We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic for the price” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Universal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Universal
Ranked #110 of 263 Hotels in Cervia
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very basic for the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed for a week in the hotel. The rooms are a bit basic and out dated, if you are used to business hotels you will rate the rooms as poor. Although they clean them every day, the floor was only cleaned once in the time we stayed there. Breakfast is good, great choose, a bit early (it closes at 10).
Service was in principle ok, however our son had an accident with the lift due to the poor old condition of it, and further than an apologize from the receptionist the did not go. For a 4 star hotel I would expect more.
If I rate it overall, also considering the price I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    90
    35
    8
    7
See reviews for
85
53
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is an excellent hotel.The staff are very friendly, and speak relatively good English. The pool is big, very clean and has lots of sun beds. The room is a bit small but ours was with fantastic sea view; sitting in the balcony at night was great. The room was also very clean and the Housekeeping was five star. The buffet breakfast was amazing with loads of choices and endless supply of excellent coffee if you ask for more. The hotel has a special arrangement with the beach bar opposite which is also very convenient and nice.

Room Tip: Definitely go for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

I just returned from an amazing weekend in Cervia. Couldn't refrain from leaving an overall very good review for this hotel. All the staff at the hotel are really helpful and extremely nice. Food was excellent in all breakfasts, lunches and dinners. Was in Cervia for the Festivaldanza 2013 with the Maltese Delegation and will definately be back for a leasure holiday. The only small problem we had was with the room. Our room was in the attic and quite claustrophobic. Could not stand up for a shower as the roof was about 1m high. Lost count of how many times I bumped my head

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank borglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

The food here is really very good for a hotel of this kind. The buffet is especially good and you can go back as many times as you like and it is in addition to what you order. The desserts are just amazing. The staff, the service is all 5 star for a family run hotel and the can't do enough for you. The only downside is the fact that the rooms aren't up to scratch. They are small and a bit old to be honest. But I would still definately stay here again as we had such a pleasant stay and allways were made to feel welcome 24/7.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

This is a very nice hotel with very helpful and pleasant staff. The room had been recently refurbished and the hotel is just across the road from the sea front. It's quite a hike to Cervia but there is a public bus or do as most people do and hire a bike. Downsides are that Wifi was not accessible in the room and that the pool is shared with the sister 3 star hotel and it's barely big enough for the Universal

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minesbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Location, food, and the swimpool are the best assets for this place, plus the friendly attitude of all the employees. The prices are very convenient expecially if you travel wuth children who pay a lot less.The hotel is right in front of the beach, and at ninght a simple but entertaining show or a happy hour is often offered to the guests...and the kids love it And if you come back the next year they really greet you as a family member

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Cervia is a great destination for a family holiday, the Adriatic is so safe for the children & so much fun. Anyway, the Hotel Universal, we just had a week here, end of July, its about the 3rd or 4th time my wife & I have stayed here, this time we had family with us - three rooms ( a bit on the small side ) - (we've also stayed in two other hotels in the Select Hotels Group) The staff here are really genuinely nice people, really helpful & friendly. The food is good local dishes with imagination, and plenty of choice, not designed for tourists ( the guests are mostly Italian ) The hotel is opposite the beach, just across the 'lungomare'. There is a pinewood (Pineta) about 2 minutes walk away which is lovely for a stroll, eating a Piadina or Gelato. This is an honest account - my Italian wife & I have been holidaying in Italy since 1963.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cervia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#230 of 263 in Cervia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Conchiglia
Hotel Conchiglia
#42 of 263 in Cervia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gambrinus
Hotel Gambrinus
#43 of 263 in Cervia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Buratti
Hotel Buratti
#3 of 51 in Pinarella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blues Hotel
Blues Hotel
#59 of 263 in Cervia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#55 of 263 in Cervia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universal

Property: Hotel Universal
Address: Lungomare Grazia Deledda 118, 48015, Cervia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Cervia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cervia
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Cervia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Universal 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Universal Hotel directly overlooks the sea and it is only 20 metres from the golden beach of the Riviera Romagnola. So, from their room our guests can admire a wonderful sight on the sea or, as an alternative, the large covered swimming pool, heated during wintertime.The pastel-coloured hotel facade, which has been recently renovated, makes this structure an elegant and refined picture. All the 117 rooms, 8 of which are family rooms, have the same romantic and delicate tones and they have their own balcony, a bathroom with a shower or a tub, a mini-bar and a safe-deposit box. The range of services is capped by faience ceramic floors, satellite TV, direct dialing phone, hair dryer, air conditioning and heating. For families there are also comfortable communicating rooms. Since good cooking is the strength of all the hotels belonging to the Select Hotels Collection, the Batani family aims primarily at a high-quality cuisine. The wide and bright restaurant, offering a panoramic view of the sea, proposes a la carte menus with tasty and genuine local and Italian dishes belonging to tradition, using always and exclusively fresh land and sea products. During summertime, evening entertainments for adults and daily mini-clubs for children up to 3 are organized. Right on the beach, at a short distance from the hotel, there is a beauty farm offering the guests beauty treatments at a special price.Among the services at your disposal: an internet point, an arcade equipped for children, a fitness area next to the swimming pool, unattended car park and garage on payment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Hotel Cervia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing