We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like in the Maldives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Calanica Residence Hotel
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Cefalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2008

We've spent only 2 nights in this beautiful "hotel". There are more than 30 villas in the hillside - we loved that it's not a hotel, but every family has its own building to stay. It reminded us to our stay in the Maldives :)
We got a map at the check in, marked with our villa on it. Our luggages were transferred by a moped after some minutes to our villa. You cannot go inside the resort with car - there is free parking at the reception.
There is a restaurant where the buffet breakfast is served (you can eat here lunch and dinner too for a fix price). The breakfast had wide selection of foods(salami, cheese, eggs, corn-flakes, jam, fruits) - that is not typical in Sicily.
There is a small terrace belongs to every bungalow with deck-chairs and there is a beach on the seaside too. The beach is stony so you can see fishes in the water while snorkeling.
The resort is only 30 minutes walk from Cefalu center - start your way back on the road where you came with the car and don't cross the train but go straight forward. After some minutes you'll see Cefalu.
We enjoyed our stay and it's sad it was only 2 days.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pelike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2007

We stumbled upon Calanica by pure accident, as we drove around Cefalu, desperately trying to find accomodations on-the-fly when the place we originally booked for two weeks in Sicily turned out to not be acceptable to us. We followed a sign with a picture of a bed on it down a narrow one-lane (yet two-way!) road, and inquired at the front desk. What followed was two weeks of relaxation, sweeping sea views, enjoyable outdoor meals overlooking the Mediterranean, and fun in the sun at the pool and down by the sea.

Calanica is not a hotel, yet not really a resort per se. It consists of 26 bungalows on a hillside overlooking the Mediterranean. It is a 30-minute walk (5 minute drive) from Cefalu, which means it is very quiet. Each bungalow has a small bedroom, a kitchen area (though the stove has been disabled, so only the small refrigerator and sink can be used), and a small shower-only bathroom. It is not luxurious, but it was perfectly fine and everything was in working order. The A/C never let us down during a heatwave with record highs of 46 C. Daily maid service is provided.

Calanica has a restaurant serving three meals daily -- we choose to do half-board and though the food isn't gourmet, the views were incredibly beautiful, the wait staff was excellent, and there was always a wide variety of salads/antipasti, etc. to choose from as a prelude to your meal. I managed despite being a reasonably strict vegetarian. I always looked forward to the day's selection of salads, as they were ever-changing.

Each bungalow has its own deck (with varying views of the sea -- ours was mostly unobstructed, some have another bungalow and/or trees partially blocking their view. We think #19 probably has the best combination of view and deck size. We stayed in #13 and it was perfectly fine). A word of caution however: there is a train line abutting the property. Some bungalows near the top of the hill are literally a few feet from the train. We were one level down and did not find the noise to be a problem. Generally speaking, the train is very quiet. When booking, you might want to ensure that your bungalow isn't too close to the train line).

Calanica has a small beach area -- there is a wooden platform with deck chairs (no cushions, however) and a small rocky beach area (with a small spit of smooth sand when the sea is calm). It's quite private and when the sea is calm it is fabulous for swimming. After seeing the crowded beaches in town, I grew more attached to our "little spit of sand," as I called it.

There is also a large pool area, with changing facilities and toilets. We found it to be very well maintained.

The only problem with the beach area and pool was that on Sunday these areas were sometimes overrun by people from a small vacation home village that seemed to be pseudo-affiliated with Calanica. Sometimes these guests were a bit loud and rowdy.

The guests at Calanica tended to be middle-aged Germans and other Europeans. There were some younger couples, some Italians, and by and large everyone was very quiet.

The front desk staff was extremely kind and helpful. They were invaluable in rescuing my suitcase which was lost by the airline. And they always had smiles on their faces.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Calanica and hope to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank okigirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: У нас был 33 ий номер, думаю, отлично, но видела и подальше. Про завтраки уточняйте детали заранее
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Southgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank françoise et lo... k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Giulia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Roberta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
2.1 mi away
Le Calette Garden & Bay
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
1.3 mi away
Hotel Baia del Capitano
Hotel Baia del Capitano
#13 of 36 in Cefalu
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cefalu Sea Palace
Cefalu Sea Palace
#4 of 36 in Cefalu
756 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bluebay Cefalu
Bluebay Cefalu
#3 of 36 in Cefalu
112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Astro Suite Hotel
Astro Suite Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cefalu
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calanica Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calanica Residence Hotel

Address: C/da Vallone di Falco, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cefalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
#6 Family Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range: £105 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calanica Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Calanica Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calanica Residence Hotel Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing