We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Osterio Magno is the perfect apartment to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
The old oval windows: shining during the day!
One of the two bedrooms: 2 single beds that could be joined for another double bedroom!
One of the two bedrooms: 2 single beds that could be joined for another double bedroom!
One of the two bedrooms: 2 single beds that could be joined for another double bedroom!
The new kitchen with a professional 5 fires gas and the big oven 90 cm!
The new kitchen with a professional 5 fires gas and the big oven 90 cm!
One of the two bathrooms, booth with shower.
One of the two bathrooms, booth with shower.
Via Caracciolo: nice street, very old, sometimes adorned with tipycal Sicilian flowers
Via Caracciolo by the night. charming and reach of atmosphere!
The charming Arabic-Norman Cathedral of Cefalu',.an icon of all the books of art
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cefalu, Province of Palermo, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jgiombet
Mechanicville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Osterio Magno is the perfect apartment to experience historic Cefalu.”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in February 2017

There is no question; Ostrio Magno is the the perfect apartment in the center of the old city of Cefalu and Dario Livechi is an exceptional host. He was always available by phone and helped us personally with any questions or problems. He, very kindly, brought us oranges from the family farm and welcomed us with a bottle of wine. The apartment is very clean and nicely furnished with a spacious, well equipped kitchen which we used often during our 3 week stay because we love to cook and the produce, fish and meats are so fresh there.
Cefalu is a lively city even in February. We were there for Mardi Gras and for a week, each afternoon and evening the main street just outside our door was busy. It was filled with families, friends and children, many in costume, walking, talking and enjoying being together. Each morning the street was covered in confetti which the children had tossed at family and friends during passagiata the evening before. One evening a small band paraded through the streets and played a short concert at Piazza Duomo. [Do not miss the Duomo and the mosaics.] We felt safe and comfortable among these warm, happy people in this historic seaside city. The beach is long, with white sand and looked perfect for warmer days than we experienced in February. Climbing the Rocca was fun and had wonderful views of the countryside and the city.
Shops of every variety, food markets, bread and pastry shops were just outside our door. Cafes and restaurants were everywhere. Dario suggested La Brace restaurant and it is fantastic: a small Mom and son run establishment where you are truly treated like family. We ate there often.
We highly recommend a stay in Cefalu because it is a bit off the beaten tourist track and we believe it is where you will get a large helping if Sicilian life. Osteria Magno is definitely the place to stay to experience Cefalu and the surrounding areas and Dario is definitely the person who will help to make it happen for you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2017
Robert and Joan, thank you so much for your lovely review - it was great to host you in my apartment and I would love to meet you in future.
I remember the evening we spent together with a great pleasure and I thank you again for the invitation.
All the best for you and your family and big hugs from Sicily.
Dario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lita R
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a beautiful apartment in the center of Cefalu”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in April 2016

My 3 sisters and my Mom arrived in this beautiful apartment with cobblestone steps in the center of town and were greeted by Dario and his welcoming gift of wine. The apartment is spacious, warm, inviting, with a kitchen equipped with every thing you'd need if you wanted to stay in and cook. We all had plenty of space to spread out and relax, super comfortable beds, great bathrooms with good showers. It was also immaculate. Staying here was a highlight of our trip to Cefalu. It was perfect. I plan on returning. Thank you again, Dario for all your help and making us so welcome.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, good facilities”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This apartment is spacious, well equipped, and right in the heart of the historic old strip. If you have a car, be careful about arrival and departure time, you may end up having to walk your luggage a long way from where you park. There are times when even the owner can't drive in. Also note that you can find yourself in VERY narrow streets and tight corners in that area.
Dario is a great host, very accommodating and responsive.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juzjax
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location with space and charm”
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This is a perfect location for a stay of a few days or longer in Cefalu. You are staying right on/over the old historical street where there are shops enough to keep one occupied for a few hours at least.
The apartment is very clean and the kitchen well fitted out. The owner has expanded somewhat and there are two dining tables in different areas which is a nice idea if there are 4 people staying here. Since it was just my husband and I we had more than enough room.

Access to the washing machine is across the hall which is still convenient but it is shared with a tenant upstairs.
There is some street noise into the wee hours of the morning which you might expect. The shuttered windows helped screen this out a bit.
Access to this street is quite restricted being a pedestrian mall most of the time with access only for residents cars during the day. This does not include guests renting this apartment. You are in for a long haul with luggage of at least 750 meters if you arrive after 4 pm. Our host, Dario kindly helped us find free parking. This was at the railway station but a good walk (750m) away so you don't want to be using your car here!
Hot water is somewhat of a problem. The hot water turned full on in the shower was not hot enough for a decent shower. Likewise turned full on in the kitchen was not adequate for washing the dishes the way I am used to. I'm wondering if there was some kind of limiter on the hot water unit that did not permit further heating of the water. Whatever the reason it was annoying especially when the weather in November is so chilly here.
The mattress is very, very firm and my husband and I both had a poor night's sleep the first night. Our kind host brought us another softer mattress we could put on top of the firm one.....though smaller in size.
This apartment is tastefully decorated which we appreciated. We have stayed at a number of holiday rentals in Italy which have clearly been the place unwanted and ugly ornaments of all kinds have found their final resting place....kitsh to say the least. Not so here.....it is tasteful with an eye to keeping the style the same throughout. To give a name to it I would say 'modern provincial'.
I can recommend this as a good place to stay on vacation. As is usual there are always a few things that irk one about accommodation away from home. Different strokes for different folks really!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and location
Liked least: Water was not hot enough, mattress was very uncomfortable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes J
2 reviews
“Wonderful apartment, charming and rich of character!”
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Dario is a fabulous host. We called him as we were coming in to Cefalu for directions as we agreed to. He said to look for him at a certain gas station and he was there as promised. We followed him on his motorcycle and he found us free parking 5 minutes walk from the apartment that is very central, on Corso Ruggero, in the main old street in the ancient part of town. Nice balcony right over the Corso. Great for people watching. He had written instructions for the Internet, suggestions for restaurants and a map of the city. He has a warm and vibrant personality. He responded to all our questions very quickly. The apartment itself was terrific, spotless and tastefully decorated. It is very large and could quite easily accommodate at least 6 adults. It had everything you could need for your visit, large 2 bedroom, 2 bath with a big shower. Great kitchen is well equipped. 2 dining areas. Eclectic and artsy furnishings. Dario showed us all around the apt and even the separate private laundry room across the hall. Good WiFi. 50 feet from an alimentari. 200 feet from the duomo. Heart of everything. 3 minute walk to the start of the trail up La Rocca. The location is right in the center of the shopping district and within a short walk to the beach which was very clean. We were there at the end of the season but I imagine the beach would be quite lively during the busy tourist season. We enjoyed the quiet. We had a car but chose to use the train for a trip to Palermo. The station is a short walk and the trip is only about 50 minutes; very convenient. We would highly recommend this apartment and this host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing'
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBorriell...
staten island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing time in Cefalu”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Dario was the best.....Spend 4 nights, The apartment was amazing the view from the balcony was like you step back in time. You are right in the middle of everything the piazza, the beach, perfect location. At night a lot of the tourists leave the town thats when Cefalu is at it best, beautiful and romantic , all the locals walk around, unbelieveable can't wait to go back still dreaming of Cefalu
Dario treated us like family we were original a party of 4 at the last minute decided to take my niece , Dario told me no problem, the apartment had everything we need. All the restaurants were reasonable and very good found a great restaurant call Man and Pasta I highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nayabr
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“clean spacious well located town centre appartment”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a very comfortable clean spacious 2 bedroom 2 showeroom appartment with a double bed setee in the living area. There is a dining room and a well equiped kitchen. The narrow balcony overlooks the,main shopping area in Cefalu so isgreat for people watching. This is a great central location and due to this can be noisy in the late evenings. It was lovely to find a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival and Darius the owner was very pleasant and helpful. There was also a washing machine and iron a mustforme when travelling with teenage daughters.We really enjoyed our stay in Cefalu.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing