We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, but ......”
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, but ......”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My wife and I spent 4 lovely nights at this wonderful hotel. Amazing old Villa right on the lake. 5 minute walk from the centre of Cernobbio. Great service, spotlessly clean and world best location.

Couple of issues:
- the bed is very hard. This seems to be quite common across Italy.
- the lake view suites are amazing but you need to be aware, a piano player/singer belts out songs outside your window most nights until midnight. A fellow sweeps the gravel every morning at 6.00am. Not a place for light sleepers.
- air conditioning in the gym doesn't work and is quite warm. A number of guests commented on this to the attendant when I was having a workout and were effectively told they were wrong.

This is a very nice, quite formal hotel probably better suited to more mature travelers.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brizzietraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,027
    132
    56
    23
    12
See reviews for
221
611
28
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

A top class hotel with a much deserved reputation. We paid extra for a suite with a water view, and it was well worth it. Waking up to the incredible view of the lake was an incredible experience. Two nights was not enough.

Room Tip: Go for a suite over looking the water in the secondry building (not the main building). The secondry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillLondon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

What a special hotel. We stayed here for just one night (it's $$$) but we arrived early in the day and left in early afternoon so we got to enjoy the full property. We stayed in a lovely, large room that did not overlook the lake (our view was of the gardens). The accommodations were great. Food was expensive but delicious and the service was impeccable. The gardens were very nice but it seems they have seen better days. Still, it was lovely. The pool is very interesting...it is basically a barge floating in the lake that has been filled with water. That doesn't do justice to it...it's really pretty (and big!). We rented one of the hotel's boats and cruised up the lake. There are many, many things to do on the property.

Room Tip: of course a room with a lake view would be very nice but our room that looked the other way (over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradShaw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

So if you're under 45, I do not recommend villa d'este. It was like being at an old folks retirement country club. Not the people mind you, nor the superb staff, the grounds. Our Gigantic room was decorated so stale, and I get it people, I should've known before going there, but the most fun I had there was playing with the ducks and fish outside both of our terraces and watching them fight over bread. The pool is very cool, but when a group of fun Frenchmen showed the first signs of life and fun in it, a staff member actually walked over to the paying guests and told them to be quiet. I busted out laughing from my chair, and went inside. The place is overrated, I could've just went to my grandparents house. (a Belagio day excursion is a must, twas beautiful, and the best restaurant is il gato Nero, twas amazing)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyFy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

While visiting family in Zurich, my friend and I decided to stay one night at Villa d'este. As I was a member of the leading hotels of the world, we were upgraded to a magnificent lake-front room with balcony in the small villa. As the room was not ready, we were treated to wine on the terrace. We strolled around the gardens before dinner. The next morning, we spent two hours luxuriating over brunch in the terrace. We really felt like royalty at least for 24 hours.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amieduvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Travelled with family. beautiful location and grounds. enjoyed meals at The Grill and The Veranda. Great breakfast buffet. Helpful concierge. One highlight was walk with chef in the herb garden and tour of the kitchen. unexpected and appreciated! Also enoyed private boat trip. would skip Bellaggio next time- too touristy. one of my sons said he "felt like a rock star" at Villa D' Este. Not sure about that, but definitely enjoyed our stay and plan to return. Only somewhat negative comment (but not directed at hotel) we were surprised at number of Americans. Diverse clientele, but didn't anticipate so many from US.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BhmAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Top Class Hotel, truely lives up to its reputation. Stunning location, attentive staff, beautiful gardens. We received an upgrade on arrival and had a fantastic view of the lake. The hotel buffet breakfast was very good and a lovely setting on the terrace over looking the lake was a great way to start the day. We were fortunate to be staying at the hotel during the mid summer celebrations, the fireworks on the lake were spectacular!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHB M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,016 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
12.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
811 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
752 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Property: Villa d'Este
Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing