We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emam”
Review of Regina Olga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regina Olga Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Reviewed 7 October 2009

the hotel was great, i even stayed at the Regina Olga in Milano, it is the surroundings in Cernobio that perfects it.

Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
Thank RaadiyahE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2009

In Italy for the F1 Grand Prix - chose this hotel over those available in the Grandstandmotorsports brochure for its location and was not disappointed - we requested a lake view room and boy did we get it.
The Regina Olga describes itself as traditional, other tripadvisors describe as old fashioned and tired - both are correct in some ways.
Buffet breakfast below average with tinned fruit salad ( I knew that cos the part of the label was in mine) croissants, yoghurts ,cereal , scrambled egg, bacon & sausage............ but no toast!
Updating and redecoration is needed but the waiting staff are of smart appearance and lay out clean linen napkins and tablecloths
Would not have enjoyed my stay as much if we hadn't got a balcony & lake view as the rooms at the rear overlook the car park - although there were a couple of nice Porche and Ferraris to look at!
Hotel unfortunately allows dogs - one in room next to ours barked when left alone
The water taxis were great and the trip on the lake to Bellagio was fantastic - took just under 2 hours (quicker by the rapido service) Como is 10 minutes away - recomend the trip in the Funicular railway to the hill top village of Brunate for the view
Ate at Tom & Jerrys trattoria 5 mins walk away on recomendation of tour guide -dont be put off by the naff name - the food was fantastic and good priced - 14 euro bottle wine main course between 10-25 euro and side dishes 4 euro.
Walked around the grounds of the Villa d'Este hotel which was out of this world but also out of our budget.
Would recommend the Hotel as good value in a beautiful location but be sure to get a lake view.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank troublenstrife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

4/5 (4.5/5)
Rooms a bit oldfashioned and needs a bit of a facelift Otherwise great, good service, great view over como, reasonable price, good pool (amazing toasts by the pool)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikolaj_and_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

I recently travelled to Lake Como and had thought of basing the trip in Como. Was so happy to have found this hotel only minutes outside of Como town , right by the jetty for picking up ferries to the rest of the lake.

Everything about the hotel was excellent. Comfortable, clean, friendly ,welcoming. Stayed on bed and breakfast basis- excellent breakfast. Pool is large and was quiet .
no need to be in Como at all.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirlParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

Its major appeal is that it is on the lake. The neighboring Villa d'Este is a five star hotel and the difference between the two is not ONE but a whole galaxy of stars. Here the staff is unfriendly and borderline rude. Most don't speak English even those at the reception. And they give incomplete or incorrect information and even that reluctantly. When I asked for transportation to the Como train station, they told me to take a taxi which cost 10 euros while the bus with a stop two minutes away from the hotel takes you to the same place in minutes for 1.30 euro.

When I inquired about transportation from the airport in Milan to the hotel, they advised me to take a taxi for 110 euros, but I found out on my own that there is a train leaving several times an hour from inside the Milan terminal and cost only 8.10 euros to Como from where it is only a short 10 euro taxi ride to the hotel.

The rooms are gloomy and sparsely furnished but whatever furniture there is, is dark and ugly. The beds have little wheels so the beds slide at the slightest touch, probably making it easy for the cleaning staff to change the linen, but of no help to those wanting to sleep in them.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank namaste246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

Located 1 block from the Villa d'Este (one of the top hotels in the world) is this moderately priced hotel sharing the same view as the aforementioned hotel and just a few steps from the ferry. Although the decor is simple and the rooms may be small, the hotel offers great value for exploration of Lake Como. There are nearby restaurants and the hotel's restaurant was good as well. The included breakfast was standard.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank Alamedabonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

The Regina Olga does not compare well with other hotels in the Lakes and certainly does not deserve four stars. Its main asset is its location by the lake and handy for the ferry landing stage; but the rooms feel cramped with old, ugly, oversized furniture. There was nowhere to put our suitcases, for example (mine spent the two nights we were there under the sink); the safe in my room didn't work but I couldn't get anyone to come and fix it despite repeated requests.

The food is actually quite good but it's inexcusable to have only tinned fruit at the breakfast buffet when Italy in June is a cornucopia of strawberries, cherries etc.

I was very glad only to be staying two nights and to move on to something more contemporary, but characterful, in Stresa.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbjkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miralago
Hotel Miralago
#4 of 7 in Cernobbio
261 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#2 of 7 in Cernobbio
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Lake Como Hotel
12.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
1,070 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Olga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Olga Hotel

Address: Via Regina 18, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range: £83 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regina Olga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regina Olga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Olga
Regina Olga Cernobbio
Regina Olga Hotel Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing