We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Proper French Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Gamade

La Gamade
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Gamade
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donzenac
Thame, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Proper French Hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

If you would like to stay at a "proper French hotel" in a beautiful french village this place is perfect. Location superb, very pretty building, furnished very tastefully, rooms very comfortable (noisy toilets - typical french plumbing) , food first class plus (we had a home made vegatable soup that was the best we have ever tasted),
breakfast worth waiting for. We have now been to this hotel 4 times and will go back whenever we are in the area. If you like ultra modern hotels with air conditioning this hotel is not for you

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimandcyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    10
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
16
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thornbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The service was very good, although with our very limited French and the manageress' non existent English, conversation was difficult. The room was spacious and lovely, very nicely re-done. Historical info about the hotel and the town provided in the room was interesting. Had a couple of English speaking TV channels. Slightly limited menu but food was excellent. Parking was good and access via the back door meant not carrying bags upstairs. We used the hotel as an o/n stop en route from the Med to the Channel, wish we had more time to explore Donzenac itself, it looked nice. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Donzenac looks like a pretty town but I did not get to stay there. I arrived at 8 in the evening after a long car ride in the rain and the hotel la Gamade was closed despite the hours posted saying they should be open. I had made a reservation 3 months in advance so I was surprised to find their restaurant closed as well and all of the lights off. I called the phone number and there was a recording. The nice people in the nearby pizza place knew the owner's mobile phone number and called them. He or she did not wish to speak with me and declined to open the hotel though no explanation was given. Luckily the people in the pizza place found manother hotel in another town. I alerted hotels.com as to what happened and strangely they still seem to be taking reservations for this hotel. I asked for all fees to be refunded and they wrote me and told me only that the proprietor doesn't speak English and that I should call them myself.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We revisited La Gamade after 10 years or so. Now with new owners it has been given a major makeover. Rooms and bathooms much more modern and less quirky. No longer linked to the Restaurant Perigord it now does its own meals which seemed very good. Donzenac is charming - and good place for a stop over en route or a reasonable centre for a short stay.
Parking is on street but works OK.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a terrace and is really worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17marcopolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Spent one brief evening in this very calm hotel in a very silent village in a very quiet area in France. Though we arrived late (i.e. after dark when you can hear a car approaching from 15 kms away), we still got a beer on the terrace, so that was friendly. We didn't ask for diner so no review from me on that one. The room was clean and large, bit outdated furniture, but fine enough for a 10hours stopover. The breakfast was also well enough, though I share the comment of a previous reviewer : the sheer quietness makes that you are surrouned by chewing and munching.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donzenac
3.6 mi away
Le Relais du Garavet
Le Relais du Garavet
#1 of 1 in Allassac
9 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#3 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
192 reviews
14.0 mi away
Relais du Quercy
Relais du Quercy
#1 of 1 in Meyssac
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Chateau de Castel-Novel
4.2 mi away
Chateau de Lacan
Chateau de Lacan
#4 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
81 reviews
5.7 mi away
Les Coquelicots Inter Hotel
Les Coquelicots Inter Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint-Pardoux-l'Ortigier
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gamade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gamade

Property: La Gamade
Address: 4 Place Leon Madrias, 19270 Donzenac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Correze > Donzenac
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donzenac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Gamade 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Gamade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing