We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in Cernobbio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Nice, quiet, quaint, scenic. Our family stayed 2 nights at La Vignetta and we were very happy with the room and location. We had a nice view of the lake from our corner room, also overlooking the outdoor patio/terrasse. The restaurant was busy on both nights which is usually a good sign. The breakfast was fairly basic but good enough. The towels are more like large tea-towels, which is a bit odd, and the wifi was not working very well, but the place is charming and clean, the staff helpful and friendly, and the location within a few minutes walk to the lakeside and centre of Cernobbio. The roads are sometimes narrow and winding, and more so as you ascend the mountain side. It is also close to Lugano to where we drove one evening. During the day, we took the 2-hour ferry ride to Bellagio, toured the little streets and shops for an hour, and enjoyed another 2-hour boat ride (which our 14-year-old son didn't like so much!) to Como, so you have to determine if 4 hours on a boat is worthwhile for you. We thought the scenery was very beautiful and we met really nice people with whom we chatted. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caro1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

La Vignetta is a charming, warm and cozy place to stay in the Como area! If you're looking for a fancy, 5-star hotel, then this place is NOT for you. If you're looking for something small and cozy - wooden doors, creaking floors, friendly staff, GREAT food, GREAT views, nice and quiet area - with a great, family-owned vibe, then look no further! My wife and I had such a delightful experience, we really wished we had stayed in the area another night. Thomas and the staff were great. The food was VERY good - it definitely exceeded our expectations. Should we ever find ourselves in the area again, we'll definitely stay at La Vignetta!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaceofbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Our hosts daniella and tommaso are warm, friendly, gracious and helpful. The rooms are charming, old world styled with a private bath. No tv but you do have wifi. Had dinner in the resteraunt. Such a treat. I had beef fillet in a balsamic sauce that has become the best meal i have had in all my travels. I would highly reccommend this facility to any traveller to the lake como area

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Romantic, cosy setting with fire place in winter and terrace during the summer. Simple but good food, family atmosphere. Excellent both the artichoke salad and the prawn salad with exotic fruits, followed by a perfectly cooked salmon( tasty and not dry and chewy as often happens) with capers and ravioli filled with black truffle and with a creamy cheese sauce. Shame they don't take AMEX, but VISA no problem...Definitely worth a visit if you are in the Cernobbio area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

At first, the room in this well situated hotel was not so appealing...very basic! but then the price is low and it would have been audacious to expect more... The room was clean and reasonably spacious but what gave this hotel a very special appeal, was the friendly and efficient young couple who run it. Guests could feel as though they were in the home of a "dear" friend! The restaurant offered a wide range of food...tasty and well priced... the garden setting restaurant provided a charming ambience for the enjoyment of meals! Would certainly recommend this hotel for an enjoyable stay at a low cost.

Room Tip: keep in mind when booking rooms that there is no lift in this hotel and perhaps a room at the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanga70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This hotel was perfect for our short stay in Northern Italy. Great value for money. Our room had a lovely view of Lake Como. It was clean and comfortable - just remember to shut the external shutters at night to keep the morning light from waking you up too early.
The staff where very friendly and helpful. We only ate breakfast at the hotel and it was good. We walked to the lake for dinner one night. Harry's Bar, recommended.
It’s worth exploring Como. On Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays there is a open air market. Little disappointing if you compare them with the French open air markets.
The free wifi worked well in the lobby and on the first floor, but didn't quite reach up to the second floor where our room was located.
The hotel is dog friendly and we have friends taking their dog with shortly..

Room Tip: Ask for the lake view room on the corner above the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This hotel was perfect for our short stay in Northern Italy. We were on a shopping expedition and used it as a base whilst visiting a number of outlets. Great value for money.

Our room had a lovely view of Lake Como. It was clean and comfortable - just remember to shut the external shutters at night to keep the morning light from waking you up too early. The bathroom was very nice.

The hotel also has a restaurant which serves very tasty meals and had a great value house wine carafe. As the restaurant was not open every night of the week, we walked down to the lake edge and found a lovely pizzeria for dinner on the second night.

The staff were very friendly and helpful in multiple languages. There is a parking lot for cars directly below the hotel on the side street which leads down to the lake.

There is a public garden a few hundred metres further up the hill which is a pleasant place to take a stroll.

The free wifi worked well in the lobby and on the first floor, but didn't quite reach up to the second floor where our room was located. This was the only, minor, downside.

The streets of Cernobbio are quite narrow, so when driving ask the hotel staff for directions for the easiest way to get back onto the highway rather than trusting your GPS to show you the shortest route. Hint - go down to the lake-side road first.

In all, this was a great place to stop. We'd definitely come back to this hotel again!

Room Tip: ask for a lake view room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JS231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
0.2 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Giardino
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#2 of 7 in Cernobbio
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#12 of 32 in Como
278 reviews
2.3 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
633 reviews
14.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Griso Lecco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta

Address: Via Monte Grappa 32, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range: £68 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Vignetta is an old-fashioned and charming trattoria-albergo in the quaint village of Cernobbio, on the road to Monte Bisbino. You will find it hidden away only five minutes walking distance from the lake and downtown. Our beautiful terrace is surrounded by flowers and luxurious gardens. Our rooms are very simple, typical, clean and pretty, good for whom is looking for a cheap accommodation in a very quiet place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta Hotel Cernobbio
Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta Cernobbio
Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing