We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inhospitable”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Miralago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Miralago
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Inhospitable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Having paid 200 Euro for a nights accommodation we expected clean glasses in the bathroom and sheets without numerous significant holes, and worn threadbare.I could not believe that the room was used for guest accommodation as it had a significant step right across the area from wall to wall in the entrance area. Although the room had been renovated the toilet and large washbasin were so jammed together that my wife had to sit upright leaning backwards a fair way. Whilst the effort to conserve electricity is commendable the room was connected to a system that turned the air con off whilst the lights were off , the window open or the roll down shutters down, or the room door opened. But it stayed off for 5 minutes before it would turn on again. Italy was experiencing a very bad heat wave at the time and the heat and humidity was extremely trying. On approaching the manager/owner we were astounded by the response " if you do not like it leave", her only words to us without even taking the trouble to examine our complaint. We have traveled extensively in many countries over the last 45 years and have never before experienced such rude inhospitable behaviour. The breakfast staff were very good and pleasant, and nothing was too much trouble.
The room itself although small had nice views across the lake, but the bathroom was very small small and the bedroom area had a step across the middle presenting a potential safety hazard. (We actually stumbled on it a couple of times )Why did we have this room?? We thought we booked through a Como tourist office but we heard that this was not the place ( on the Railway Station) and that we should have booked through the large tourist office down on the waterfront in the old town of Lake Como.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallyperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Direttore at Hotel Miralago, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear guest,

We are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us as much as you asked to stay another night ....
we really have a serious laundry service and never ever they bare to bring us bedsheets with holes, house keeping told us the room was clean and tidy also room 106 is one of our best room in hotel, all renovated with 3 windows and 3 balconies, gorgeous view overlooking the lake . You had two keys one to keep in your room power all the time and a/c on and the secon to get into the room . Sometimes house or hotel grow with step there is not a reason "why ", it doesn't seems a big problem in the last 30 years nobody complain about the step and at least that room.

You spoke directly with the owner to stay another night she said the we were fully booked the day after then started all complains and she said in a very polite way if you don't like the hotel and the room you were not obligied to stay .

We wish for all our guests an enjoyable stay and if someone don't like to stay with us and maybe enjoy in somewhere else , why not?.

We apologize for not being up to your expectations.

Hotel Miralago managment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    101
    45
    19
    8
See reviews for
36
111
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

A very welcoming hotel. Great location. Lovely views of the lake. Nice food. We had a corner room. Spacious enough and very clean. The shower was a little small but perfectly adequate.
Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiantiesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Direttore at Hotel Miralago, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your message .

your are always welcome here.
Warmest regards,
the Hotel Miralago Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We loved this hotel - we found the staff all charming and extremely helpful and the views from our room - a spacious corner room on the 4th floor - were stunning. It was great to watch the world go by or to step out and be part of the action. The bathroom was on the small side but that was a minor factor given all the advantages this hotel has to offer. We used the restaurant and found both the food and service excellent and the terrace is lovely on a warm evening. The hotel's secure parking is very well located and it was good to know that our car was safely tucked away. We would love to return to the Miralargo and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Proprietario at Hotel Miralago, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear guest ,

Thank you very much for your messagge , mostly we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Miralago .

We are looking forward to welcoming you here again.

Best regards,

Raffaella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Our room was small, but there was enough space for everything and it had a nice outlook to greenery on the side. The location is ideal, with the restaurant having a nice outdoor area with a great outlook across the front square to the lake beyond. Breakfast was good and the staff pleasant and helpful. Thought it was reasonably priced by local standards.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westsidejoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Proprietario at Hotel Miralago, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you ofr your effort.

best whishes ,

Raffaella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We toured lakes Como & Garda and found Cernobbio to just about the prettiest spot of all & our stay at Hotel Miralago was perfect. Como itself we thought was a bit grubby & busy. I think the choice of room made quite a difference & we booked room 414 based on other reviews & it was just beautiful with small balconies & views of the lake & square. The room was also a good size & quite clean & comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful & courteous with good English. The breakfast (included) was nice but not extensive. Avoid the Cafe Americano though - this "coffee" is in an urn in the breakfast room & we thought that was all we could get so we had some & it was aweful. After asking I found out it is possible to order "real" coffee - espresso !

Room Tip: Room 414 is the go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Proprietario at Hotel Miralago, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Mr. Evan,

Thank you very much for your messagge , we will improve our american coffe in a "urn" and we are sorry that we have been not very clear about espresso coffe and cappuccino from the beginning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This Hotel is situated on a small square facing Lake Como. We took a corner room as we were advised they were the best; our room was lovely, with a very good view from 3 small balconies. We only had a small shower which was a slight downside; I don't know if they have any full bathrooms.The restaurant food was above average except for rather failed attempts at providing a cooked breakfast; never mind, the Continental style breakfast was very good and very fresh.
What makes this Hotel stand out are the staff; I cannot recall meeting a friendlier and more attentive personnel: nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with a smile. I hope to return to Como, and I shall stay in the same Hotel. Slight 'frays' here and there but the price is excellent for the location and I'm missing the staff already!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roulade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahrenshoop, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I combined a business trip with showing Como and Milano to my wife and my youngest one. I chose this hotel as it is right at the lake, and you actually can breakfast with a very nice view on the Lago di Como. I love Como since there is some nice shopping there, so my wife was able to enjoy herself while I was at meetings. Since I am a frequent traveler to Milano I enjoyed the short trip to Milano, and after the meetings back to the hotel. The rooms of course are very small and of a basic, kind of oldish character. It's not a high class, brand-new fancy hotel, but lovely. Very nice Guest Service, kind and very helpful. Already upfront with baby bed and everything. The baby bed was made fresh every day...Outstanding service... Breakfast was lovely and good, not to fancy but way more than sufficient. Would go there anytime a again with family.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3breathed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
0.3 mi away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 33 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Regina Olga Hotel
Regina Olga Hotel
#7 of 7 in Cernobbio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 33 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#3 of 7 in Cernobbio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miralago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miralago

Property: Hotel Miralago
Address: Piazza Risorgimento 1, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miralago 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Miralago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miralago Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel Miralago Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing