We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake view luxury”
Review of Regina Olga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regina Olga Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a wonderful old fashioned hotel with a fantastic view over Lake Como. The entrance hall is marvelous, and there is another door that opens on to a garden almost adjacent to the lake. We could see the lake from our window. The swimming pool was pleasant although the garden a little austere. The breakfast was excellent, on a mezzanine floor overlooking the entrance hall. The area outside the hotel, next to lake is fantastic, with a pizzeria and gelateria, and shaded benches.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OwlNewforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

Internet not included and expensive, quite poor customer service at front desk, the beds were unfortunately terrible, no real duvets, breakfast was average at the best, quite old furniture and moist in the room. Not worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Hotel Regina Olga is a classic girl - with a touch of the old world but with a high quality and great customer service. Make sure you get a room overlooking the lake - it is worth it to wake up to. The hotel is adjacent to a ferry stop and a trip on the lake is an experience not to be missed. We went to Villa Carlotta, gardens and stately villa - a steady hour or so going past the beautiful villas and scenery of the lake.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed there during the first week in July 2013. The hotel has some "old world charm" and you can imagine what it was like in its "heyday". Unfortunately its heyday is past and it could do with upgrading as it is a bit tired. Frequented largely by bus tour residents who are absent most of the day it tends therefore to lack a bit of atmosphere. The pool is adequate but was virtually empty when we were there. Thats fine in terms of peace and quiet but a little life wouldnt have gone amiss. The staff at reception are pretty unhelpful I have to say. There was a total absence of any visitor information available by way of leaflets, local information etc. I asked at the desk if they had any visitor information and was very simply told "no". They never even bothered to refer us to the excellent Tourist Information Office which is located a few hundred yards from the hotel which unfortunately we didnt find out about until day 3 of our trip. My wife overheard some other visitors getting the same treatment later in the week and she took it upon herself to provide them with one of our copies of the river taxi timetable and lake map that the Toursit Info had given us. The hotel has a lot to learn about customer service and i think they are very much resting on their laurels of the hotel location which is very good. They charge approx £25 Euros for the wi-fi which is of very poor quality and unavailable at poolside - this should be complimentary. Breakfast was basic with a lack of quality fresh produce. Its a good location to explore from with the excellent river taxi service just outside (just an 8 minute trip to Como) and only 15 minutes drive from the Swiss border. Cernobbio, whilst not as picturesque as places like Menaggio or Ballagio is still pleasant with some nice resturants and shops. If location is your priority then fine but otherwise im sure there are nicer hotels with better atmospheres on the lake at comparable prices.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had a lovely stay here. Staff helpful and friendly. Room was spacious although old fashioned. No mirror over the dressing table. The floor was quite dirty and fluff and footprints were there throughout the week. Bed linen was nice and fresh and the bathroom was clean but toiletries were not replaced after the first day which was mean as I had used my shower gel and had to go into the town to buy more. We were on a tour with Riviera and our evening meals were not taken in the restaurant instead we were in a back room surrounded by bright lights, the food can only be described as basic and edible, some people ate in a nearby restaurant even though the food was included as they were fed up with the blandness of it. The tour was good and Matt was chatty, friendly and informative.

Room Tip: Try to get a front room as some of our group were overlooking the noisy car park and a dustbin area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pinkthatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I didn't expect much as the rate was good. Hotel was centrally located with a good view. Rooms are basic. Bathrooms basic. Breakfast ok. Front office was nice. kids got a gift upon arrival. If you get the hotel for a good rate go for it. Lakeview rooms are nice. Basically this hotel is old feel and some people like it. If you drive here the good news is that you are not too far from the highway and they have free parking. don't expect much from the rooms though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asiatraveler1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 days because we had a wedding reception in villa d 'Estee.
The location and lake view were great but the hotel is not waw in cleanliness nor in comfort and services...
However it was very easy to access the lake and take ferry boat for a visit found the lake

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyMurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miralago
Hotel Miralago
#4 of 7 in Cernobbio
261 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#2 of 7 in Cernobbio
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Lake Como Hotel
12.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
1,074 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Olga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Olga Hotel

Address: Via Regina 18, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range: £83 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regina Olga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regina Olga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Olga
Regina Olga Cernobbio
Regina Olga Hotel Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing