We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping beauty”
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2011

One of the most impressive places to visit if traveling in Lake Como area. Just incredibly well maintained classic style palatial hotel really makes a difference.

Arrival to Villa d'Este was like entering into a dream. During the off-season it seemed that the beautiful garden and opulent hotel was in sleep. So quiet it was, but so beautiful also. Sleepy was not the word related to the service we received instantly after parking the car in front of the hotel main entrance. From that point onwards the staff treated us like special guests.

Amazing lobby with white chandeliers, room for your daily afternoon bridge game and the Veranda restaurant with stunning view through gigantic windows.

Room was really nice, quite spacious and well in line with the decorations in other spaces around the building. Top floor view to the lake was just incredibly beautiful. Room also had spacious and well equipped walk in closed as well as huge bathroom with jacuzzi.

Best thing in the hotel was the absolutely stunning surroundings. Lake Como view during this autumnal visit was very serene and calm. Garden surrounding the hotel was in excellent condition and we even witnessed that "The Chefs Garden" is in daily use by the kitchen staff. That's locally produced and healthy if you get the herbs and vegetables from your own garden. Amazing!

In this place you can feel like being a royal. So nice is the environment and service that surrounds you at all times when staying at Villa d'Este.

Room Tip: Ask a view to the lake. Top floor does it nicely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannuMikael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

737 - 743 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

Villa d'Este is a beautiful property in a wonderful location. We generally prefer a more modern style for our accommodations but had been told that it was *the* place to stay on Lake Como. We had a lake-facing corner suite in the main building and it was clean, spacious and opulently decorated as if from another century. The little balcony was a treat as you could watch all the people coming and going below around the restaurant and the gardens. The service was pretty good, and once we had built up a rapport with the concierge we found them to be quite nice and helpful (although they were keen to sell us on a private boat to Bellagio and I thought their restaurant recommendations were rather average). Not too surprisingly, we were among very few people under 55 at the hotel, which coloured the experience somewhat -- just something to bear in mind if you're younger. If you do go, take out the hotel's kayaks (free) and paddle across the lake to any one of the little restaurants on the opposite shore; for us this was the highlight of the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is such a beautiful and scenic spot, you can must spend the day on the grounds, walking the parklands, and along the waterfront. They have a marina stocked with different kinds of boats. If you ever wanted to have a Riva, here is your chance!!!!! Lunch on the terrace is a treat, and plan to sound aboutntwo hours enjoying the food and the atmosphere. probably the prettiest and most scenic tennis courts I have ever seen. Very expensive, but perfect for a little romantic getaway or a celebratory trip.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WIsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed for 2 nights on the autumn package. We were given an upgarde to a suite - bigger than our house! A fabulous bathroom and attentive service. Fresh fruit and flowers, complimentary water and chocolates. The breakfast has everything you can imagine - one just nedds a bigger appetite. Dinner in the Grill restaurant was not as special as the Veranda restaurant. For a special occassion I would reccomend Villa d'Este.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosietat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

This place is of course unique, but not flawless.Year after year it's becoming a tourist trap, mostly Americans, and has lost a lot of its Italian basics. The Veranda restaurant has no charm, specially indoor; it might be more romantic to eat outside on the lake, but in fall it' s too chilly. The bar has become 100% american with the piano bar plying the most famous US standards.
The service is of course excellent, the view close to heaven, and nothing is impossible for the concierge!
But all this is so expensive, that it is sometimes becoming embarrassing .

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fpny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Villa d'Este has always been on my 'bucket list' and I was absolutely thrilled by it. Luxurious, sophisticated, exclusive ... it was just amazing. The location was spectacular, service was beyond impeccable and the food was delicious. We did check out Bellagio and yes it was pretty but I preferred hanging out at Villa d'Este. My 6 year old daughter fell in love with it and proclaimed that she didn't want to leave ...and it wasn't the floating swimming pool that made her say that, it was the ambiance of the whole place.

Room Tip: Room 560 in the Queen's Pavilion. A suite in with a balcony with a beautiful view. Queen's P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honoluluchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We cannot wait to return to this magnificent hotel. It's what dreams are made of. Sophisticated, exclusive and comfortable. Perfectly positioned to enjoy all the best sights of sublime Lake Como but it's difficult to tear oneself away from this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
12 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,139 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
855 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
919 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range: £467 - £813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing