We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Baia del Capitano
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cefalu
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Really great venue, superb rooms, space, cleanliness and service.
Outdoor dinner in an Olive garden, private beach space within 10 minutes walk.
Very good breakfast buffet with fresh oranges to squash. Great food do not miss the "Sicilian evening" mid week with superb dinner.
Staff very nice and overly helpful for any information or extra need.
Special feature for tourists a small bookable "Ape" motorcar to transport customers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Fabulous hotel, great food, spotlessly clean bedrooms and public areas. The hotel itself is warm, cosy and welcoming. Every need was catered for and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel has a shuttle service to the beach and town centre, which was very useful. Can't recommend highly enough and many thanks to Antonio and his team for making our stay on this beautiful island memorable, We'll see you again very soon!

Sue Venables

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

i came to sicily to see the places where my grandparents used to live duing their childhood and i found this beautiful hotel surrounded by olive trees. i was surprised by the warm and attentive welcome of the whole staff, some of them speak very good english and one of them speaks perfect german. the pool and near beach (only 400 meters from the hotel) are definitely a plus. the place was great for relaxing and the food was awesome. even the other guests were quiet and polite, we were all enjoying the pool and our drinks without people making noise or running around like i'm used to in other hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiteimported
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at Baia del Capitano for 2 weeks as part of a package holiday. Never again. On the positive side it is quiet, and our room (I suspect it was one of the better ones) had a nice balcony overlooking the pool, but I struggle to find anything else good to say about it. The room was very dated with a bed which had a battered and stained divan. The air conditioning was pretty well useless and nothing was/could be done about it despite both we and our tour rep complaining. The restaurant was unimaginative and getting a salad rather than the potatoes offered as vegatables most noghts was like pulling teeth! I think in 14 nights we had 2 good meals. The "buffet noghts" were the worst with a selection of mediocre and barely luke warm pasta and pizza on offer.
Baia del Capitano is about 3 miles from Cefalu and you cannot walk unless you're prepared to risk life and limb along the main road. In theory, the hotel has a "shuttle bus" which in practice is a Peugot Partner car driven by the porter/handyman and is not available after late afternoon - a time which varied from 1pm to 4:30pm during our stay. You can get a bus at the end of the sideroad however, but these stop at around 6:30pm so don't plan on being able to escape the awful restaurant unless you are prepared to pay 20 Euro taxi fare.
There are no shops nearby (though you can buy bottled water, beer and some small items at a nearby campsite.

It is close to the autostrada from Messina to Palermo, so if you just one a one night stop over it is probably tolerable. Otherwise give it a miss.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veritas_Vir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We enjoyed a weeks stay in early October with good friends. Weather was sunny on four of the days and very little rain on the others. The location of the hotel was in a small residential area but this added to the peace and serenity of our stay. We found the food, restaurant and all of it's staff spot on and overall can only view our experience as excellent.
The location of Cefalu town 5 kms away was not a big issue. The hotel provided an on demand free shuttle into town and back and punctuality was excellent.
The views from the rooftop terrace, where our room was were incredible and gave you that millionaire feeling.
I wouldn't describe it as a family holiday destination but either with other friends or as a romantic couple it certainly fits the bill. Tour pick ups can be arranged from the hotel, usually a five minute walk away, but nevertheless all very well organised.
Overall, a memorable stay and the friendliness of the hotel staff made it that extra bit special. Good rail links into Palermo and other major towns in Sicily meant that a car was not needed - you would need nerves of steel to drive over there anyway so not for the faint hearted. Ciao.

Room Tip: Top (3rd floor) room 302. Fantastic views, independent air conditioning system, no noise from lift n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisTricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

An excellent hotel overall although it is a little way out from Cefalu (bus into town costs three euros approx). The buses also stop around 18.30 hours so a taxi to return costs 15/20 euro depending on time you return. Hotel facilities are decent with small poolside bar and friendly staff. The room we had was a good size with a small balcony to the front of the building. The beds were very squeaky!!!!! We asked for a replacement and the hotel sent a handyman who "repaired" the bed bed frame with little wooden wedges and a hammer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hibee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We've just returned from a stay at the Baia del Capitano and can only sing its praises. I would agree with everything that others have positively mentioned. It is a nice hotel, it is quiet and it is 5 km. outside Cefalu. The majority of guests at the hotel while we were there were German and French. There were a few British people but the cosmopolitan atmosphere made it more interesting. There are some things that I would say though: the coffee machine that's used at breakfast for one. Queuing up for coffee or tea is a real pain. After all this supposed to be a 4 star hotel. One other thing that someone else mentioned is the small portion of food that is given for each course at dinner. Apart from these two niggles, I'd recommend this hotel. The staff are very professional and apart from the misleading picture of the swimming pool size (must have been a really good wide angle lens!) - it was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We had a superior room with a balcony and sea view which was very quiet. This was on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
3.4 mi away
Le Calette Garden & Bay
2.2 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
3.5 mi away
Hotel Kalura
Hotel Kalura
#9 of 36 in Cefalu
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Astro Suite Hotel
Astro Suite Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cefalu
381 reviews
2.3 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cefalu
477 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Palamara 1868
Villa Palamara 1868
#12 of 36 in Cefalu
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia del Capitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia del Capitano

Address: Contrada Mazzaforno, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cefalu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cefalu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range: £58 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia del Capitano 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic four star hotel with Mediterranean design, that can guarantee a "wonderful stay" for a couple's romantic getaway, a "relaxing holiday" for families with children, a "dream wedding feast " for bridal couples . The hotel offers its guests a stay of pure sea, thanks to its private beach of fine sand, but also the rediscovery of nature, thanks to the private access to the cliff. For those who wish to only enjoy the Sicilian sun, the hotel has a swimming pool surrounded by olive trees. The restaurant offers a rich and abundant intercontinental breakfast, light lunches to continue to enjoy the sea and also theme dinners to rediscover the Mediterranean cuisine. For those who love relaxation and tranquility immersed in nature, the hotel offers an efficient shuttle service just outside of Cefalù, and organizes excursions to all places of interest in Sicily as well as offering all of its facilities for a pleasant stay, from a large parking area protected from the sun to free Wi-Fi. It's time to find out how special we can make your holiday in Cefalù ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baia del Capitano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Del Capitano Cefalu
Baia Del Capitano Hotel Cefalu
Hotel Baia Del Capitano Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing