We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional and charming”

Trattoria del Vapore
Ranked #19 of 54 Restaurants in Cernobbio
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Traditional and charming”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Famous restaurant in Cernobbio walking distance from Villa d'Este. In summer you can also eat out side but no special view at all. In winter is cozy. Service is ok , food much better. Lake fish is recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaudioLaax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    153
    61
    42
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“decent pasta at Cernobbio”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I visited Trattoria del Vapore during a warm day in May 2014 and therefore sat outside at the yard, at the back of the restaurant, for lunch. As a starter I got Porcini mushroom salad with parmesan cheese and arugula, as a main: pasta with tomato and fresh basil and as a dessert melon carved mixed with white wine Port. The food itself was good but not something special. Considering the latter, the price of the starter and main was a little bit too high to my opinion. Sitting outside was also nice but unfortunatelly no lake view was possible. The personnel were not unfriendly but not warm enough either. I believe that if back in Cernobbio I could go back to this restaurant since the food was decent but only if I did not have any other choice at the time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marnes81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Nice Food!!!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Staying at the Villa D'Este they recommend the restaurant to us and we found the food to be fresh, tradition and tasty.

The restaurant is small in size but a great atmosphere.

Service is good.

We would differently go back.

5 min walk from the hotel was also a bonus!!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaisyO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“20 years of great food”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have been going here for 20 years and the food is delicious. Service us great also. Top two in Cernobbio.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Whereisthegoodf... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location nice place”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The restaurant is in good location in a nice city.
The restaurant is nice decorator
The service is good
The food is good but not special.
I like the menu of the wine
.the toaliet are clean.
Its was nice lunch with nice peaple.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rinag744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria del Vapore also viewed

 
Cernobbio, Lake Como
 
Cernobbio, Lake Como
Cernobbio, Lake Como
 

Been to Trattoria del Vapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing