We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sub-Par Lodging with Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We booked this hotel based on the positivie reviews posted on this site. It was a terrible disappointment. We are very seasoned travelers, have stayed in a wide array of lodging accommodations from 5 star hotels to hostels, but were not prepared for the horrible condition of our room at La Vigneta, which could not measure up to even the most basic youth hostel level.

The room was smelly, stuffy and unbearably hot (no AC or fan). We opened the windows to discover that it was facing the road in a section where every passing car would honk to alert any potential oncoming traffic before entering a blind curve. Needless to say, we did not get much sleep. The bathroom was filthy with mold in the shower stall and lacking such basic fixtures like a hook or rack to hang a towel. The towels were thin sheets of fabric and resembled a small table cloth. The toilet seat cover was held up with a wire contraption to prevent it from slamming shut. The room lacked a bedside/reading light and its furnishings were tired looking. The walls and ceiling showed several stains from leaks. The breakfast was very basic (one hard roll, butter and jam). The coffee was cold. We were not offerred any additional beverages. The common areas of the hotel lacked any charm and smelled of sewage emanating from the public bathroom. The WIFI internet was not working. The owner was not accommodating or friendly. We did not eat at the hotel's restaurant.

Stay away from La Vigneta.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nikia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2009

We stayed at nearby Villa d'Este who recommended La Vignetta to us for dinner. We had a delightful time at this charming, family-run restaurant/hotel. Tomas was a wonderful host and made us feel extremely welcome. The food was delicious and we ended our meal with complimentary Limoncello. We definitely recommend La Vignetta for genuine, tasty local food with a warm welcome!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

We enjoyed our overnight stay at La vignetta. Well located in Cernobbio, a short walk from the lake but far enough away to be peaceful.
We stayed in a lovely, large, light room with views over the lake. It was furnished very simply, and the toilet was across the hall, but we were very comfortable. We were also made very welcome by the owners.
In the evening, having checked out the restaurants in town, we decided to eat in the hotel and were were very glad that we did so. The food was excellent, all made in their own kitchen.
I enjoyed "malfatti" dumplings which were clearly home made and my partner a delicious shin of pork.
Do go there!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capresina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

I am always looking forward to travel to the Milan area. It gives me the opportunity to stay at La Vignetta. Charming, very friendly people, mediterranean atmosphere, Italian food, the beautiful lake, enough reasons to come back to Tomasso and Daniella.
Geke Lensink, Amsterdam

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gldv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

What you see is what you get. A simple and efficient hotel with passionate and friendly personnel. The restaurant is wonderful and the atmosphere is truly Italian.

Recommendations from me

Mr. Nielsen
Denmark

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hr_Nielsen00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

We return to this place for many years now. We love the charming house and the very friendly atmosphere. We always feel coming home... The typical Italian flair, the breathtaking lake views, the charming little garden restaurant - all well situated within private villas - a little bit uphill. Far enough from the lakeside, to be protected from tourist's noise, but on the other hand close enough to Pizzeria Centrale or Harry's bar to make our "evening excursions" by walk... Daniela and Tommasso always give us a warm welcome! You are the first time at lake Como and feel a little bit lost? Talk to them - they are willing to make everything possible or giving you worthy advices while you are planning your sightseeing trip.
Patricia and Norbert.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Norri21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

I felt in love with these amazing place in the middle of one of the most beutifull part of Italy. The hotel rooms are preatty simple with a good price/quality ratio, but the most impressing thing is the family atmosphere that you can feel while enjoyng an exellent meal in the hotel's restaurant. Very friendly staff that make evrything to make you feel confortable and help you out. These place really represent the italian spirit and I strongly recommend it to every one visiting Cernobbio.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank marcBrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#2 of 7 in Cernobbio
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miralago
Hotel Miralago
#4 of 7 in Cernobbio
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Giardino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
610 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
500 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta

Address: Via Monte Grappa 32, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range: £70 - £533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Vignetta is an old-fashioned and charming trattoria-albergo in the quaint village of Cernobbio, on the road to Monte Bisbino. You will find it hidden away only five minutes walking distance from the lake and downtown. Our beautiful terrace is surrounded by flowers and luxurious gardens. Our rooms are very simple, typical, clean and pretty, good for whom is looking for a cheap accommodation in a very quiet place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta Hotel Cernobbio
Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta Cernobbio
Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing