We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok - but nothing more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Cefalu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
1 review
“Ok - but nothing more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

I booked into a suite at the Paradiso for the start of our honeymoon. The hotel was ok, but nothing more. The service was poor - I thought someone might congratulate us, but fine discretion is also a virtue. There was no one to carry the bags to the room but what i took offence to was being asked to return our dirty towels to reception at the end of the stay. What is more, the staff would not accept the criticism when i suggested it was not appropriate for a hotel of this rating (and price) to expect guests to return the towesl . For the occassion i had booked a more pricey, up market room with jacuzi. The jacuzi was a bath with additional jets, not a full Jacuzzi as such. I would have expected a shower as well but there was only the bath/jacuzzi option. So what was special about the suite? I am not sure. The bed was big, comfortable, but the balcony was pokey, shady and not at all attractive to sit in. WIth a little bit of effort, the hotel could be made very welcoming - a real shame but nothing that can'e be resolved by the staff themselves.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    240
    65
    22
    8
See reviews for
129
397
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

Stayed here in late may/early June of this year. Hmmm, booked this place based on the rave reviews on this site. Don’t understand what all the fuss is about. Was really unimpressed. Even though only a four star, for the price we paid we were really disappointed. We paid half the price in other popular places in Sicily and got something a thousand times better than this place. It is not worth the price at all. Rooms are clean but very basic. There are two fluffy towels in the bathroom and the rest are those towels that resemble bed sheets. No bathroom products- shampoo, conditioner, anything- just a pump pack of bath gel and a shower cap. Sky TV only had two English channels- both news. Service around the hotel is very poor- stood at the bar a few times during the day as we were after a drink for by the pool- but no one ever came. Breakfast was terrible- we are late risers on holidays so would always get there with only 45 minutes left of breakfast and there would never be anything left. Line at the automatic juicer was always a mile long so you wouldn’t even bother. Coffee was terrible so you would order an espresso or cappuccino and it never came, but there always seemed to be a whole attack of waiters standing around talking to each other. Ate at the restaurant one night and it was terribly expensive for what we got. Only went because we were tired that night and town is so far away- a good 1/2 hour walk and the way back is up a hill. If it had have been half the price it would have been ok and I would have been happy- but at that price, very disappointing

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmate03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleen
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

Having stayed in many 4 star hotels in the island this was the worst. The shower you had a struggle to get in and out of and leaked. The restaraunt was very expensive and the food on the menu was not explained. We dined in the town at La Brace which I can recomend and was considerably cheaper than the hotel. The breakfast was fine. The staff were in the main helpful. We walked to the town in the begining and then took the car about half way down to the town we found plenty of free parking.

The pool did not seem to have any service and was in a state of disrepair some tiles were comming up from the ground and were quite dangerous. Cefalu is very nice and provides a good train link to Palermo. Monreale is worth a visit the cathedral is stunning and although a little way off Erice is also worth visiting.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterKleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

We stayed here a week ago and found it charming. Breakfast was amazing and delicious. The room was basic but comfortable with a nice balcony. No hair conditioner which is odd for such a nice hotel. The air-conditioning system leaves a lot to be desired...we were HOT. Anyway, they have great parking and a convenient shuttle to downtown and their own private beach which was awesome! Chairs and umbrella with towels provided. Sandy beach was much better than the pebbles in taormina. The pool was nice and they have a pet swan. The gym was basic but useful. I wish we had used the spa but only stayed one night...we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachdo2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

We were robbed of several hundred dollars worth of ceramics that we had brought with us from another town. Afterward it became apparent that small pieces were taken one by one so we wouldn't notice. I contacted the hotel for a response and an explanation, but received no reply. I find this completely unacceptable.

That said, certain aspects of the hotel are lovely. Breakfast consists of a great spread in a beautiful terrace environment. The pool is lovely, although no one controls the very noisy children that were there too much! Nothing like trying to relax with a couple of screamers splashing around in the pool.

We ate in the restaurant a few times. Extremely expensive and not worth it. The food was not as good as the local restaurants that charged much less. The terrace is beautiful though. A lovely environment to sit and relax.

The room was average. Although we applaud the hotel's efforts at energy savings, our room was hot and uncomfortable and we could not control the AC. Plus, you had to keep the balcony doors closed to use the AC. Claustrophobic and not fun. No ventilation in the bathroom either. Yuk. Strangely, although the room was uncomfortable, the lobby and surrounding areas are very well air-conditioned.

The hotel is too far from town and the beach when it's really hot and sunny. We walked a few times and it was horrible. There is a shuttle, but you're captive to the hotel's schedule, which includes a shuttle break for siesta.

All told, I wouldn't recommend it. There's nothing really special in Cefalu aside from the Duomo. If you decide to stay at the Paradiso, watch out for your belongings.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank blewin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucestershire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

We stayed in this hotel for a week and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food, although quite expensive was worth the money.
Located outside the centre, the hotel operates a shuttle bus which takes you to the centre or the hotel's beach which we used daily. The only draw back is that the last pick up from the centre is at 9.10pm, after which you can trek up the hill or take a taxi costing 10 euros.

The pool never got crowded, the most people we saw amounted to about 10 so was a really nice place to relax.

Breakfast was great - large choice of fruit, juices,yogurts, breads, cheese and meats, scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon, croissants, pastries, fruit tarts, etc etc.

The only negatives were the very firm beds, and the noise from passing guests in the hotel's corridors.

We all would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kspry71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L.A., CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

Easy to find on a hill overlooking coastline. Unassuming facade with hip interior. Great pool area, nice rooms and dining areas.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murano56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cefalu Sea Palace
Cefalu Sea Palace
#1 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kalura
Hotel Kalura
#7 of 35 in Cefalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bluebay Cefalu
Bluebay Cefalu
#6 of 35 in Cefalu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#5 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astro Suite Hotel
Astro Suite Hotel
#3 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso

Property: Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
Address: Via Dei Mulini 18/20, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cefalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Cefalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
#4 Family Hotel in Cefalu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cefalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alberi Del Paradiso is an ancient manor house, surrounded by lush gardens with large swimming pool. It offers a free shuttle to its private beach and the historic centre of Cefalù.Offering free Wi-Fi and air conditioning, all rooms feature decorated tiled floors and classic wooden furniture. Some rooms overlook the gardens, and the rooms on the higher floors offer views of the sea.The property includes a wellness area with sauna and massage rooms. You can work out at the fitness centre or enjoy a game of tennis on the courts.The restaurant at Alberi Del Paradiso serves local Sicilian specialities, including Slow Food products for breakfast. During spring and summer meals are served in the garden.This elegant hotel is located on a hilltop overlooking the town and the sea, a 20-minute walk from the centre. The free parking is sheltered by solar panels. The shuttle runs frequently, times vary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alberi Del Paradiso Cefalu
Alberi Del Paradiso Hotel
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing