We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outlook”
Review of Palazzo Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palazzo Maria
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Cefalu
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My wife and I stayed a week here enjoying the brilliant apartment - this is authentic "old Italy" - mile high ceilings, two balconies overlooking the Duomo and square and loads of space. The whole atmosphere is laid back with the owners Angelo and Stephano delightful chaps. You must understand though that it is in the style of apartments (rather than a hotel) with a limited reception and service in relation thereto (i.e not 24 hours) . It is brilliant for sitting on the balcony and watching the hubbub of the square - also a roof terrace is available but we preferred the beach which is fine - although not great for swimming - the red flag was flying most of the time! There are loads of restaurants, shops and facilities in Cefalu with a walk to the Castle recommended (steep). The owners will assist with organisation (car hire, taxis, Bike hire etc)- they arranged the transfer from and to Palermo which was very smooth. Overall ideal for a week - there is a bit of early morning "services noise" from the square and a general drone the rest of the time from the numbers of people having coffee and doing what people do in such places.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClydeStreathamLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

Palazzo Maria is a small hotel located in Palazzo Maria--a medieval structure in Piazza Duomo, the heat of Cefalu. The rooms are ample and clean. We rented the Re Ruggero which has a kitchenette, ample living room, bedroom and spacious bathroom. Its two terraces overlook the piazza and face the Duomo. The staff (Antonio) was very helpful recommending places to eat and visit. The only drawback is parking-which is a problem in all of Cefalu. We parked along the harbor and had to walk .7 k to the hotel--absolutely fine for us but a problem for anyone with limited mobility. The whole are of the Duomo is reserved for pedestrian traffic. We felt like we were in the center of everything in Cefalu yet still safe and quite at night. I would strongly recommend Piazza Maria for location, value and service. You could not be in a better location in Cefalu.

Room Tip: The Re Ruggero is a fine room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnCarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and couldn't fault the location. Great view of the Duomo from the balcony and very easy access to restaurants and the sea. Service was excellent. Only downside was our first night workmen were setting up for a concert(building a stage etc.) and the second night the concert was on. We had great seats for the concert but it did go on past our bedtime but no real big issue. Would certainly stay again. We actually stayed in Sept. 2011, not 2012.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony would be the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We were lucky to get an upgrade to an apartment with a balcony overlooking the duomo and the square it was idilic. Great for wandering round the old town, or joining the crowds on their evening stroll. No parking in the old town, and no advice via the booking. We walked to the apartments and were advised to park on the sea front about 10 minutes walk away, so a bit difficult with luggage.

Room Tip: Try to get an apartment facing the square - there are also some at the back, without the views but m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zniall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I'v been in Palazzo Maria during christmas time and we had a fantastic experience; the manager upgraded us to their best suite\apartment ( Ruggero ), spacious and elegant, with a balcony overlooking the beautiful Duomo square with lights and an original christmas tree.
The atmosphere was nice , and the weather warm (we didn't use the heating system).... all was perfect !! we'll came back during summer to join the sea.
Palazzo Maria is a perfect location to spend some winter holiday.
Thank you

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Our suite had two balconies overlooking the main piazza. Absolutely stunning views and right in the heart of Cefalu. We had a large lounge/kitchen area with satellite TV and wireless Internet. We bought breakfast from a patisserie in the square and ate it on the roof terrace. Undoubtedly the best views in Cefalu. The proprietor, Angelo, spoke great English and was an absolute gentleman. Although not a major destination in our guidebook, we found Cefalu to be one of the most relaxing and enjoyable towns on our tour of Sicily. Any town that looks good in the rain must be special.

Room Tip: Having a balcony overlooking the square is a real bonus (north side). The noise from the square was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gallois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We really enjoyed the night spent in Cefalu, and loved staying at the Palazzo Maria right in the main square next to the Duomo. A great location with easy access to all the best stores and restaurants, and a short downhill walk to the sea.

The hosts speak perfect English and are very friendly and accommodating. The room was spacious enough for 4 people, with a huge terrace and creative, colourful design. There were a lot of steps to climb, but one expects that when staying in a centuries-old building!

The only drawback of the hotel's location is that it is very difficult to reach by car. Parking is offsite, about a 15 minute walk away, near the sea. But once the car is parked, the city is very walkable!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giannina_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Giara
Hotel La Giara
#28 of 36 in Cefalu
156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#30 of 36 in Cefalu
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Plumeria Hotel
La Plumeria Hotel
#10 of 36 in Cefalu
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cefalu
479 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villa Palamara 1868
Villa Palamara 1868
#12 of 36 in Cefalu
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#16 of 36 in Cefalu
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Maria

Address: Piazza del Duomo 18, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Cefalu
Price Range: £37 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Maria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream holiday in one of the most celebrated and fascinating places in Cefalu. Eight suites where you can live the atmosphere of a noble Sicilian house with all its perfumes and flavours. The colourful explosion of the interior decoration contrasts with the period furniture creating a charming elegant mixture. Wide windows and balconies look directly on the main square (Piazza Duomo), spectacular terraces open on the adjacent picturesque alleys. From the spacious solarium-terrace you have a wonderful view of the Cathedral, its towers, the blue sea, the Eolian Islands and the impressive mountain "The Rocca" dominating Cefalu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Palazzo Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Maria Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing