We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Pleasure, but Better Pre-Season!”
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Munich
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Always a Pleasure, but Better Pre-Season!”
Reviewed 20 August 2008

This was our second stay at Villa d'Este and, again, we had a lovely stay. One suddenly arrives at the gates after navigating the narrow roads, the doors open, and one is altogether in a very enchanting, tranquil place! The location of the hotel, right on the water with a view across Lake Como is wonderful--especially nice for enjoying the sumptuous items from the breakfast buffet on the terrace. The hotel has top service and its grand past (stonework, sculptures, grottos) still has the power to enchant. There is a large park (w/ helicopter landing pad!) just up the hill from the hotel offering tennis, a parcours and a terrific option to let our dog romp and run without disturbing anyone. We stayed in the main building vs. the Queens' Pavillion and felt this was a wise choice, being in the center of things. This stay we hired a private boat for 1/2 a day and can heartily recommend this in spite of the price! We enjoyed great views of the magnificent historical villas on the shores, gossip/info. from our driver/guide (George Clooney's residence, Versace's former estate etc.) [We were disappointed with our short stay in Bellagio--touristy and even tacky now compared to our last visit over 12 years before.] The pool set 'on' the lake was jam-packed this stay, as it was high season. Lots and lots of Italian kids in the water; most every chaise occupied by a well-tanned, mobile-phone-using parent. We tried to swim in the lake off the pool, but were waved out by concerned life guards-- worried we would catch a skin condition from the apparently not-so-clean Summer lake water! (By the boat launch, our Retriever loved being able to cool off in the lake. The staff recommended this for our dog, but apparently not for its guests!) Our recommendation: come in June when the Jasmine is in its finest aromatic hour, the temperature is not too hot and the staff has ample time to pamper! A last word: We were very disappointed with our dinner at the hotel's restaurant despite our wonderful table at the lake: pricey, absolutely unspectacular food and a harried service staff. (My Steak Diane was an over-cooked flank steak with a nondescript dark sauce.) We recommend consulting the "Osterie d'Italia" , Slow Food Guide, for interesting, tasty, authentic alternatives. ('Il Gatto Nero' and the island event on La Comacina' for example.) Otherwise, a memorable destination for anyone!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelingwithdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    140
    57
    23
    13
See reviews for
247
631
29
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Menominee, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

Very good experience!

  • Liked — Beautiful grounds and Lake Como scenery
  • Disliked — no air conditioning in late May
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Billiebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2008

The property is situated in one of the most gorgeous places on earth. The main biulding and gardens are beautiful and well maintained. The indoor pool and "athletic facilities" are dated and small and need an urgent face lift. The lake pool, likewise, has a dumpy feel to it that is inconsistent with the grandeur of the property.
The rooms and suites are fabulous. The service is truly impeccable, with many of the staff genuinely wanting to please and get to know the guests. They were extremely nice to our 9 year old daughter. We had air condition complaints, which were promptly addressed and the general manager got involved. The restaurants are excellent, but breakfast is somewhat underwhelming.
This is a place to come and rest and enjoy the serene beauty of the area. It is not a "happening place" with nightlife and people watching. The little towns around Como are rather dull with many of their people demonstratively cool to hostile to the tourist. The prices are absurd even by top end European standards.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dated pool area and facilities
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Churchillswit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WORCESTERSHIRE
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2008

They say that wealth whispers - this is true of Villa D'Este.

Where do I start .... we went there for our wedding in August 2005 and our guests are still talking about the experience now. It is the small things that count with everything and more being done in a discreet and efficient manner. Inspite of the grand location, staff were friendly and approachable with style coming naturally.

Life is made up of a series of memories and Villa D'Este is a moment to treasure.

Enjoy the moment!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DESOUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2008

Tricky review as good pros but ultimately down by a few cons

- location is superb overlooking the lake and the service and food are both good -we ate at the restaurant in which some of the waiters have been their over 20 years so that was bonus and the concierge + general staff are all good as was the hotel decor
- gardens are impressive and worth walking around as is the the outdoor pool which is nice to sit around and watch the rivas cruise up and down the lake so all in all service and the look of the place and up to standard
- the disappointments are the rooms whch can really only be described as old looking with old beds , ok linen , uninteresting lights etc - nothing wrong with them as such but then for the cost a let down
- also a minor quibble i dont enjoy being charged 7 euros for a can of coke from the mini bar - i understand hotels charge a premium but that is just insulting by any stretch of the imigination and simply leaves a bad taste

so good location and service but rooms that are disappointing for the cost so a place to go and tick off the list but if i when i revisit the area and for the cost i will try somewhere else first

as an aside there is v good little restaurant ( pasta/pizza) 2 hundred yards down the road form the hotel which the concierge will recommend and worth visiting for a nice simple supper

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank worldtraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2008

I stayed 3 days at the Villa D'Este on a corporate meeting. While we had the rooms round the back (no view), the attention to detail in the hotel was outstanding: it was like staying in a palace and the staff were really pleasant. What was great though was the location: overlooking the lake. springtime truly amazing - see photos

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — We were at the back with no view
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Hampshire444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2008

Just read the review stating how disappointing this place is????
Well - it will be if you are staying in a Hotel famous for it's "hard to get" Como Waterfront Location and you plan to do this during an Italian Winter??!!! The whole point of this place is being Outdoors during Italian Summers - so no - the Interior is not "spectacular spectacular" - it's low key elegance.
The "Spectacular Spectacular" is all about the hotel's OUTDOOR amenities and services during the SUMMER!.
If you like historic buildings surrounded by the aroma of scented Jasmine, Riva boats mooring up beside your breakfast table, ducks wandering around looking for mislaid croissants, and being able to disappear with a book and a bottle of wine into the luscious gardens - then this is the place for you.
:-)

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 2012MP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,065 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
12.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
792 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
847 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Property: Villa d'Este
Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing