We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst restaurant ever - avoid it!! ”
Review of L'Onda

L'Onda
Ranked #28 of 53 Restaurants in Cernobbio
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant ever - avoid it!! ”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I rarely leave reviews, but this horrible place deserves one! The restaurant looks nice and relaxing with a good view of the lake, but service and food are awful! They are very slow and don't care about the clients. The pasta and seafood were disgusting, overcooked and not fresh.
We waited 43 minutes for the food and the waiters were unapologetic and annoyed by our complaints.
If you want to eat something decent avoid this place.

Helpful?
2 Thank sarado23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    77
    47
    27
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing place if you get to meet the owner!!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just found this place by chance, after been on speedboat rented just in front of the Cafe'. We only had some drinks and cappuccino's but meeting the owner and talking to the guy really made this place special. Lot's of funny stories and really funny guy.
A presto!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lovely find, now and 5 years ago”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We found this place 5 years ago when dashing to escape a sudden rain and that time had one of the best meals of our trip. We know the area really well since I lived in Cernobbio as a child and this was definitely a hidden little gem - at first one thinks it's just a gelateria and bar. Prime location on the lake, right up from the boat stop.

5 years ago was a memorable lunch. Last Sunday was a lovely dinner, not on the same level as then but quite good all the same.

The food was very good for the main courses, but the starter was super disappointing - we wanted something small and shared a Caprese. In September, there is no excuse whatsoever for pale tasteless supermarket tomatoes, and tough rubbery supermarket mozzarella. That was a sour note.

We each had a pasta dish which was lovely and so was dessert. Prosecco was expensive for Italy but it was our last night in Italy so what the heck. The owner was lovely and so was the service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank touchofeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What kind of service is this?!?”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I went there and we were about ten people. The only ones sitting indoors, nobody took any care of us. After a while they had the decency to bring the menus and we had to wait more time to order. When the waitress came for the orders, we asked her to take away what was still on our table (there were two or three cups or something like that) by saying: "Può portarlo via?" (Can you take IT away?) and SHE TOOK ONLY ONE CUP of what was there!
Moreover, the music inside was too loud.

I specify that we didn't order any food, so why make us wait for so long for a coffe and a slice of cake?
And it wasn't on the weekend...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yidali_ren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Good fish
Good service
Nice view on the lake
Price reasonable
Located so you can enjoy Cernobbio ambiance
What else ? !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cloetbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Onda also viewed

 

Been to L'Onda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing