We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely relaxing town and comfortable accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Casa Nonno, Sant Ambrogio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Nonno, Sant Ambrogio
Casa Nonno's charming stone exterior, quiet cobbled street. Sea views beyond. Casa Nonno. Sea views beyond.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Casa Nonno, Sant Ambrogio
Casa Nonno's charming stone exterior, quiet cobbled street. Sea views beyond.
Casa Nonno. Sea views beyond.
Spacious double bedroom with en suite facilities
Double bedroom
Kitchen/Living Room
Living Room
Main Bathroom with shower
En suite bathroom with shower
Dining area in kitchen
Kitchen facilities
Sea views
Duomo - Cefalu
Cefalu's historic town and glorious sandy beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cefalu, Province of Palermo, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Brian S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing town and comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Casa Nonno is a new unit with all that you need, except TV and Wifi. The little town of San Ambroggio is very quiet and relaxing and you get to experience living in a small community of 250 people. The views from the town are magnificent and you are only 15 mins from touristy Cefalu. The little restaurants in the town are welcoming and provide good local food and Saro makes great coffee at his bar on the "belvedere" as well as providing wifi.
Had a swim at the local beach which is difficult to access but worth it.
We needed to get assistance from people in the town to locate the unit and gain access as the contact person listed on Trip Advisor is in the UK and the phone number of the local contact was not provided. Met the owner who said this would be rectified.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
To the owners, the unit could use a kettle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet friendly community
Liked least: Difficulty in accessing the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2015
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to Sicily and Casa Nonno.
All of our guests are provided with full arrival instructions via email prior to their arrival. This information includes the contact details of our local property manager who is advised of your expected arrival time and escorts all guests directly to the property.

We’ll look into the kettle. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonybonza
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Get away from it all”
Reviewed 11 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I had always wanted to visit Sicily and after a hectic 8 weeks in our catering business a window of opportunity arose. We had a 5 day window so booked Casa Nonno to get away from it all. It's in a secluded little village in Sant Ambrogio, about 15 minutes from Cefalu. Car hire isn't necessarily a must because there is a bus service to the busy neighbouring town. There's a couple of local restaurants which were very welcoming and on the three days we spent in Cefalu we were simply spoilt for choice. The local beach is a bit rocky but about 7km away is the lovely beach at Cefalu. Our accommodation was beautifully appointed and beautifully maintained, everything was as we would have wanted it. Sadly we were only there for four nights but to really enjoy this place I think we'll return for at least a week !!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turtles98
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place, amazing food, amazing people”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife, of Italian extraction, and I recently took a trip to Sicily. We choose to stay in the lovely quaint village of Sant Ambrogio and found our lodging at Casa Nonno fantastic.

Upon arrival, the caretaker Giuseppe made us feel incredibly welcome and showed us around the village. We had a cappuccino at Saro's bar which had a lovely view of the sea and Cefalu rock. Personally, we found the view of Cefalu from afar a bit better than being there. Though it is a short drive away, with a lovely beach, we felt that the pizzeria and restaurants in Sant Ambrogio more authentic and less touristy. Plus, the peacefulness of walking through the village's narrow streets with my wife on our way to our lovely accommodation was unbelievably romantic.

The house itself was in the most well kept condition with all the essentials, made more complete with air conditioning. Sant Ambrogio was a great place to stay and a great location to go on day trips. Cannot thank Giuseppe enough, for making us feel home in the village.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart170...
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Peaceful stay in idyllic village”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We choose San Ambrogio because we have had a busy year and wanted somewhere quiet and idilic away from the hustle and bustle of Cefalu which we had visited a couple of years ago.

San Ambrogio is a quaint and very quiet village, ten minutes from Cefalu, but more about that later.

The population of San Ambrogio is about 300 and Casa Nonno is a beautiful one bedroom on suite stone cottege, which has a upstairs sofa bed with a second shower-bathroom The house has all the mod cons. fully fitted kitchen, air conditioning throughout which includes a washing machine. The owners have spent time giving this house a modern feel without taking away any of the character from the outside terrace.

On our arrival we were told to go to Saro's bar where we met with Giuseppe, our caretaker, who showed us our house,two minutes from the bar. The externally seating at Saro's has spectacular views of the bay.

We had continental breakfast each morning at Saro's, which was a sight to behold.

Once we got our bearing we ate in the couple of restaurants in the village, one is a pizzeria and the other restaurant which has all local dishes is excellent and inexpensive.

We found Casa Nonno a good base to explore the area and go out for day trips the Madonie National Park, a thirty minute drive.

Cefalu is a beautiful bustling town with loads of nice restaurants, bars. During the day, the traffic and especially the parking can be a bit daunting, so we used to take a bus into the town.

While there is a beach below San Ambrogio which overlooks our cliff side village, we went a couple of times to the beach in Cefalu.

At the end of our stay, we were relaxed and felt we would return to Casa Nonno and the beautiful area of San Ambrogio.

Our thanks to Giuseppe,our caretaker, Saro's and the people of this lovely village.

We will return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea r
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: La maleducazione di parte del vicinato
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing