We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing to say the least”
Review of Hotel San Giuseppe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Giuseppe
Ranked #3 of 12 Cernobbio B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is a strange place... the rooms above the restaurant don't appear to have been decorated for a while... the bathroom was in an unacceptable condition. The man on reception was friendly and helpful, which was the only positive comment I am able to make.

The breakfast was so bad that I left without it. It was the cheapest room I could find last minute as I was there for business. It was ok but only because of that. i most definitely wouldn't have stayed for pleasure..sorry...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

This was a cute little place we stayed at for one night while driving through northern Italy. We had a room on the top floor that opened out onto a rooftop terrace, which was a nice surprise. The room itself is pretty tiny but the bathroom was spacious and the hotel offers a nice little restaurant and gated underground garage which were nice perks. I'm used to american hotels and this was the first european hotel I ever stayed at so for those americans reading this do realize Italian hotels are a lot different than American. After being in a few now, sparse rooms and hard beds seem to be par for the course. That said, it completely met our needs for the night and was a really close walk down to the lake and center of town. And the owner was FANTASTIC! We were originally supposed to stay elsewhere but our room had been damaged in a storm and this hotel gladly took us in. The hotel owner talked with us a lot and was very accommodating to us.

Room Tip: The top floor offers a private terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcf135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights with great pleasure. This hotel is a family business, which determines the attitude to guests and service in general. The terrace in our room was bigger than the room itself and had a great view on the town and surrounding hills (although shared with another room, but no problems with the neighbors). Clean and tidy rooms.
Great value for this money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barchenjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently, as we used to live in Como and wanted to spend a weekend back in our favourite area. This hotel works hard to get customers via the internet but the experience could not be further from reality. Overpriced, poor quality, arrogant service and appalling rooms for the money - one small sachet of shower gel for 2 days. These guys need to get real with what is out there. 85 Euros a night in a grim room and the only offer of an inclusive breakfast consisted of hot water.. We love Cernobbio and the area. Give this place a miss please...

Room Tip: Avoid and find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris_globetrotter60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We lived until recently in Italy for 3 years and have travelled extensively throughout both Italy and Europe, as independent travellers. This hotel was the worst experience we've had in all respects. Cold, non existant service, no atmosphere (contrary to what we love about Italy) and appalling 'value for money'. It is the most we have paid for a mid level hotel in Italy (as well as other countries in Europe), and for this we didn't get breakfast ... or even a coffee. The bedroom was dark, the towels frayed and old, and not even a glass for a drink of water but 'throw-away' plastic cups. The shower was a pipe at one end of the bathroom.

Cernobbio is a beautiful place and a favourite for us when we lived in Como; so we know the area very well and would recommend the village to anyone. This hotel was a major disappointment for our trip - it's lucky we know a great osteria and some friendly local bars in Cernobbio otherwise we would have had a ruined weekend. If you want to experience 'Real Italy' - passionate service and great value, choose another hotel for your visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBH1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Extreanly freindly staff, personal service, well price rooms, clean, functional and also very cosy. All you need is available.

Stayed 1 night with a family of 4 and we where all pleased with out stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

The hotel is owned by a nice Italian family who has also a restaurant downstairs. the room was very big and the shower was big too. both were very clean. the staff was very nice and helpful and had some good recommendations, although only 2 of them spoke english. The restaurant was also very good, we had 2 dinners. Breakfast however was very basic - just croassaint, bread, butter and jam. overall we enjoyed our stay and the price was very good too.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adishar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cernobbio hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#2 of 7 in Cernobbio
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta
0.4 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Giardino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miralago
Hotel Miralago
#4 of 7 in Cernobbio
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andrea's Rooms
Andrea's Rooms
#6 of 12 in Cernobbio
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Santo Stefano
Casa Santo Stefano
#1 of 12 in Cernobbio
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Giuseppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giuseppe

Address: Via Cinque Giornate 31, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cernobbio
Price Range: £83 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Giuseppe 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Giuseppe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Giuseppe Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing