We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2011

villa d'este is one of those hotels you dream of staying at. it is extremely expensive, we had a suite with partial view of the lake and it was very grand although room is showing a bit wear and although bathroom is big it is a bit dated. the housekeepers dotted over our son and picked him up and wouldnt stop kissing him. the hotel provided the most amazing crib with the luxurious bedding that i have seen on a crib. the hotel is amazing, sits right on the lake in a surreal setting. nice gym, pool is big but wasnt very warm. the hotel has a pool but it was raining when we were there so didnt enjoy it. the breakfast whichis included in the price is amazing. lots of russian $$$ when we were there. clientele a bit snooty but staff very nice. it was definately a life time experience but don't think we loved it enough to go back. the little town there is cute, but not much to do there. we had a really bad dinner in one little restaurant in town.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,349)
There are newer reviews for Villa d'Este
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

772 - 778 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2011

You should know something of the history, position and importance of this property- but what really made it special for my wife and I were the professional but approachable staff.
We only stayed one night here travelling from Switzerland to Milan ( tooooo short!!) and we arrived late and tired. I guess we expected a stuffy old mansion but from the moment we were greeted we were made to feel at home. The concierge is just charming, the doormen humorous (it was raining so hard when we arrived) and the check in staff were lovely. They are genuinely proud and happy to work in the establishment.
Of special note is the breakfast- wow!! If you are not impressed with the range, quality, view and service then you are VERY hard to please. But there is so much more-you will be delighted at every turn.
Treat yourself-you won't regret it- and you just could remember it for the rest of your life.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrShhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Started going to Villa D'Este at age 10 with my family, and still go at least once every two or three years. Villa D'Este is one of the most charming and iconic hotels in the world. Dinners are very formal (although have been decreasingly so over the past years), and the food is out of this world fantastic. You must stop in the hotel bar and get a cocktail before dinner and chat with Illio, the bartender, who is one of the warmest people I have ever encountered. The pool floats on Lake Como, and the hotel has a fitness center, squash courts, tennis courts, and various restaurants. One memory that really sums up the experience at Villa D'Este was a dinner one night, when my little sister was 3 or 4. The waiters all doted on her, calling her "Principessa!", and when it came time for dessert they came out with sparklers and a giant mountain of pink cotton candy. You have never seen a 3 year old's eyes light up so wide or so bright. It is a bit expensive here, but it is worth every single penny.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katieL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

One of the ionic hotels of the world. Fantastic location, excellent service and food. Gardens are a joy to walk round and we got a special last minute rate from LHW. Will go again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pduxb24138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

My husband and I stayed at Villa d'Este on the first leg of our honeymoon to Italy and Austria. We highly recommend this hotel, the staff was professional yet approachable, the grounds were so beautiful, the rooms are amazing. We felt the staff was happy for us, and we were treated very specially.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astoria2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

When we arrived in our beautiful room and opened the windows onto gorgeous Lake Como, we decided we might never leave! The entire staff at Villa d"Este was professional, friendly and helpful. This is a grand old hotel that surpassed all our expectations. The weather was very nice both days we were there in late October, so we were able to walk the grounds and take a boat to Bellagio. The food, drinks and staff at breakfast, the lobby bar and dinner were all outstanding. We will return!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRSTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Located on the shores of breathtaking Lake Como, the Villa d'Este is the sort of place one could happily spend one's entire life. We booked direct with the hotel, who gave us 30% off the price of the cheapest room, which we'd tried to book (we were there in May 09 so a shoulder season discount applied). When we mentioned it was for our honeymoon, they upgraded us to the mid-price room. When we actually arrived they proclaimed that honeymooners must have an even better room and so upgraded us again for free!

The bed was massive (we think a king) and comfy in a beautifully decorated room. The spotless bathroom had an excellent shower, large tub, and lots of fun little goodies to play with. Amenities like internet and so on all worked fine, though we didn't use the TV (what with it being our honeymoon and all). Sitting on our immense terrace overlooking the lake, with the birds singing and the mountains rising green and verdant around us, we thought we had died and gone to Heaven. The breakfasts were divine, the staff were discreet and helpful, the atmosphere was peaceful but not dull, and the other guests we chatted to were good fun. We spent several hours happily wandering around intricate little follies in the garden, which go all the way up the cliffside - you could unleash your children in such a place and they'd probably occupy themselves for hours. Then there's the spa... ah... the massage was so good that the Mr, left to dress afterwards, fell into a restful sleep on the table, which wasn't disturbed for half an hour (at no charge!), and then only by the Mrs coming to look for him.

The concierge was also helpful and good at finding fun things for us to do, such as a boat ride to Bellagio. The swimming pool, which is floating on the lake, was also a surreal and fun experience, as it rocks up and down when the large ferries go by, meaning you sort of feel like you are in the lake, only you aren't freezing. (Plus since we were 20-something honeymooners, we were the youngest adults there by like 20 years - there were kids but only older adults - so we got to feel really attractive wandering around the poolside). All the local towns are magical and we would have liked another month to explore them. The weather was not too hot or too cold, and conveniently the only time it rained was during our spa visit. We also enjoyed ogling the other guests' very expensive cars, which the Mr is into.

Almost miraculously, given that this is a place where the food both in the hotel and in the surrounding towns and villages is uniformly fresh, delicious and decadent, the Mr actually lost 10lbs - on a diet of pasta and gelato, which is probably the most fun diet there is. We can only surmise that he had 10 pounds of stress on him and it melted off.

Weirdly for somewhere quite so lovely, time somehow seemed to stand still. We stayed four days but it felt like weeks, probably because we were so refreshed by the whole thing. We've stayed in lots of five star hotels in our lives (as well as some cruddy ones) and this one beats the crap out of all of them.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZesZes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,103 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
871 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range: £490 - £905 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing