We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo San Giuseppe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albergo San Giuseppe
Ranked #4 of 12 Cernobbio B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

The Albergo San Giuseppe is a charming family run hotel. Our rooms were large, clean and even had small private balconies. Mauritzio and his family made us feel so welcome. I would highly recommend this hotel to any one traveling in the lake como region. My only regret is that we had only one night there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dpen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    32
    9
    7
    10
See reviews for
23
34
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This hotel is not the most luxurious one around, but it's an honest price. It's an ideal hotel to sleep and to have breakfast, nothing more nothing less. There's a parking, which is nice, the staff is ok and it's perfectly situated if you want to go to visit the lakeside, take a boattrip or even take the boat to Como, from where you can travel to Milan. So do not expect too much, but it's a bit more than average.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicohilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is a strange place... the rooms above the restaurant don't appear to have been decorated for a while... the bathroom was in an unacceptable condition. The man on reception was friendly and helpful, which was the only positive comment I am able to make.

The breakfast was so bad that I left without it. It was the cheapest room I could find last minute as I was there for business. It was ok but only because of that. i most definitely wouldn't have stayed for pleasure..sorry...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cernobbio hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

This was a cute little place we stayed at for one night while driving through northern Italy. We had a room on the top floor that opened out onto a rooftop terrace, which was a nice surprise. The room itself is pretty tiny but the bathroom was spacious and the hotel offers a nice little restaurant and gated underground garage which were nice perks. I'm used to american hotels and this was the first european hotel I ever stayed at so for those americans reading this do realize Italian hotels are a lot different than American. After being in a few now, sparse rooms and hard beds seem to be par for the course. That said, it completely met our needs for the night and was a really close walk down to the lake and center of town. And the owner was FANTASTIC! We were originally supposed to stay elsewhere but our room had been damaged in a storm and this hotel gladly took us in. The hotel owner talked with us a lot and was very accommodating to us.

Room Tip: The top floor offers a private terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcf135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights with great pleasure. This hotel is a family business, which determines the attitude to guests and service in general. The terrace in our room was bigger than the room itself and had a great view on the town and surrounding hills (although shared with another room, but no problems with the neighbors). Clean and tidy rooms.
Great value for this money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barchenjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently, as we used to live in Como and wanted to spend a weekend back in our favourite area. This hotel works hard to get customers via the internet but the experience could not be further from reality. Overpriced, poor quality, arrogant service and appalling rooms for the money - one small sachet of shower gel for 2 days. These guys need to get real with what is out there. 85 Euros a night in a grim room and the only offer of an inclusive breakfast consisted of hot water.. We love Cernobbio and the area. Give this place a miss please...

Room Tip: Avoid and find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris_globetrotter60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We lived until recently in Italy for 3 years and have travelled extensively throughout both Italy and Europe, as independent travellers. This hotel was the worst experience we've had in all respects. Cold, non existant service, no atmosphere (contrary to what we love about Italy) and appalling 'value for money'. It is the most we have paid for a mid level hotel in Italy (as well as other countries in Europe), and for this we didn't get breakfast ... or even a coffee. The bedroom was dark, the towels frayed and old, and not even a glass for a drink of water but 'throw-away' plastic cups. The shower was a pipe at one end of the bathroom.

Cernobbio is a beautiful place and a favourite for us when we lived in Como; so we know the area very well and would recommend the village to anyone. This hotel was a major disappointment for our trip - it's lucky we know a great osteria and some friendly local bars in Cernobbio otherwise we would have had a ruined weekend. If you want to experience 'Real Italy' - passionate service and great value, choose another hotel for your visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBH1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
0.5 mi away
Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Lake Como Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miralago
Hotel Miralago
#4 of 7 in Cernobbio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 33 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#3 of 7 in Cernobbio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Asnigo Hotel
Asnigo Hotel
#5 of 7 in Cernobbio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo San Giuseppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo San Giuseppe

Property: Albergo San Giuseppe
Address: Via Cinque Giornate 31, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo San Giuseppe 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Albergo San Giuseppe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Giuseppe Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing