We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a traditional classic- one of the greatest”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
worcestershire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This is a traditional classic- one of the greatest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

As part of a drive through Europe we saw this as a must to see the amazing setting on Lake Como and the beautiful buildings. We arrived for just one night tired after 10 hours driving on minor roads across the Austrian and Italian Alps. Very efficient staff unloaded the bags needed and whisked away my car. We had ordered a standard room (Euro 690 inc breakfast) but this was to a very high standard. My tie was buried in another bag with the car so could not use the main restaurant as a dress code applies and I was not prepared to find the car or borrow a tie; frankly why a tie is needed for an outside terrace restaurant beats me, but so be it. We dined in the bistro terrace and had a perfectly good dinner for Euro 146 including wine and had a few other drinks on the main terrace. This is a wonderful setting in a classic former palace. A delight to see.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    128
    56
    23
    12
See reviews for
215
593
27
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We spent 3 nights there with children who loved the kids club (only open in the summer), the gardens and the kids pool. Would recommend eating in the main restaurant for one night but there are plenty of good quality more sensibly priced retaurants in the town. Try IL GIARDINO on the main street for example. Extras in the hotel such as a coke or a sandwich are hideously expensive. Breakfast is amazing. Staff and service superb. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RT11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Everything previously said on here is correct and I found myself amazed when it happened to us too, empty restaurant, this table is reserved despite nobody sitting there all lunchtime, concierge recommending we go to the Grill restaurant rather than the best one Veranda (which didnt bother us as my husband did not take a jacket and a tie) and going to the pool at 9.30 when it opens to be told by staff those beds are reserved despite nobody sitting there all day. The pool is freezing and how they say it is heated I will never know. Had a tinned tuna salad for 30 euro at the swimming pool cafe and found a hair in it, my daughter ordered burger and chips and they forgot the burger and the chef dropped the pizza when taking it out of the oven so we had to wait whilst he made another. Not major issues but very worrying standards given what they charge here - 10 euros a coke. They do seem to favour particular people mainly Italians and do not make you feel special at all. Our first suite had no balcony so we insisted on moving as we had booked this, you really have to fight for everything, no tea or coffee provided in rooms but why would they when they charge 15 euros to bring you a cup, teabag and pot of hot water. All in all a complete rip off and even though it is a pretty area we found we enjoyed ourselves much more when away from the place, the locals in the village are very nice, friendly Italian people they seemed to care much much more than anybody at Villa D'Este.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MickeyBEssex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed here in July and the grounds are simply amazing! The rooms, very classical and spacious. The staff in general were very good. Had dinner at The Grill and was watching the Maitre d' Salvatore going from table to table looking after the guests, what a show! It is so hard to find great staff like that these days! We then adjourned to the bar for a few cocktails, there was a gentleman playing the piano and singing all sorts of old and modern classical songs, we have to add that he was indeed very entertaining! We will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

I was invited as a speaker for a conference and was astounded by the hotel and its surroundings even in the muggy November weather. The rooms are extremely spacious and beds comfortable. The service is excellent although getting your clothes ironed can set you back a fair bit (2 items cost me 45 euros for an express service). The food is very good; I thoroughly recommend the rolled veal lasagne. The breakfast is copious and you can even have a mimosa or antipasti if you fancy it.
The grounds and the cheese-wine shop across from the main gates are also well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theproo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

spent considerable time seeting up my 25th wedding anniversary trip . stayed at some awesome places; did the orient express, eurostar, venice, paris and london--but the biggest dissapointment was Villa D'Este. Sent over twenty emails selecting room ,dinner, balacony ( so i could smoke cigars; ,,having a special travelling humidor ) before arriving. ;car limo pickup at train station

when i arrived it was the tail end of an italian govt meeting; so we had to wait 2.5 hours to check in . then not balacony. and nothing / no one wanted to help .
dinner reservation at el gato nero not made. ... oh well i did it myself...
no balancony, well i sat outside to smoke. ...and recognition of my anniversary : ZERO
not a card a note; a chocolate or a flower, ...nothing.

i noticed the service was pretty good ---if one was a european. i am american my wife is asian american... and i can only conclude: these two type not welcome here

Room Tip: side w/ balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank laoban173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

This is a first class hotel in a magnificent setting.
The water and surrounding mountains create a beautiful, intimate isolation.
Service is first rate. Villa d'Este excels at creating that old world level of service found in only a handful of properties today.
This is a special place by any standard.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpsaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
12.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 33 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Property: Villa d'Este
Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing