return trip to the airport. This also came in very handy when we found that no excursions (of any kind) appeared to be available on the Saturday or Sunday. We drove to Mt Etna which is perfectly do-able, albeit about 3 hrs drive each way. If you are considering the same, make sure you get an early start to give yourself time to take the cable-car and jeep tour of the craters. And yes, the Smart car made it up the mountain passes no problem!

Just make sure you leave plenty of time to get through the Palermo traffic on your return trip to the airport, we nearly didn't, which led to a few frayed nerves!

If you are planning a long weekend, also note that boat trips do not run Saturday or Sunday; these looked like they would have been great so make sure you can fit one in Friday or Monday and don't miss out like we did.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful long week end! The peace and quiet was heavenly! Personal service and attention made it so special! The restaurant was a dining experience everytime! Gourmet dishes were tasty and artistically decorated. Hotel was impeccably clean and relaxing by the pool after a tennis match was perfect! It is rare to find a home away from home were one is treated as an individual not a number. My mother and I highly recommend hotel and are looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms with gorgeous views of the Cefalu Rock. Higher floor. Anything u may need ask the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charmmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is most definitely NOT a four star hotel, more like a two star at a push. It is very dated and the bedrooms are small and dark. The location isn't great. The breakfast is awful - a four star hotel does not give you squash instead of orange juice. We stayed here for three nights, paid the equivalent amount to staying in a genuine four star hotel in London and were disappointed with this hotel. We love Sicily but we will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaiadelCapitan0, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Baia del Capitano, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Guest,
In reference of your review, we are very sorry for your unpleasant stay, we are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome.
Our rooms are different, we have Classic and Superior room types with or without Sea View, with windows or french balcony or balcony, so all the rooms have natural light.
Room size depends also on what kind of room you choose at the booking time.
But all of them, at least, respect the standard size for a 4 Star hotel following the Italian Law.
Most of our guests are happy about our buffet breakfast, but thanks to your feedback , we will improve more, both in service and quality.
We hope to have you again to our Hotel to verify our improvements and changes.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

If you have a car this is a great place to stay and explore the area. Free safe parking with locked gate at night. To park free in drive into Cefalu on main SS113 and continue until you get to T junction and turn right up the hill, take the first right onto Via Pietra Grossa and continue, overlooking railway station, just before you come to a short dual carriage way there is free on road parking on left. Underpass to station and town down steps a few yards further on, great also if you wish to catch the train to Palermo. The hotel is just outside Cefalu on the edge of the built up area, we loved the sandy beach 10 minutes walk away, a bit like a cove in Cornwall but with the blue Med and warm sun! Hotel is kept spotless with nice bedrooms and friendly staff. Lots of choice for buffet breakfast although you have to work out the coffee machine menu. Views from roof terrace of sea and Cefalu old town. Meals were mostly OK but the Black Cat (ristorante Le Chat Noir) in town was much better (down hill from Cefalu cathedral square) but get there at 7pm or book as very popular. If this one is not available continue down hill to the next road for Il Covo Del Pirata overlooking sea which was good value.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SittingbournePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen aan Zee, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, decent rooms, not overcrowded. Pleasant staff, helpfull. Two minor points, the music in the restaurant is a reason not to have dinner (if you are lucky, a selection of 70s and 80s soft rock, but every day the same selection; but it can even be worse, one lunch section took 90 minutes of only Michael Jackson) and the capacity at the hotel beach spot is rather limited.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Klaas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

After carrying out lots and lots of research this hotel kept coming up with such fantastic reviews, so I decided to book a 3 night getaway for my Fiances Birthday. Before doing so, I emailed the hotel asking for information on a taxi from the airport, help with making my Fiances birthday special and the possibility of a last minute wedding, would you believe. Within no time at all the lovely Rosamaria had answered all my questions, I had no doubt that this was the hotel of choice. We took a bus from Palermo airport to Palermo city centre and then a train from Palermo to the town of Cefalu (which is stunning, with great restaurants) this took around an hour and a half in total and then a taxi to the hotel from Cefalu which was only a 10 minute ride.

Upon arrival this is where our amazing 3 night getaway started, and it is thanks to four people. Rosamaria (where nothing was ever to much trouble and she always had a smile), Carlos and Daniele who are the the waiters (again nothing was to much trouble, even organising lunch on the roof terrace) and the Manager who after asking where we could purchase sun tan cream, told us that he'll let us know, only to then have a knock at the door to discover that he actually went out to buy it for us as a gift.

The Hotel itself is immaculate, the room was fantastic, swimming pool was cold but refreshing and the roof terrace gave incredible views over Cefalu and lunch was also delicious.

Just some advice, I would put a little extra in your budget for taxi's into town at 15 euro one way, but it would be well worth it.

Overall an amazing retreat and a massive thank you to all of the staff mentioned with a special thank you to Rosamaria for making our stay extra wonderful. We can't wait to come back.

Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estateagent1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 36 in Cefalu
713 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
2.3 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cefalu
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Bluebay Cefalu
Bluebay Cefalu
#6 of 36 in Cefalu
78 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Lucia e le Sabbie d'Oro
2.2 mi away
Cefalu Sea Palace
Cefalu Sea Palace
#1 of 36 in Cefalu
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia del Capitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia del Capitano

Property: Hotel Baia del Capitano
Address: Contrada Mazzaforno, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cefalu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cefalu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia del Capitano 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic four star hotel with Mediterranean design, that can guarantee a "wonderful stay" for a couple's romantic getaway, a "relaxing holiday" for families with children, a "dream wedding feast " for bridal couples . The hotel offers its guests a stay of pure sea, thanks to its private beach of fine sand, but also the rediscovery of nature, thanks to the private access to the cliff. For those who wish to only enjoy the Sicilian sun, the hotel has a swimming pool surrounded by olive trees. The restaurant offers a rich and abundant intercontinental breakfast, light lunches to continue to enjoy the sea and also theme dinners to rediscover the Mediterranean cuisine. For those who love relaxation and tranquility immersed in nature, the hotel offers an efficient shuttle service just outside of Cefalù, and organizes excursions to all places of interest in Sicily as well as offering all of its facilities for a pleasant stay, from a large parking area protected from the sun to free Wi-Fi. It's time to find out how special we can make your holiday in Cefalù ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baia del Capitano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Del Capitano Cefalu
Baia Del Capitano Hotel Cefalu
Hotel Baia Del Capitano Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing