We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
On the road
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Visiting Villa d’Este is like taking a step back in time. We stayed in a suite with a stunning lake view. The service is superb and the hotel and its surroundings are absolutely beautiful. I had a lovely treatment at the spa and enjoyed relaxing at the pool area and gardens. The only thing we were not impressed with, was the fact that despite our request, they didn’t manage to wash our car. How hard can that be for a 5 star property? Furthermore, we were dining both at the fine Veranda restaurant as well as the casual Grill and neither of them did not quite meet the high standards expected at this price range. However, the overall experience was wonderful and we will definitely visit Villa d’Este again soon.

Room Tip: Take the lake view - that's why you come to Como for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiisaineko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    140
    57
    23
    13
See reviews for
247
631
29
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at Villa d'Este - what a super hotel and a great experience - we stayed there two years ago and nothing has changed - a wonderful location to unwind and recharge the batteries. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBMKSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We didn't stay at the lovely Villa D'este, but had the pleasure of an incredible lunch in La Veranda Ristorante. The views are spectacular, the service outstanding and it was hands down our best meal during a 2 week trip to Italy. We loved walking through the gardens after, it's so beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Breathtaking view and a breathtaking bill! The food is world class and the whole experience was wonderful albeit on the pricey side. If you know this in advance and you have the money it's well worth the visit. We added a private boat trip after lunch which made the experience even more apecial. Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Rockyroscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

There's no doubt that the Villa d'Este is a magnificent building set amongst beautifully manicured gardens filled with cypress trees, statues and cascading waterfalls. And the views over Como are everything that you would expect. The prices are high here - maintaining this sort of place doesn't come cheap. But the food served on the outside restaurant called the Sundeck was some of the most disappointing and average I'd eaten anywhere in Italy. The menu is filled with a few too many global delicacies (think burgers and club sandwiches) to satisfy the majority clientele which is a shame considering the diversity of the region. Perhaps go here for a drink to gawp at the people in the lagoon pool then head back to your favourite restaurant in Como with your pocket still full of Euros for the next few days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonNickp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancona, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We've been going to Villa d'Este for 25 years and it's still as wonderful as the first time we stepped foot inside. The location is spectacular, the rooms are among the finest in the world, service is always world-class, and our family happens to love the breakfast buffet-- especially when the weather allows you to enjoy it at a lake-side table outdoors.
Villa d'Este has never rested on its laurels. Each room looks like it had just been renovated and the hotel has kept up with changing technological needs. A few years ago we were happy to have internet via a cable hidden away in a desk drawer. Now there's wifi all over the hotel.
An especially appreciated touch was that at registration someone took the time to notice (from the information on our passports) that one of us was celebrating a birthday. A few hours later a complimentary bottle of champagne was delivered to the room with a card from the director! Just another example of why we'll continue to return to Villa d'Este whenever we can!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful. Our family prefers rooms in the main building (Cardinal) but those in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buon_gusto_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This place is Beautiful and is old world Italy. It is very elegant and well situated on the Lake. We went for drinks and suffered sticker shock. Two Bellini's and four beers were 94 Euro's. Not sorry we went but would only do it once. The staff was good but they were all consumed with setting up for an Int'l Commerce Conference the next day. If you are not budget conscious make the trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,065 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
12.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
792 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
847 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Property: Villa d'Este
Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing