We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Giara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Giara
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Cefalu
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

i stayed here in late June 2014. The room was large by European standards, but the bathroom was small. The hotel is conveniently located, just a short walk to the beach. There is no breakfast available at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    58
    40
    19
    10
See reviews for
23
56
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

All in all this is a great hotel for Cefalu. We arrived by car, and as advertised, the had private secure parking down the street in their secured garage. The caveat is that you are located in the very heart of the old town of cefalu, so the staff has to valet the car for you and once you get it, you have to navigate the the ultra narrow streets crowded with people, not something for the inexperienced driver or faint at heart. If you want fresh air in the room and leave the windows open, you will have steet noise all day and night. If you close the windows it quiets down considerably, but thankfully they have a/c. The staff was very helpful and very friendly. The wifi was free and worked well most of the time. The hotel has a small elevator that will take you to the upper floors (two people two suitcases at a time, tops). The hotel itself is on the older side as are the rooms, but it is well kept and clean. We were in Cefalu for a little over a week. Next time we would stay on the periphery of the old town if the stay was as long (only because of the driving logistics), but for a shorter visit it is perfect. As mentioned it is in the heart of Cefalu close to everything and literally down a lane to the beach.

Room Tip: If you visit Sicily in general, try, try, try to learn a little Sicilian, even key words/phrases. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcps7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed only one night. Room was ok and clean. AC was working.

Parking in the garage was 12€ which is ok i guess since it is hard to find parking close to the hotel.

Overall the staff is nice but nothing extra. If We were to visit this town again I would choose another hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nils H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cefalu hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here in Feb. and were satisfied. It is an older hotel but clean with a great location in the "old town". Everything, including the beach, was just a short walk. Wonderful restaurants were just around the corner. The rooms were basic and the bathroom small but adequate. The wifi was spotty, however. Nice views on the rooftop terrace. Staff was friendly and helpful. No restaurant in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedJacket40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I would have given a 3 rating but when I politely asked to borrow a knife to cut open a canteloupe to take to the rooftop happy hour I was rudely screamed "NO" at. I've travelled many, places and most often the hotels go out of their way to help you...but not this place. In addition, I rarely complain about something but this woman was over the top rude. I would not recommend. The rooms are adequate and clean but their attitude sucks and there are no amenities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaboQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis,mo
Level Contributor
171 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights. Rooms are ok, not great. There is no breakfast room. You need to walk two blocks which is a real problem when it is raining. In spite of it's central location I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jklein50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
499 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel is in a convenient part of the old town with easy access to all sights. We stayed in room 201, which was a twin room with two small beds. There was a small balcony to the entrance road. We had a decent sized bathroom with a small shower. The people at the hotel were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#24 of 35 in Cefalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#12 of 35 in Cefalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Plumeria Hotel
La Plumeria Hotel
#8 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Al Pescatore
Hotel Al Pescatore
#31 of 35 in Cefalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Gaia Hotel
Villa Gaia Hotel
#14 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Lucia e le Sabbie d'Oro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Giara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Giara

Property: Hotel La Giara
Address: Via Veterani 40, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Giara 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historical centre of Cefalù, a few metres from the beach, offers all facilities for an unforgettable holiday.Hotel rooms are equipped with private bath, hair-dryer, TV Sat, frigo, telephone, heating, air conditioning, free Wi-fi Internet access. Hotel composed of 24 rooms, is equipped with a lift and accessible to the disabled.Both small and well-mannered pets are welcome.From the hotel terrace you can enjoy an enchanting view. Here you can sunbathe in a relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Giara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ristorante La Giara Cefalu
Hotel La Giara Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing