We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is the Best Hotel in the World - at least that I've stayed in”
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“It is the Best Hotel in the World - at least that I've stayed in”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Villa d'Este is not a hotel, it is an experience. It is not a place to stay, it is a place to embrace. From a setting that has to be experienced to a bartender who spent an hour explaining the various aspects of calvados to me, it is a throw-back to an era I thought was lost. We ate in both restaurants and each has a distinct appeal - and we loved both. It is just beyond what you expect in every aspect. It is NOT at all stuffy, yet it is casually elegant in a way that cashmere is. It is the best hotel in the world in which I have stayed, and I have stayed in many.

Room Tip: Main building, lake side, as high up as you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macsog6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    132
    56
    23
    12
See reviews for
219
604
28
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,284 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have been here before and were glad when we found out our friends arranged their wedding at the villa d'este in June 2013 , we stayed in a suite overlooking the lake and the kids had individual beds. The wedding was unforgettable and the ceremony was carried out in front of the long steps, the wedding dinner was perfect and so was the attentive service. The hotel is just magnificent and we will make it appoint to return here for years to come has it has a mystical feeling.
The children 4 and 7 enjoyed the kids pool on the lake and the pizza and pasta at the pool bar.
The hotel manager couldn't have been more helpful and we loved our stay 10 out of 10

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martino B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Villa d'Este is a wonderful place to experience old-world Italy. Surrounded by history this gorgeous old hotel was very romantic for my husband and me to spend a weekend. We took a walk around the beautiful gardens and found many spots to take photos. The service is top-notch and the food is excellent. Personally I would have preferred to see things updated a bit in the rooms, especially the carpets. Not sure if that takes away from the charm for some guests. The boat tour around the lake was a highlight for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shopper1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Isn't it nice to arrive at a property where everything is juuuuust perfecto ?? - This is where "Villa Deluxe" ( Villa D"Este) in beautiful down town Lake Como fits in for sure.

From the moment that you drive into this breathtaking property, it is evident that the magnificent gardens and grounds have been manicured for decades with all the intensity and precision of an army of ex Swiss watch makers. - It's beautiful.

On arrival we were met by immaculately groomed and presented front of house staff, who had prepared some cocktails and anti pasta for our small group to enjoy out front of the Cardinal building at "Bar Terrazza" overlooking the magnificence of Lake Como. - Service from the team looking after us was first class.

After basking our eyeballs in the opulence of the surrounding buildings,grounds and the Lake, whilst sipping away slowly on our fancy vintage French Champagne for a while, it was then time for our next visually mind-blowing expedition to our suite which was located on the top floor of the Queens pavilion,which is a short stroll from main reception past the pool.

Soon after, we strolled happily along the path and past the concierge in the entry of the Queens pavilion,before finding ourselves in our magnificent Junior suite on the top floor.

French doors opened up to reveal a private balcony for 2 overlooking the lake and much of the hotel. - What's not to like?

The suite was spacious, light and airy and the tranquility and seclusion of the location of the Queens Pavilion added to the ambience. - Very Romantic.

Bathroom was recently renovated by the look of it and quite nicely appointed,although once you close the door to the glass shower, it was a little on the tight side. - I only weigh 85KG and I am 5' 11" so I'm not what you would term as "oversized" either.

We soon realised that there was some very big decisions to make and fast! - what to eat, when and where in this gastronomic paradise, became of immediate concern as our eyeballs had now downloaded the contents of the various menus and restaurants direct to our taste buds, who were now foaming at the mouth and acting like puppies who had just seen their first leg in excitement and anticipation.

In all we managed to try the fare at the Veranda ( breakfast), the Grill, the Sun-deck pool bar and a dinner in the private dinning room that was arranged for our small group. - food and service in all were exceptional and staff have excellent front of house culture.

"Chillin" by the pool is a happy and scenic pastime to participate in. The vista is enchanting and a flotilla of "Riva" luxury boats made from Mahogany wood regularly scamper past with Italian flags flying out back and happy sailors on board.

The pool area is quite large and it has an adjoining sun deck area next to the pool in which you can bask in sunlight or sit undercover at your discretion.

The gym area is quite spacious and has an adequate supply of all things that make you sweat, toil and grunt at your own pace, or with your own trainer if you prefer.

For us,the big question for this place is,when can we go back !

It's not to often that you encounter "The perfect storm" of luxury and exceptional service combined with a breathtaking property and scenery to match. - Villa D'Este "nails it" and with all the intensity of a belt fed nail gun with a cyclic rate of fire of 3,000 nails per minute!

A rare 10/10 from me for this property ! - Deluxe !

Room Tip: We had a Junior suite on the top floor of the queens pavilion with a private balcony. This was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RelaxWithMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We strolled the fabulous grounds and gardens, descreetly snooped around the classic buildings soaking in the history and grace. Oh... If those walls could talk! Then settled in for a long and decadent lunch. It's not 'just' an afternoon repast. Rather, it's theater dressed as a 5 star meal. Pricey? Quite. Worth the price of entry? Without question; it's an experience not to be missed for any aficionado of vintage hotels, fine dining and history - rolled into one. Oh- And rumors of a stuffy, antiquated menu are untrue; the cuisine was as au courant as anywhere. And even the excellent, professional staff was not above friendly conversation and fun with us, while providing the gilded-age service clearly desired by other diners.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We loved our stay at Villa d'Este for our 2 year anniversary.

I think "old world charm and elegance" is the best way to describe this beautiful hotel. The customer service was by far the best we experienced in Europe.

We were personally shown to our room and were lucky enough to be upgraded to the junior suite on arrival which was a lovely touch by the manager. After a hectic travel schedule prior to arriving in Cernobbio, it was wonderful to stay in a place with such amazing amenities such as the leisure centre with the big indoor heated pool, gymnasium and sauna/spa facilities.

We had pre dinner drinks downstairs and the staff were all so attentive. We would very often chat to the staff who were so friendly and genuine and seemed to really loved their jobs. I recall having a wonderful chat to the gentleman at the verandah bar who entertained us with anecdotes and stories from his years of service at the hotel.

We had dinner at both the restaurant and the grill and generally enjoyed both although we did love the Grill a lot more. Unfortunately, we felt that the restaurant was a bit too stuffy and my husband was made to feel uncomfortable when he was asked if he wanted to borrow a tie to sit on the right hand side of the restaurant instead of the left hand side of the restaurant. The distinction made no sense to me because the left and ride side of the restaurant were separated by some pot plants only and in any case were deserted. We sat in the less formal side (left) hand side of the restaurant. The food was brilliant and we soon forgot the small uncomfortable experience. The next day, we tried the Grill which is in a separate house/villa a short walk from the main building near the ruins and the staff were really first class. Incredibly attentive, well organised, happy, smiley, and very funny and engaging.

As the weather was poor, we took advantage of the Foxtown shopping centre (outlet mall) which was a short drive (25 min or so) with the car service which the concierge organised for us. We were driven there and picked up and it was all too convenient (all for a reasonable fee). I do recommend this outlet mall (which unlike others, is very civilised indeed with a great range of stock (particularly YSL, Salvatore Ferregamo and Gucci)).

Overall, we LOVED this place and would recommend it to friends and family. The staff are amazingly hospitable (unlike say, our experience in Hotel Danieli Venice which is supposedly in the same or similar category as Villa D'este), the view is breathtaking and the rooms amazing with a turn down service twice a day.

Thanks to the staff for an amazing experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NayiriA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My husband and I visited Villa D’Este in October for our honeymoon. It is a truly exquisite property and exceeded all expectations. What sets Villa D’Este apart from so many other world class hotels is the incredible attention to detail and exceptional service. From the minute you arrive, staff will personally greet you and will make sure that your every need is taken care of. We were fortunate enough to stay in a junior suite overlooking the Mosaic gardens with partial lake views. Given the weather was unseasonably cold we made the most of the room service (which was spectacular) and also the heated pool. The food was also a highlight and was much nicer than most other villages including Bellagio. We had lunches at their bar by the fire and also dined on the terrace on the warmer days. Of course, the grounds and history of the property set this apart and no visit would be complete without a daily tour of their grounds. Antonella, their Marketing Director went over and above to make our honeymoon memorable and the General Manager was also one of the most professional and personable GM’s we have met. We visited the other 5 star hotels around Lake Como and this was by far the most spectacular. Thank you Villa D’Este, we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
12.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Property: Villa d'Este
Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing