We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,469)
Filter reviews
1,469 results
Traveller rating
1,210
159
60
25
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,210
159
60
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grilljacket and tieveranda restaurantlake comofloating poolbest hotels in the worldjunior suiteindoor poolold worldlinen sheetsmain buildingbeautiful hotella verandatennis courtsconcierge deskgeorge clooneymagical place
Filter
Updating list...
574 - 579 of 1,469 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Went a few years back and can't get the entire experience out of my mind. It's top dollar but worth it. The gardens and outdoor eating areas and pool unreal. Caution this is an old hotel with antique furnishings so if you don't like old world charm it's not for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coccindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The magnificent grandiose exterior of the Villa d'Este sits perfectly at the foot of the mountains beside the magical lake Como.
The marble interior seems to vibrate with excitement the classic drapes and grandiose marble stair case must have been the backdrop to many a glamouous society party and they positively be on you to have a martini in the bar listening to the piano or drink a coffee on the terrace where many a famous Hollywood movie star of excelled king once sat.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room slide back the shutters on a sunny morning and bath in its first rays
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We spent half of our one year anniversary and 30th birthday celebration at Villa d'Este. We had heard about the property for quite awhile, so had incredibly high expectations. We were not let down. The hotel and surrounding grounds are spectacular, and the service was impeccable. The rooms are beautifully appointed to match the historic decor of the grand hotel. Once you are there you will never want to leave - you can spend the days on the floating pool soaking up the beautiful lake views interrupted by private or organized boat trips, hikes through the beautiful grounds, games of tennis with the same incredible views, and leisurely lunches by the pool. The place is most beautiful at sunset, enjoying a cocktail and the warm hues of the sun on the water, and live piano music. We could not have had a more magical stay. We also spent an afternoon at the incredibly relaxing spa.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAC1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

If there is a hotel you have to stay in whilst on Lake Como than this is it. It is loaded with history. The queen's pavilion was built for queen Victoria's visit, this gives you a sense of how important this hotel is. In summer, having a candlelight dinner with a chilled glass of white wine by the lake is awesome. This is one of the places you must see in a lifetime.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The hotel is a magnificent renaissance style edifice with extensive grounds located right next to the lake, with its own private boat jetty.

The rooms vary in quality (as is common in many old buildings) - I have seen a tiny room with an awful view on a corner of the building, but our suite was enormous and very very comfortable, with a terrace overlooking the gardens and a side view of the lake. There is also a more modern hotel annexe to the north of the main building, where conferences rooms are located as well. I don't know what those rooms are like. Moral of the story - plan on spending a little more money or else stay in a less grand hotel but in a higher grade room.

There is an outdoor swimming pool right next to the lake, which I imagine, must be really nice in summer. Other than that I did not notice any other exceptional facilities.

The service is attentive and friendly, and the food impeccable. Breakfast is a feast, lunch and dinner a little too heavy for our tastes but extremely accomplished and good with wine pairings.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stinkaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews