We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Have returned many years to L'Approdo"”
Review of Hotel L'Approdo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel L'Approdo
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Have returned many years to L'Approdo"”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for the past 10 years as part of our summer holiday; we have made many friends with other holiday makers and staff. We often stay for 2 weeks. We have always found the reception staff very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble in the busy reception. Some of the rooms look out over the busy harbour and out to the brilliant blue sea. Some of the rooms look out towards the old town. The breakfast consists of freshly cooked eggs, hams, cheese, fresh fruit, cakes, cereals and bread. It is self service with staff on hand to help and make fresh coffee. We have eaten in the evenings in the reasonably priced restaurant and the food is excellent. All rooms have air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi and are kept clean by very friendly cleaners. The rooms are light and airy with dressing gowns and slippers provided. The town of Castiglione della Pescaia is a busy seaside town which has won awards this year for its clean environment. In the evenings, there are many bars to have a drink. We also eat in the many restaurants which serve a range of Italian food, the Viandante is particularly good. It is worth a stroll up to the old town to watch the Sun set over the island of Elba or walk out to the lighthouse at the end of the harbour. You can watch fishing boats off loading their catch or the local rowing teams racing. The large Saturday market is a great place to find some bargains. During the day we drive a few miles to the wild and sandy beach, Marza, which is totally relaxing.
This excellent hotel is perfectly placed for a really good holiday in wonderful Castiglione. This is a town that is little known to British tourists but is very popular with Italians.

We cannot wait to return to the L'Approdo and CdP next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    164
    84
    31
    28
See reviews for
107
183
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The only thing this hotel has going for itself , is the location.

For the price it's not that great, they claim to be 4 stars but I believe they must have bought 2 of them somewhere.

This hotel needs a good remodel, everything is out dated. The breakfast upstairs is really good though. And that's about the only thing.. If you intend to sleep in the morning you can just forget about it, the maids make so much noise,( obviously intentional,) so that the guests wake up early and the maids can make up the rooms and go home I think ... It was like having a train going thru the corridors in the morning around 9 AM. I did bring this issue up to the manager and she assured me she would bring it up the the maids attention. No matter , it made no difference the next day and the day after and every day after that!. This is the second time we stayed here and next year we will look elsewhere .the staff in this hotel is totally uninterested in their job, couldn't care less about anything . In the one week we spent there, we never got a good morning or hello from any of them, except for the waiters in the breakfast room. The manager needs to have a serious talk or re training of the staff or their business will suffer in the long run. Sorry to say but We will not return.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the highest floor or you will hear the people above all the time. Possibly stay away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luigi760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castiglione Della Pescaia hotels

Winnipeg, MB
Level Contributor
172 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

One night was all I could bear - rude check in, dust on every surface in the room, a big fuss to get the AC going, too little bandwidth for WiFi so no service when anyone else was in the hotel, gross shower that hardly drained, weird smelling soap and shampoo etc.
This hotel is in a great location, close to beach, marina and restaurants/bars - but as another reviewer stated, it's an uncomfortable trip back to the 70s - and who would want to go back there?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingnurse50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Recently stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Great location, close to the beach and to the bustling nightlife/ restaurants but for a supposed 4 star hotel have to say left leaving a little disappointed. Its not particularly cheap for what you get especially at peak time of year but the staff were friendly enough and the communal areas were to an ok standard (although not really to my taste) but our superior bedroom was really very basic with poor furnishings. Admittedly we had a great view of the port and much appreciated and needed the AC but the rest of the room experience was very much underwhelming and was very much like stepping back into time say the 70's or 80's. Breakfast which was included was also very unimaginative and poor quality. To be avoided really. Would I stay here again? Probably not. Would I come to this town again? Most definitely but stay somewhere else.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 1879fulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
1,141 reviews
242 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 635 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Well, you get here for location, right on the corner to the beach, 200 m away from nightlife action, the food is ok, breakfast a bit sparse and like in a lot of hotels in Italy they love this chemical orange juice, do not know why.

So its location, its not food, and its not the noise you get all over in the house, at night its the street, in the morning its the breakfast room on rooftop, nice, but noisy, and its the rather thin walls and doors that will catch your sleep.

So when you go there, cut the night short, noise is of little issue then!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FOL-1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This is a wonderful hotel to base yourself during a visit to the beautiful Tuscan coast.
The staff was wonderful and went out of its way to make our stay comfortable.
The hotel is steps away from the many restaurants and shops of this lovely town and near the waterfront as well. The rooms are clean and comfortable, many with terraces overlooking the port where you can relax with a glass of wine or breakfast delivered to your room. The free WIFI internet service was a big plus. Unfortunately I did not get a chance to eat at the hotel's restaurant but other guests told me it was delicious. There is a cool wine bar next door where you can sample the region's many wonderful wines. This is Tuscany at its best and that's saying a lot.
We really loved our stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace so you can have your breakfast in your room as you watch the boats go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolcedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
147 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

The location is superb, close to a wonderful beach and the old town.
The receptionists are professional and friendly. The rooms are clean, quite big and has a small balcony.
The breakfastroom has a wonderful view to the old town.The food is good so you can really enjoy your breakfast.
You can say that the facilities are oldfashioned but that is nothing to complain about. It was not a surprise.
I will absolutely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiaNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castiglione Della Pescaia hotels
6.6 mi away
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
#3 of 5 in Punta Ala
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kinda
Hotel Kinda
#13 of 23 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
85 reviews
5.1 mi away
L'Andana
L'Andana
#3 of 23 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Riva del Sole Resort & SPA
Riva del Sole Resort & SPA
#2 of 23 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
652 reviews
3.7 mi away
Roccamare Resort
Roccamare Resort
#14 of 23 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#1 of 23 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Approdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Approdo

Property: Hotel L'Approdo
Address: Via Ponte Giorgini 29, 58043, Castiglione Della Pescaia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Castiglione Della Pescaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Approdo 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place for a truly wonderful holiday in the beautiful town of Castiglione della Pescaia: this is the 'Hotel L'Approdo' standing in a panoramic position overlooking the Tuscan archipelago, with its Mediterranean pinewoods and its enchanting medieval hamlet. And it's not only perfect for a beach holiday, for a family or for a couple, but also as a starting point to go and explore all the lovely places in the Tuscan Maremma area as well as the Isles of Elba and Giglio. The hotel has 48 comfortable bedrooms, well furnished with all mod cons; some enjoy a panoramic view and some can offer you larger accommodation for families. Buffet breakfast which, in summer, is served on an evocative panoramic terrace. Its spacious restaurant serves delicious meat and fish dishes, often with entertaining theme evenings, and gluten-free food is also available. Moreover, in summer, children can enjoy shows specially put on for them , their own play room and free bike hire. Small pets are welcome. In addition, for sport and fitness, there is the Sport and Wellness centre, 13 km away, at the La Principina Farm, where you can - for free - make use of the room for floor exercises, gym, sauna, Turkish bath, whirlpool bath, and outdoor swimming pools. So the Hotel L'Approdo and Castiglione della Pescaia are eagerly waiting for you so that you can enjoy an unforgettable holiday, in the name of nature, sun, sport and well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel L'Approdo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Approdo Castiglione Della Pescaia, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing