We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best with best outdoor land scape”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best with best outdoor land scape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

This is One of the few places that would take ur breath away when you first walk in. The outdoor gardens are just amazing along with the natural lake view, everything looks like a one huge post card photo.

Rooms: large and comfortable. Furniture are a bit old , but overall nice rooms.

In hotel dining: both restaurants are ok. However nothing special. Food was average.

Staff: very helpful and friendly.

Overall: the best place in lake Como,. Everything is fantastic .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bardeesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    128
    56
    23
    12
See reviews for
215
593
27
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

This hotel has a great reputation and it lived up to it. Very expensive as expected but the vibe and atmospere is great and the view may be the most beautifull that I have ever seen anywhere in the world. Stunning. Breakfast buffet was very good. We only ate lunch one other time on the resort preferring to venture off property and it was very nice as well...but don't come here and expect "value". It is top notch and you pay for it. Concierge were very friendly and helpful with all requests and reservations also. Spa was very nice. Only thing that needs immediate attention are the beds. Instead of a king we had two beds pushed together to make a king....not very high quality mattresses either....need to fix this to bring it up to the standards of the rest of the hotel. Would definitely go back though.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorker999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

The Villa D'Este is a truly great hotel and fabulous experience. When you go to a destination of this quality you expect to pay top prices.......and you do here, so no complaints, but there's a but...........there's a level of acceptability and this place just takes you over the edge.

We were stuck in a violent thunder storm after getting off the public boat in Cernobbio - phoned the hotel to see if they could send a car to collect us - a two minute ride - car arrived and 15 euros appeared on the bill. Would be a nice gesture to provide that service gratis as most other hotels in this class certainly do.

I needed to print 2 boarding cards for the journey home - no problem with that in the business centre.............30 cents per copy!!!!!!!!! 1000 euros a night and 60 cents for two pieces of paper!!!!!! It's the small things that make you seethe!

Apart from that it's all good - room 122 is spectacular - lake frontage with large terrace next to the best suite in the hotel but categorised as a superior lake view.

Service was first class, and the outside pre dinner bar was the highlight - heaven.

OH yes - one more thing............please put a toaster in the breakfast room.............us English boys love our toast!

Room Tip: Go for lake view - it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireChaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

When you want to get away from it all, go to Villa d'Este. It has everything: impeccable grounds, magnificent buildings, spacious elegant rooms, a choice of fabulous restaurants, a lovely spa, indoor/outdoor pools, a gorgeous lakeside setting surrounded by mountains... pleasant and extremely helpful staff. There are multiple activies organized at the hotel, such as a boat tour of the Lake area. Cernobbio is a short walk away. Or simply sit by the pool with a book - a great place to recharge your batteries.
Totally separate from the hotel: if you want to sim in a lake, choose another location; we were warned against swimming in Lake Como, one of the deepest in Europe.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiVoyage2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Rich history, beautifully-maintained property, immaculate grounds, unique and historical rooms with modern convenience, friendly and dedicated staff, and... the best breakfast we had throughout our five-week European tour that included a total of five 5-star resorts. So many fives! During our three-night stay in Villa d'Este, we enjoyed massages in the spa, swimming in the pool that floats atop Lake Como, drinks and meals with gorgeous lake views, beautiful weather, and so much joyful adventure and relaxation. The energy is fantastic in Villa d'Este; I would love to return, and I believe I will.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIO-T_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Arrived with huge expectations as i have wanted to stay at this hotel for years. Big let down. When we arrived we were offered complimentary drinks while we waited for a better room to be ready. Nice touch. But after waiting for one hour, we got a bit inpatient and it turned out that the room was ready, but no one had told us. No big deal. However, it then took 3 hours for the luggage to arrive in the room, and then my partner's was still missing. We decided for some food at the pool bar. It was some of the mushiest and least tasty we had in Italy, and they then had the nerve to charge us 130€ for some pasta and 2 glasses of wine. I'm used to and expected high prices, but that is ok only when the quality is great. The rest was ok until we were checking out. After we had waited for quite some time, the valet arrived with our car sans baggage, and then proceeded to offer it to some other guests! I stopped them from taking it, told the valet to Get our luggage. The car disappeared, and we found it parked around the corner, still without luggage and without keys. We then gave up, ventured inside, found our luggage in storage, took it out (no-one stopping us), loaded the car, found the keys and left. Will
never go back. Enormous contrast to Four Seasons in Florence from where we came! That was absolutely impeccable!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Espadaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aledo, TX
Level Contributor
274 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

This hotel is set on the beautiful shore of magnificent Lake Como! It is very historic. The food is good, although service in the main dining room is often like a cattle call with a busy buffet. I would recommend going in May or September, when the crowds are down, because it is very touristy in the summer month, which inhibits much of its charm.

We loved the older part of the hotel with a balcony overlooking the lake!!!

Room Tip: The older area with a balcony is more private and has a lot of character...and the view is amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aledo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
12.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 33 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Property: Villa d'Este
Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing