We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A legend, but...”
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We went many times to the lake of Como but never stayed at the Villa d'Este until this year. In the meantime, we have travelled a lot and saw many great hotels around the world. Is it why the hotel didn't live up to our expectations? Villa d'Este was for us a legend reinforced by the yearly pictures of the Ambrosetti forum when the most influential people in business and politics gather to discuss the current economical and social challenges. Some friends who spent there romantic engagement week-ends told us also how magical this place was. We were thus quite excited at the perspective of being there during three long days. We spent without contest an excellent week-end. The hotel is a beautiful five star hotel with all amenities and services belonging to a member of the "leading hotels of the world". We stayed in an executive room with garden view (standard rooms are with courtyard view, which we wouldn't recommend). Our room was at the corner of the building with a view on the magnificent gardens, the Queen's building and a side view on the lake. As the room prices are extremely high and not only at the peak season in summer, we think it was a good choice. We were also at the front row to watch the fairy tale wedding of Central Asian billionaires in the garden just below the window! The room was superb and quite big with antique etchings on the wall, a baldaquin and a very big and luxury bathroom. On the plan on the door room, we noticed our room was one of the smallest of the floor, we had the chance to get a glimpse at the suite besides our room, indeed it was huge, even for a suite! What we enjoyed most was the cocktail time (better said aperol spritz time!) on the terrace, looking at the peaceful lake and admiring some of the 18th century villas on the opposite shore. Despite being late in the season, we could swim in the (quite small) pool on the lake and enjoyed the mild temperature in the evening to walk in the gardens (well maintained near the main building but more neglected when you walk up the hill). The major disappointment was the food: we had snacks on the terrace and ate at the restaurant "The Grill", which is less formal than the Veranda in the main building. Honestly, the food is not better than at any average Italian restaurant around the world, except that the prices are as three to four times as high... Nevertheless, the breakfast was excellent and when you know how miserable a breakfast can be in Italy, you enjoy twice as much!
We left with mixed feelings: very beautiful hotel, but not the legend we thought. We went back to Como with the very elegant water taxi of the hotel speeding on the lake and recollecting our happy memories of the week-end...

Room Tip: Good value are the executive rooms with courtyard view (ask for a room at the corner of the main bui...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kali2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,349)
There are newer reviews for Villa d'Este
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

The beauty grandeur and the abolute attention to detail is mind blowing. You find yourself in a world and a Place where dreams are born, unfortunately we only stayed one night.
The service was very attentive and behind the polished and strickt displine, there was a helpful and friendly attitude. The breakfast was second to none and again, in beautiful suroundings.
If anything, the room is slightly starting to show of age, however all was clean and in Perfect working order.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We have had murals of Villa D'Estate painted in our home. That is the impression this remarkable place leaves. This is simply an amazing place, you feel the history and grandeur. Nothing beats spending the morning reading a book of the floating wooden deck pool, then borrowing the hotel boat for a trip north to Bellagio for a later lunch. We rarely had an desire to leave the property. This is simply our favorite destination from all of the hundred of locations, countries we have experienced. Service is as spectacular as the beauty of the property.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Destinationcules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Visiting Villa d’Este is like taking a step back in time. We stayed in a suite with a stunning lake view. The service is superb and the hotel and its surroundings are absolutely beautiful. I had a lovely treatment at the spa and enjoyed relaxing at the pool area and gardens. The only thing we were not impressed with, was the fact that despite our request, they didn’t manage to wash our car. How hard can that be for a 5 star property? Furthermore, we were dining both at the fine Veranda restaurant as well as the casual Grill and neither of them did not quite meet the high standards expected at this price range. However, the overall experience was wonderful and we will definitely visit Villa d’Este again soon.

Room Tip: Take the lake view - that's why you come to Como for!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiisaineko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at Villa d'Este - what a super hotel and a great experience - we stayed there two years ago and nothing has changed - a wonderful location to unwind and recharge the batteries. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBMKSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We didn't stay at the lovely Villa D'este, but had the pleasure of an incredible lunch in La Veranda Ristorante. The views are spectacular, the service outstanding and it was hands down our best meal during a 2 week trip to Italy. We loved walking through the gardens after, it's so beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Mary X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Breathtaking view and a breathtaking bill! The food is world class and the whole experience was wonderful albeit on the pricey side. If you know this in advance and you have the money it's well worth the visit. We added a private boat trip after lunch which made the experience even more apecial. Loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Rockyroscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,103 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
869 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range: £490 - £907 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing