We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny!”
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Villa d'Este is a grand old Hotel that everybody should be lucky enough to enjoy. The location, grounds, rooms, service and food is all top of its class. At dusk on the lakefront patio we had wonderful drinks listening to the most amazing piano....brought my lady to tears.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MDBrooks92660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,061
    136
    56
    23
    13
See reviews for
236
623
29
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

First, the property is amazing and the fine dining restaurant is vey good, but not superb. However, if you prefer extreme formal dining and staff constantly pouring a tad more wine, then you will love the service. Much of the setting for drinks and dinner is set to see who is dining and not turned out the windows for the incredible views. We dine and eat at both 5 star hotels and Michelin rated restaurants, but here there is a new level of pretense.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KipL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My third time there and I always hate leaving. Classic old school european luxury. Everything is top notch from the suites to the food. Awesome location, just over the border from Lugano and set on beautiful Lake Como. During our stay, Billy Joel was there and put on an impromptu piano playing concert for a group of us. Rent a boat on the lake and go have lunch down at one of the little lakeside restaurants. A place everyone should visit in their lifetime.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This really is one of the best hotels in the world and it has prices to match. It seemed that a good 80% of the guests were either wealthy Americans or people on seminars spending their company's money. However, if you can run to the cost, even for a special weekend, you will be well rewarded.

We had a fantastic junior suite overlooking the lake at the front of the main building. By the way, they seem to say that the two buildings are the same, but don't fall for that one. The Cardinal Building is the place to be.

The whole place has a wonderful old world splendour and you can't help but fall in love with it. There's a superb floating pool that extends into the lake and a wonderful jogging / walking track that takes you high up above the hotel where you can experience even more of the fantastic views. After dinner, the bar has a really entertaining singer / pianist and quite unusually for an establishment like this, serves bottles of one of the best pale ales I've ever tasted. At €15 a bottle it should be eh?

It's in very easy walking distance of the village and the ferry station and just two stops to Como town itself which is well worth a visit.

The lunches at the bar and the pool bar are very disappointing and they really need to look into both the menu and the standard of the food to get it to match the rest of the hotel. The golf simulator didn't work and there was more grass on the putting green than on the semi rough back home, but who wants to get some golf practice in when you're staying at a place like this?

Other little gripes? The temperature of the shower kept changing, you sometimes had to wait for a table at breakfast and if you're staying at the front of the Cardinal Building, there's a bit of noise at night from the bar (didn't bother us as we were usually the last out) and also early in the morning when the waiters were laying the breakfast tables and talking quite loudly amongst themselves.

However, these are minor matters and I would wholeheartedly recommend Villa D'Este and something really quite special.

Room Tip: The front rooms and suites in the Cardinal Building have great views but are a little noisy late at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cookiemonster171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

When you give thought to a Leading Hotel of The World-what would you expect?

Well if you want the Best service, please do visit Villa d'Este. From the moment you are greeted at the door by either Corsi or Andrea, it is nothing but..."how may I help you..." This is the ultimate pampering experience and we are well traveled all over the world. The reception staff greet you with a warm smile as well, the housekeeping staff are awesome. And the wait staff in the restaurant are superb. Nicolas, Eugene, to mention a few are simply the best. I suppose years of service at one hotel for 40+ years makes a statement about Villa d'Este. The staff are simply incredible.

We had lunch at the Veranda, it was delicious. Within walking distance and if you rented a car there are so many other awesome restaurants around the area as well. Another tip is to take the boat ride up to Bellagio. You can catch the boat at the harbor in Cernobbio. It was a sight to see including George C. home!

Should you have any questions, please do feel free to ask. I would be more than happy to share our unforgettable vacation on the Lago Di Como! Cheers, Joe

Room Tip: We had room 404, it had a king bed and was so spacious. The view was of the gardens, but we enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We are a well travelled couple who like to indulge in the best luxury hotels around the world. This is our third visit to Villa D'Este and that in itself speaks volumes about the hotel and our experience. From the moment you are arrive before you even enter the front door you are greeted with warm friendly staff.
We stayed for 9 nights and as always are sorry to have to go home. The hotel is for a total relaxing break where you can relax on the sun deck beside the floating pool in the lake with the most breathtaking views of Lake Como that we found ourselves never getting tired of.
The hotel itself is clothed in grand interiors of opulence in every part of it.
We dined in the Veranda most evenings which is formal dining with jacket and tie for the gentlemen but for us, this formality adds to the experience, the waiters remember your name, what you like, what you don't like and glide effortlessly through the restaurant situated on the edge of the lake, for us dinner here in the evenings is a spectacle that shouldn't be missed! Forget about the price tag and soak up every second of the dining experience, it is worth every penny!
Throughout the hotel no matter where you are there is always a staff member on hand to see to your every need.
Breakfast is served in the Veranda again on the lakeside with a spectacle of freshly prepared food that will leave no taste unattended!
A truly exceptional hotel in a breathtaking location with impeccable service that will satisfy even the most seasoned traveller!

Garth & Jenny

Room Tip: I would recommend a lake view room if first time visitor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jengar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

As an experienced traveler, well acquainted with the pros and cons of much hyped luxury hotels, I was very torn as to whether I should splurge for a stay at Lake Como's much heralded Villa d'Este, or opt for a less expensive option "up the lake" with similarly positive reviews. I'm delighted to say that I chose Villa d'Este, and never looked back.

Villa d'Este is a like an old wine; the more you sit with it, the more it's exceptional character is revealed. I'll admit, I started out skeptical (I prefer small, intimate properties), but upon entering the front doors, realized that I was in the midst of sheer, unadulterated elegance. The common areas are old world glamour and sophistication -- like something out of a Cary Grant movie. That being said, the staff are down-to-earth and friendly, no stuffiness here. It's a combination hard to come by, and no doubt, the secret to this property's legendary status.

ROOMS: Our group (2 couples) were shown to junior suites in the Queen's Pavillion (both buildings are equally elegant). Our rooms were large, opulent, yet comfortable, with balconies overlooking the lake and views that if truth be know, are superior to the Cardinal Building. It should also be noted that everything in this hotel is sparkling clean and painstakingly maintained, from the grounds, to the common areas, to the floating pool, to the rooms. Yes, it's VERY expensive, but it takes money to maintain such high standards.

SERVICE: It seems that instantly, the valets, concierges, and bellman know your name, and they don't have their hands out for tips. The service level is nothing short of exceptional. At the end of your stay, an envelope with tips for the appropriate parties is appreciated, though not expected - classy to the end. I would like to give a special mention to Matteo Balesma (spelling?) whose constant smile and dedication to service is why people return to establishments such as this.

LOCATION: This is where Villa d'Este is sometimes dinged compared to other luxury resorts on Como. I, for one, can make a case for Villa d'Este being the PREMIER location. Situated a short walk from the town of Cernobbio, we found the hotel to be a haven away from the more touristy spots like Tremezzo and Bellagio. And although the lake may not be as wide and the views not as grand, it's a gorgeous, special location, with great restaurants and elegant shopping a short stroll away. If you're looking to be "in the middle of the action", this may not be for you. If you're looking for a relaxing and beautiful respite on the lake, Villa d'Este is your property.

OTHER THINGS TO CONSIDER:
1. HOTEL RESTAURANTS: I preferred my meals outside of the property. The breakfast, included in my room, was fantastic, and the food quality was excellent across the board, but the prices were extremely high. Also, their main dining room is very formal, not what we prefer on vacation.
2. WEATHER: Be prepared that summers in the lake district can bring alternating days of rainy cool weather, and hot sunny weather -- this is why it's so lush! We used the rainy days to explore the towns (the hotel provides umbrellas) and sunny days to explore the lake. Bring a sweater and a raincoat and don't let the weather deter. It's worth it!
3. 4th OF JULY: Oddly, this luxurious Italian property has the best 4th of July fireworks we've ever seen. Although we opted out of the formal dinner/dance, we were thrilled with the fireworks show, enjoyed from front row seats on our private balcony.
4. BOAT TOURS: For a private boat tour, go down to the Cernobbio square (on the water front) and book one of the local water taxi's, $350 euro for two and a half hours, a better deal than booking through the hotel, and, in our opinion, the perfect way to see Lake Como.

Overall, this is a special, special place, well worth a visit, at least once. Would we always want to splurge on such a property? No. Are we glad we enjoyed Villa d'Este for our first trip to Como? ABSOLUTELY!

Room Tip: A junior suite with a balcony is the ticket. If you book through Amex, you can possibly upgrade to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sybarite4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,050 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
12.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
781 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
830 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Property: Villa d'Este
Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing