We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice classic hotel at the foot of the Como lake”
Review of Regina Olga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regina Olga Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Almost next to George Clooneys lake house, this classy hotel overlooks the Como Lake. The swimming pool, terrace bar, and the garden restaurant make it a good choice for a rest. Also good for business trip, although at +- one hour from Milano. (taxi airport - Cernobbio : 125€ !)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Regina Olga Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2011

My husband and I spent a week here at the beginning of October. We booked the accommodation months in advance and were not disappointed when we arrived. The location is perfect and we were given a very comfortable room overlooking the lake. It was a dream come true to wake every morning to that stunning view and hear the bells from the local church welcoming a new day. Cernobbio is a small village but with many restaurants and most of the facilities you require. The hotel staff were most helpful and even with some very large travelling groups, still managed to provide assistance and information.
The pool in the side garden area is a wonderful treat after a day of touring and an absolute bonus in hot weather!

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room with a view of the lake. Perhaps request a room not too close to the elev...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lyn27524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

the first impression you get of this hotel that it is old and tired , my husband and I were travelling with a group on a coach tour of the Italian Lakes, and our room was alright for a 2 night stay I do not think I would like to have stayed any longer. Although clean the bathroom was rather tired looking, they had put down wood flooring in the bedroom area and because of this everytime you sat on the bed it moved. They gave us a welcome drink, or should i rather say drinks, as it kept flowing with a choice of Sparkling wine, red and white wine, or non alcoholic drinks. For a short stay I would say it was O.K. and would stop there again, you could not fault the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Widnes_CheshirePatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

If you are looking for a good base to explore Lake Como, then this will not disappoint...located just a short stroll from Villa D'Este, it is certainly central and virtually on the lake.
However, the rooms and general state of the hotel can only be described as awful.
Old smelly carpets greet you with an engrained stench of cigarette smoke despite assurances that this is a non-smoking room.
The room itself looks like it was furnished at least 10 years ago.
I am staying at the hotel as i write this review and honestly, you can imagine what would motivate me to write this rather than enjoy my time in this magical place...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jack-malki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Hi everyone,

My wife and I just left this little town (Cernobbio) after spending 3 days exploring the lake. My motivation for writing this review is not so much for the hotel but rather the location, as we were looking for a place that was easy to get to, relaxing and had good access to the boats/ferry.

Firstly, let me say that we are seasoned travelers, independent and active.We have stayed in hotels all around the world - great Asian hotels and crappy European ones. This hotel was very good by all measures. Of course, this is Europe so don't expect flashy rooms and gourmet breakfasts. However, the rooms were very clean, the breakfast was enjoyable and the service was efficient (read: not overly friendly but OK). The breakfast staff were very attentive.

The hotel is located in possibly the best location in the town. You can walk to the ferry in less than 5 minutes - 2 minutes if your wife brings joggers rather than heals. There is a nice restaurant nearby called the "Miralago". Someone else has recommended it and I think it is a good choice. Try the Gnocchi with a glass or vino rouge called Serra .

It takes less than 10 minutes to get to Cernobbio from Como town (San Giovanni Train station). It will cost you 15 to 17 euros by taxi.

Once you're there, I suggest two trips. Firstly, take the ferry to Bellagio. This is a beautiful little town with a number of shops and restaurants that cling to the main hill that you see from the ferry. And it is nice to wonder up (and eventually down) the few narrow streets. The second trip is to Menaggio. This is possibly more beautiful than Bellagio. It has flatter terrain with a long promenade that is pretty and well maintained. There is a great plazza there with a number of restaurants where you can sip some Proessco and gaze across the lake at Belaggio.

Both towns take about 2 hours by boat (each way). That's why I suggest two trips. A third day on the lake would be too much.

We loved Lake Como and we hope to come back. Cernobbio was a good base and the Regina Olgo is a worthy hotel - even by non-European standards.

Off to Florence and Tuscany.

Room Tip: The rooms have shutters. On windy nights, the shutters can move and back against the wall if they ar...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a package September 2011. Room small but adequate we were very disappointed not to have a balcony but being with the tour company it was take what was given. Breakfast was hit or miss and evening meal was edible but only just! However on the plus side very convenient for nice little restaurants and transport around the lake. If we were to go back we would use this hotel but make sure that we had a balcony and lakeside view and we would go for B&B and eat out in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JandCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

stayed in a family room overlooking the fountain and lake!

having been on the wheel for 9hrs from Calais,it was pleasant to find the hotel centrally located,gated parking facilities, Restaurants nearby!

Gelatto across the road! some quaint shops down narow streets,Rustic charm.

Professional and courteous receptionist,suggested some nice eateries within walking distance.

Our stay coincided with the Como Music Festival a pleasant surprise.

Comfortable size room good standard and clean.

Breakfast and waitng staff could not do enough for you,however very busy with Tours made Breakfast Room somewhat Chaaotic.

Painless Check out.

Room Tip: Il Miralago Restaurant a stone throw away *****
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandydanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miralago
Hotel Miralago
#4 of 7 in Cernobbio
257 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#2 of 7 in Cernobbio
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Lake Como Hotel
12.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#3 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
1,048 reviews
14.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Olga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Olga Hotel

Address: Via Regina 18, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range: £86 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regina Olga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Regina Olga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Olga
Regina Olga Cernobbio
Regina Olga Hotel Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing