We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice area and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riva del Sole Resort & SPA
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice area and location”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Had one end of a, well, cabin and it was quite spacious and close to the beach. The location of the area was good, close enough Castiglione Della Pescaia. It was also closed area, so quite good for kids, if you have any.

Food was good and service excellent in all the restaurants. The minigolf on the other side of the road was terrible, do not spend your moneys there. There were laundry machine at the area, if you need one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mosqito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    253
    71
    36
    17
See reviews for
328
175
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We were not so lucky with the weather, on the other hand we experienced a positive stay at Riva del Sole with good service and great food. The resort is quite big and, although it seemed full, was never crowded.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lapo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Västerås
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Hallo
I've had a good time, Riva del sole.
Very nice and quiet
Here are some suggestions to improve
1.three or four options on the cheap lunch
2nd better cooperation with flight
To reduce the transfer cost
Or why not charter a private flight from Arlanda with transfer
a few times during the year
3.offer bus trips to a greater extent
Look at the bus company Ölvemarks in Sweden

Mvh Kenneth

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is a little village where one can find everything, from supermarket to pharmacy to multiple bars and two very good restaurants. For families with children this is the perfect location, as the hotel has a baby swimming pool, a playground and special children menu which my son enjoyed every evening. It was funny to see the amount of buggies parked at the corridor of the hotel. The hotel was built by the Swedish in the 60's as a resort for Swedish people lookign to recover from accidents etc. They would arrive by plane to the nearby Castiglione and go to the hotel. The beach of the hotel is also very good and very very undeep, so perfect for children. One word about the spa and the restaurant. The staff at both locations is just amazing. The guys preparing the pizzas and the fried food in the restaurant are very friendly, and gave my son a free portion of french fries every time we would go see how they bake the pizzas. The spa is also very good and has everything one could desire. One special word for Roberta who revived my very painful back in no time with her magic hands! She is a treasure. Also the cleaning staff were very good and efficient, making sure our room was getting cleaned while we were with our child out for breakfast, as it was important to us that we get back and find the room ready to put him to bed if necessary. I must say that the friednliness of the cleanining staff was exceptional and much more than the reception. Languages spoken are Italian and German primarily.

Room Tip: We had a standard room which was very good with access to the garden, which was important for our li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelfanNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I have been visiting Riva with my wife for more than 10 years, attracted by the facility, the beach and the hospitality. We are one of many returning year after year.

Riva has four stars, but is getting closer to 5 star.

Some of the rooms are now upgraded to superior rooms. The location of the superior rooms is still not great, over the bar, but new superior rooms are likely to be added before next years season.

Investments in the spa and the pool environment in recent years have added significant value.

For me and my wife, the beach is still the hotel's number 1 attraction. And no other hotel I have visited has offered a similar breakfast. And staff is just great..

Lunch at the "pizza bar" is good value. Service top.

Room Tip: We never stay on ground floor -and never toward the road to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retired43Oslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Beautiful located at the boarder of the Mediterranean. Good service in a smooth, luxurious hotel built in the 1960s. Great breakfast and dinner buffet and a well placed beach bar. Just a bus ride or a short walk to the old town Castiglione della Pescaia.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sajoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a fortnight in August 2013 and had a marvellous time. The room was nice and clean, the service excellent and the food .... delicious! The resort is nicely situated in the pine wood just by the sea and offers a lot of activities. It is clean and tidy and feels very safe.
It is also easy to make trips to other cities, as several buses stops just outside the resort. Bikes can be rented as well. I do hope this was not the last time we stayed at Riva del Sole Resort & Spa!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have nice terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castiglione Della Pescaia hotels
5.1 mi away
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
#2 of 5 in Punta Ala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
6.4 mi away
L'Andana
L'Andana
#3 of 23 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Roccamare
Hotel Residence Roccamare
#13 of 23 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Gallia Palace Hotel Relais & Chateaux
6.4 mi away
Baglioni Resort Cala del Porto
1.3 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#1 of 23 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva del Sole Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva del Sole Resort & SPA

Property: Riva del Sole Resort & SPA
Address: Localita Riva del Sole SNC, 58043, Castiglione Della Pescaia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Castiglione Della Pescaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
#1 Spa Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
#5 Family Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva del Sole Resort & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the magic Maremman pine forest on a surface of 27 hectares, directly by the seashore and with a private beach of 600 meters. This is Riva del Sole, a pearl of the Tuscan Maremma. The complex is situated right in heart of an area that offers exceptionally interesting aspects on landscape, history, archaeology and culture. 4-star S Hotel, that is the very expression of the best hotel traditions of Tuscany, composed by 156 rooms, all with A/C, satellite TV, telephone, safe, minibar, hairdryer and all with balcony or terrace. The WiFi service is available in all public areas. The 3-star Residence is composed by 182 apartments divided in 3 different types: two-room apartments in two story buildings, three-room apartments and one-room studios on one level at the ground floor. Private beach, Rasena SPA with 3 swimming pools, one of which, with seawater and the beauty & massage center, tennis court, five aside football, water sports, 2 jogging paths (1250 mt snd 1500 mt), minigolf, ATM, shops, supermarket, restaurant, pizzeria, bar, wine shop, tobacconist, newspaper stand, hairdresser, first aid center, pharmacy, launderette and bicycle rental. Fully equipped conference rooms for meetings from 10 to 270 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Riva del Sole Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Del Sole Resort & Spa Hotel Castiglione Della Pescaia
Riva Del Sole Resort And Spa
Riva Del Sole Resort & SPA Castiglione Della Pescaia, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing