We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming place”
Review of Regina Olga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regina Olga Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A charming place”
Reviewed 16 May 2010

I've read the reviews that say this hotel is tired, or in need of an facelift. Ultra modern it isn't, & I too was a little disappointed with the standard of the breakfast, but I found it to be a charming hotel, memorable and full of character. It was quiet, clean and comforable, the staff were polite and friendly and all the amenities worked as they should. I slept well, and the lake view (recommended) was just breathtaking. What more could you ask for? I rated this hotel 5 for location, but it really should be a ten!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGlasgowGman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    128
    101
    21
    17
See reviews for
44
153
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

An affordable, small hotel located just steps from the landing dock for the ferries, this is a perfect place for those who cannot afford the Villa D'Este. There is a nice restaurant, pool and well appointed breakfast. The views are spectacular -- I had a room with a small balcony which overlooked the lake and provided a lovely spot to end a day of sightseeing in Como and the other towns on the Lake that are easily visited by ferry.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

the hotel was great, i even stayed at the Regina Olga in Milano, it is the surroundings in Cernobio that perfects it.

Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RaadiyahE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

In Italy for the F1 Grand Prix - chose this hotel over those available in the Grandstandmotorsports brochure for its location and was not disappointed - we requested a lake view room and boy did we get it.
The Regina Olga describes itself as traditional, other tripadvisors describe as old fashioned and tired - both are correct in some ways.
Buffet breakfast below average with tinned fruit salad ( I knew that cos the part of the label was in mine) croissants, yoghurts ,cereal , scrambled egg, bacon & sausage............ but no toast!
Updating and redecoration is needed but the waiting staff are of smart appearance and lay out clean linen napkins and tablecloths
Would not have enjoyed my stay as much if we hadn't got a balcony & lake view as the rooms at the rear overlook the car park - although there were a couple of nice Porche and Ferraris to look at!
Hotel unfortunately allows dogs - one in room next to ours barked when left alone
The water taxis were great and the trip on the lake to Bellagio was fantastic - took just under 2 hours (quicker by the rapido service) Como is 10 minutes away - recomend the trip in the Funicular railway to the hill top village of Brunate for the view
Ate at Tom & Jerrys trattoria 5 mins walk away on recomendation of tour guide -dont be put off by the naff name - the food was fantastic and good priced - 14 euro bottle wine main course between 10-25 euro and side dishes 4 euro.
Walked around the grounds of the Villa d'Este hotel which was out of this world but also out of our budget.
Would recommend the Hotel as good value in a beautiful location but be sure to get a lake view.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank troublenstrife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

4/5 (4.5/5)
Rooms a bit oldfashioned and needs a bit of a facelift Otherwise great, good service, great view over como, reasonable price, good pool (amazing toasts by the pool)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolaj_and_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

I recently travelled to Lake Como and had thought of basing the trip in Como. Was so happy to have found this hotel only minutes outside of Como town , right by the jetty for picking up ferries to the rest of the lake.

Everything about the hotel was excellent. Comfortable, clean, friendly ,welcoming. Stayed on bed and breakfast basis- excellent breakfast. Pool is large and was quiet .
no need to be in Como at all.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirlParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2008

Its major appeal is that it is on the lake. The neighboring Villa d'Este is a five star hotel and the difference between the two is not ONE but a whole galaxy of stars. Here the staff is unfriendly and borderline rude. Most don't speak English even those at the reception. And they give incomplete or incorrect information and even that reluctantly. When I asked for transportation to the Como train station, they told me to take a taxi which cost 10 euros while the bus with a stop two minutes away from the hotel takes you to the same place in minutes for 1.30 euro.

When I inquired about transportation from the airport in Milan to the hotel, they advised me to take a taxi for 110 euros, but I found out on my own that there is a train leaving several times an hour from inside the Milan terminal and cost only 8.10 euros to Como from where it is only a short 10 euro taxi ride to the hotel.

The rooms are gloomy and sparsely furnished but whatever furniture there is, is dark and ugly. The beds have little wheels so the beds slide at the slightest touch, probably making it easy for the cleaning staff to change the linen, but of no help to those wanting to sleep in them.

  • Liked — Location on the lake.
  • Disliked — Staff attitude, sliding beds.
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namaste246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cernobbio hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
0.3 mi away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
1,321 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miralago
Hotel Miralago
#4 of 7 in Cernobbio
245 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Lake Como Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#2 of 7 in Cernobbio
215 reviews
12.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Olga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Olga Hotel

Property: Regina Olga Hotel
Address: Via Regina 18, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Regina Olga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Regina Olga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Olga
Regina Olga Cernobbio
Regina Olga Hotel Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing