We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ITALIAN STYLE”
Review of Holmes Lido HP - CLOSED

Holmes Lido HP
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Reservations
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“ITALIAN STYLE”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Very good food in a beautiful location on the banks of Lake Como at Cernobbio.
Excellent, friendly service and lots of fun!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank muscateer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    10
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Such a great location, but.........”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The waiter had had a long busy day and was not shy about letting us know this when our party of four enquired if we could dine one evening. For such a top location, over looking Lake Como, the food and service were less than satisfying. The pasta meals looked and tasted like supermarket frozen take home and microwave dishes. The pizza faired slightly better.
The evening was bought to a close when we visited the poor parrot which has apparently graced the establishment for many years. It sits in a tiny cage near the toilets, a cage which would not allow the poor bird to stretch it's wings, it could hardly move! It was very upsetting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IMVO19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“the worst experience we had”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We went for lunch to this restaurant which is well located in front of Come Lake thniking we would have a nice, simple meal. As soon as we sat at a table on the terrace, the owner came to tell our two (quiet) children to be careful with the tablecloth...quite surprising as a welcome word. Then we ordered water, and the waiter insisted on the fact we could order juices or sodas for the kids. We took pastas, and the food was really horrible (especially the lasagne and the pastas with cream and ham): we could not even heat half of it. We told the waiter that it was really bad and he did not seem to care...but what can he do? In brief, both service anf food are horrible. the worstexperience in a restaurant we ever had!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Food good service poor”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We chose the restaurant because of its beautiful location on the water for a light lunch. From the start the waiter was rude. He clearly wanted us to chose one of the specials of the day and when two of us chose pizza he was dismissive and incredibly rude. Although the two pasta dishes and the pizza were fine they were spoiled by not being served together and continually having to ask for water, bread etc.
Would not go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LouLou22297701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Went here for lunch today and ended up leaving before we had ordered. Waiter was rude obviously not happy that we only wanted pizzas (so why do they offer them?) and told us we couldn't have side salads as they only came with main courses and we hadn't ordered any! Will not go back. Plenty of other great places to eat nearby so don't waste your money. Bar Onda opposite served us great pizzas and salads with a smile.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holmes Lido HP also viewed

 
Cernobbio, Lake Como
 
Cernobbio, Lake Como
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing