We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worlds finest . . . .”
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The magnificent grandiose exterior of the Villa d'Este sits perfectly at the foot of the mountains beside the magical lake Como.
The marble interior seems to vibrate with excitement the classic drapes and grandiose marble stair case must have been the backdrop to many a glamouous society party and they positively be on you to have a martini in the bar listening to the piano or drink a coffee on the terrace where many a famous Hollywood movie star of excelled king once sat.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room slide back the shutters on a sunny morning and bath in its first rays
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

We spent half of our one year anniversary and 30th birthday celebration at Villa d'Este. We had heard about the property for quite awhile, so had incredibly high expectations. We were not let down. The hotel and surrounding grounds are spectacular, and the service was impeccable. The rooms are beautifully appointed to match the historic decor of the grand hotel. Once you are there you will never want to leave - you can spend the days on the floating pool soaking up the beautiful lake views interrupted by private or organized boat trips, hikes through the beautiful grounds, games of tennis with the same incredible views, and leisurely lunches by the pool. The place is most beautiful at sunset, enjoying a cocktail and the warm hues of the sun on the water, and live piano music. We could not have had a more magical stay. We also spent an afternoon at the incredibly relaxing spa.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAC1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

If there is a hotel you have to stay in whilst on Lake Como than this is it. It is loaded with history. The queen's pavilion was built for queen Victoria's visit, this gives you a sense of how important this hotel is. In summer, having a candlelight dinner with a chilled glass of white wine by the lake is awesome. This is one of the places you must see in a lifetime.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The hotel is a magnificent renaissance style edifice with extensive grounds located right next to the lake, with its own private boat jetty.

The rooms vary in quality (as is common in many old buildings) - I have seen a tiny room with an awful view on a corner of the building, but our suite was enormous and very very comfortable, with a terrace overlooking the gardens and a side view of the lake. There is also a more modern hotel annexe to the north of the main building, where conferences rooms are located as well. I don't know what those rooms are like. Moral of the story - plan on spending a little more money or else stay in a less grand hotel but in a higher grade room.

There is an outdoor swimming pool right next to the lake, which I imagine, must be really nice in summer. Other than that I did not notice any other exceptional facilities.

The service is attentive and friendly, and the food impeccable. Breakfast is a feast, lunch and dinner a little too heavy for our tastes but extremely accomplished and good with wine pairings.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stinkaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

this is one of the most beautiful hotels i ever visited. I thought i was in paradise. Awesome location, wonderful rooms, very adequate personnel....will return for sure. A quick visit to nearby Switzerland, floating swimmingpool in front of the hotel. book your room, pack your luggage and go go go

Room Tip: all rooms and suites are big, high ceilings, sunny and amazing furnitured
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heidivermak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

As per many reviews I read before staying here - "Its not a Hotel its an experience" quote is probably very accurate. Glad we stayed here for the experience but thats it would not stay again.
Stayed in May 2013 with a large group of nearly 50 people. The hotel is just a wonderfull building in a pictureesque location on Lake Como. The rooms are more like a staying in someones house than a 5 star hotel very old and lacking modern convieninces. I dont want to sound un cultured as I love culture and Museums etc but I just didnt get the awards that this hotel has received. Como is a beatiful spot and this is the best Hotel here and the most expensive. The fitness centre was the highlight for me. The restuarants are first class and the breakfasts are the best we experienced in Italy. Whilst some of our group spotted Robert Deniro and his security at this hotel it is a bit of a who is who of Hotels for the rich and famous, not really me. Stayed for 4 nights but would have been happy with just 2. All in all a wonderfull building and grounds and a stunning location, but couldnt justify price and dont get all the fame its recieved.
NO IRONING BOARDS AND REFUSING TO BRING US ONE totally spoilt our stay after a 28 hour travel from Australia and having a function that night I found it spoilt the whole stay and just added stess to my poor wife. Yes they had an expensive ironing service but were not able to prombtly return our clothes in time. Cannot accept this in such an awarded hotel. I know its normal for European standards but find it unacceptable.

Room Tip: More of an experience than a Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DWgoldengrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The grounds are unbelievable, and the hotel itself is an art nouveau masterpiece that very much deserves its spot as one of the best in the world. We went in late fall when it was chilly and drizzling, but the summer months must be all the more incredible.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mattia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
12 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,139 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
856 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
919 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range: £469 - £813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L., 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing