We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid - too far, unmanned, overpriced” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santa Barbara
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Cefalu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid - too far, unmanned, overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Too far from town centre and the place is unmanned and empty. You will easily get a place in town centre with beach access for half the price. Rooms in the resudence are well equipped but dingy. Only makes sense for 4-5 people sharing the apartment. No nearby places to eat/drink. Avoid completely. Better still, avoid Cefalu and go to Mondello or Amalfi or Taormina instead.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ccedmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio T, Responsabile reception at Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear guest,
we are always very sorry when a customer isn't happy about his vacation by our structure, however i would like to point up a few inconsistent aspects in your review:

1) When somebody books an accommodation he should be aware about where he is gonna stay. You can't make a reservation without looking map or description and then write that we are far from the centre and that nothing can be found in the area. Even because this last sentence is absolutely wrong, we are in a relaxing area where anyway there are a supermarket at 300 metres, a restaurant at 400 metres and a big bar at 500 metres. If you wanted an accommodation inside historical centre you could have booked one, nobody forced you.

2)What you may find for half the price are probably tiny rooms on a dark ground floor, while we have one/two/three bedroom apartments with kitchen plus large and comfortably seaview balconies. Moreover there are free parking and swimming pool to use, all facilities hard (impossible?) to find in the centre

3)This is not the right place to bad talk about Cefalù, you were supposed to write a review about our structure. Moreover Cefalù is a wonderful town beloved all around the world and again nobody forced you to book an holiday in here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    9
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We are an extended family group of 4 adults and 2 children. We have just spent a fantastic fortnight at Santa Barbara, Cefalu in apartment C (the largest of the apartments). On arrival at the property we were immediately struck by the gorgeous views of the Mediterranean and the mountain backdrop, especially given the ease of access into the beautiful Medieval city of Cefalu. The apartment is simply and adequately furnished, and any requests for additional items (in our case a large pasta pan!) are quickly and graciously addressed. Alexander and Sergio are friendly and helpful. Apartment C is on the same level as the pool and the barbecue with French doors out onto both, making it very family friendly and giving a feeling of extensive outdoor space in which to enjoy the Sicilian sunshine. Whilst the pool seems small on first sight, there was plenty of room for our 10 and 8 year old, for cooling off and for family pool games on lilos! We had an amazing holiday in a place close to our hearts, massive thanks to Alexander, Sergio and Gwendolyn at Sicily4U and also to the lovely Irish family who left us the lilo and lots of yummy food and wine on their departure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ButtenPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed for 6 days in the penthouse apartment and a had a great time!
The house and the apartment is clean but somewhat dated. The equipment is quite simple, when it comes to utensils and silverware, and the furnitures are worn. The shower/bath-tub is uncomfy for anybody taller than 175cm because of the inclining ceiling in the bathroom.

But...the disadvantages are forgiven thanks to the fantastic terrace 40sq.m with its view over thesea and Cefalu harbour area. Parking is easy on the street, the pool area is nice and clean, even if a few more sunchairs wouldn't hurt. A smaller supermarket is only 150m away. The walk to Cefalu centre is about 10 min downhill, (and 15 min uphill). The staff of Vacation Services who runs the place are great, very helpful and speaks perfect english.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We had a dreadful experience in Santa Barbara. We specifically asked for a ground floor apartment as we have three small boys and had previously other holiday apartments with balconies and felt we had to watch them all the time. The apartment wasn't really a ground floor one it was the same level as the pool but there were steep steps outside the apartment and a 7 metre (approx.) drop. The apartment was old and dated. The kitchen was dirty (needed a good paint and the tiles (Siclian style) needed re-grouting as it was worn. The bathroom was also very dated and the shower wasn't particularly nice. The biggest problem was that these holiday apartments are let on a nightly or two nightly basis and people were arriving late at night and early in the morning. Because we were on the ground/first floor there was alot of noise from upstairs and it kept us awake alot and woke up the children. After much agruing with the agency (the agency we booked the apartment with couldn't be contacted at this time either) we managed to leave but this was after three days of not sleeping. We had to argue with the Agency in the UK then to get our money finally back. I would certainly not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio T, Front Office Manager at Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear guest,

i'm sorry that you had a bad experience while staying by our structure, but it would be much more fair to explain that a great part of the problems can not be addressed to us. In fact your 3 kids have been extremely noisy and gave a terrible vacation to you (screaming "get out" all the time), and consequently to other customers that complained a lot for them. Under these circumstances i understand that everything becomes terrible and you associate your bad experience with the structure. Moreover you are blaming us for the fact that you asked a ground floor but you didn't get one and this is another example of how it's not our fault: in fact you booked through another agency that told us you wanted to book that apartment, and that one we gave to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cefalu hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Höllviken
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed 2 wonderful weeks in Cefalu at Residence Santa Barbara. The location is very pleasant overlooking the ocean, the green hillsides and the majestic La Rocca! We had 3 (!) balconies and 2 bedrooms. The fridge and the oven was brand new and everything functioned great. There is a lovely pool and an outside kitchen with a washing mahine and 2 grills. Sergio at the rental service Cefalu.net was very professional and helpful and also spoke really good english. Stephano who managed the residence was also really helpful and a nice guy. He even helped us to find the best meat in Cefalu. We will for sure return as soon as we can and will then book directly at Cefalu.net.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedbergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
421 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I would rate these apartments as 2/3 star. Its a small property of only 6/8. There is no on site parking but there was plenty of street parking outside.The location is reasonable - about a 10 min walk to town although uphill on the return and it was good to have a pool albeit it a relatively small one with rather grubby sun loungers. The apartments also benefit from a balcony with plastic table and chairs and a sea view. However, the standard of furnishings within the apartment are basic and pretty old and the second bedroom is tiny with a set of bunk beds so only really suitable for a couple with kids, not two couples travelling together. If the apartments were refurbished they could be very nice. We felt the cost was high for the standard provided.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine101Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

We stayed there few nights in June. It was a nice place though we didn't have a car and had to walk to the village everyday. The trip did take only 10min or less so it was no problem. It was great to have a pool and a sea/mountain view from the balcony.
The near-by grocery store had an amazing staff!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laaksola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Gaia Hotel
Villa Gaia Hotel
#13 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#6 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Al Pescatore
Hotel Al Pescatore
#31 of 35 in Cefalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Villa Palamara 1868
Villa Palamara 1868
#10 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kalura
Hotel Kalura
#7 of 35 in Cefalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara

Property: Santa Barbara
Address: C/da Santa Barbara Via B 6 no 4, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Cefalu
Hotel Class:1 star — Santa Barbara 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing