We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Santa Chiara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Santa Chiara
Ranked #40 of 87 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“disapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Our group of 8 had booked a Newmarket holiday Tuscan Treasures. We chose the Hotel Plaza in Chianciano Terme, Newmarket changed the hotel to the Santa Chiara in Chianciano.
Nice friendly hotel, the staff were always cheerful. the food was good and plentiful.
The Santa Chiara is not in the centre, a 15 minute walk which is on uneven pavements and hilly
This meant we were having to pay for expensive drinks at the hotel bar.
This hotel is not suitable for less able people as it is situated on a hill.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paolacorvi, Direttore at Hotel Santa Chiara, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
We have a beautiful memory of your company. we understand the disappointment of having a hotel you had not chosen......but for us it was a pleasure hosting you
Many Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    39
    17
    17
    5
See reviews for
19
46
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

we stayed here for 4 nights on the Newmarket Holidays Classic Italy tour. Good quantity and variety of food for dinner. Continental style breakfast with cold meat, cheese, cake, fruit, cereal. The staff were very cheerful, helpful, and enthusiastic, they made our stay very enjoyable. We were touring every day so do not feel able to comment on the town. The pool was adequate. The room was large and comfortable and the shower room was adequate but small. The hotel did the job required and we have no complaints.

Room Tip: rooms seemed to vary so be specific about your requirements. I guess very few rooms would have a sce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twoshedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paolacorvi, Direttore at Hotel Santa Chiara, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
It is a pleasure to respond to your review.
Thank you for what you say about us.
Thank you for your kind words to our staff and to have enjoyed the facilities.
We appreciate your spirit of travelers and we wish you the best for your next vacation
Kind regards
Hotel Santa Chiara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel in May for 4 days as part of Newmarket Travel Classic Italy Tour. It is a smallish family run hotel which we found to be comfortable. The staff in the dining room were very friendly and generally created a good and sociable atmosphere. Food was pretty good I thought, previous reviews have said it was terrible, but my husband and I enjoyed it ! So did the 4 other people who shared our table during the holiday. For evening meal we usually had a starter of cold meat, cheese etc followed by a fish course, then salad and main course of various types of meat, pasta, fish and finally dessert. Drinks were chosen at table and you paid for these at the end of the holiday, so keep a record it's easier. Breakfast was buffet style, cold hard boiled eggs (well we like them), cereals, fruit, yoghourts etc. I can't actually remember whether cooked was on offer (sorry !) Coffee and tea available, drinkable - not great, but you can't expect exactly what you get at home when you are in a different country.
The room was comfortable and clean and actually quite large. The bed was comfortable and the location was quiet. Bathroom kept very clean and also quite large. Shower over a bath, didn't have a shower curtain, but as long as you directed the water flow along the bath, it wasn't a problem. The view from our room was over apartments and a car park so not spectacular, but we only went there to sleep !! Some others on the trip had a room on a higher floor which had views over the Tuscan countryside, so if you want this, be specific when you book. We were just glad it was quiet, having spent the previous 3 days in a very noisy location.
The pool was not open until June and was undergoing work, so we couldn't access it. Someone said it was on the roof of the hotel. Staff were generally pleasant and helpful.
The hotel is located on quite a steep street, so if you have mobility problems, then you could find it difficult. There is an old part of the town we were told, but as we were travelling on coach trips each day, we didn't have time to see it. We did walk across the newer part of Chinciano to the Aqua Park/Spa which looked lovely, but again didn't have 3-4 hours to spare to try it out.
A previous review said that the street was so steep the coach had to pick them up at the bottom, but we had no such problem with ours. Admittedly it was a smallish bus, but we also saw some other full size ones who had no such trouble either, so maybe it was their driver who had the problem !!
All in all we enjoyed our stay. We were touring every day with Newmarket travel, so didn't actually spend a lot of time in the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room at the side of the hotel, first floor didn't have much of a view. So higher up at the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moosiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Stayed in this hotel for four nights on a Classic Italy Coach Tour.
Location: Situated on a steep hill with badly kept uneven pavements, not suitable for the older person, or people with walking problems. Chianciano Terme does not offer much, and everywhere you go it is very hilly. When we left the hotel on the last day, the coach had to depart up the hill with just the luggage, and meet the passengers at the bottom of the hill due to safety reasons(very hilly and under full load).
Facilities: Just one small lift(max 4 small persons) for 5 floors. It took about half an hour to reach the room after arriving due to 50 guests with suitcases.
Did not find the swimming pool.
Rooms: Shower worked OK, toilet pan unusual, reasonably clean, had TV, when in shower could hear next door residents quite clearly.
Staff: Generally polite except on one occasion when I went to collect my key in the afternoon from reception(which was not there), and was accused of losing it and had my room searched and asked to empty my pockets. It appeared later in reception, but no appology was made to me.
Food: Poor breakfast with cold boiled eggs, cake, rolls, croissants, some cereal and yogurt. Tea/Coffee ready made in boilers.
Evening meals were unusual, but on the whole edible with salard thrown in with the main course.
One evening I had an omelet with egg shell included.
Satisfaction: Would never come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Probably better on the 5th Floor as no one above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonty52012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chianciano Terme hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Newly fitted rooms, but the walls are paper thin, you can hear all the noise from adjoining rooms. Poor quality cheap food, service left a lot to be desired. Pool was closed, no heating in the bedrooms despite it being very cold, no outside seating other than sitting out the front of the hotel by the road.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeanLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Really enjoyable Hotel.
Clean rooms, good food and plenty of it.
Friendly and accomodating staff.
My daughter and I stayed here for 8 days/ 7 nights and felt more like friends of the staff than mere guests in the hotel.
We would deffinately be back to enjoy more of the friendly humour the nice staff members so generously engulfed us in.
Thanks a million to the staff at Santa Chiara hotel in Chianciano Terme.
Grazie mille a tutti!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiPeNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights on Newmarket Holidays' Seven Cities of Italy Tour. Before we got there our guide warned us not to compare this hotel with the one we had previously stayed in at Lake Garda because by law in Tuscany the heating is turned off in May so the rooms would be cold and because they give you cotton sheets to dry yourself with, rather than towels as they are considered to be more hygenic. As it turned out we had a lovely room with a decent bathroom, carpet and 2 balconies so couldn't grumble and we did have proper towels for half of our stay. Our fellow travellers were not so lucky. They said the marble floors were cold (extra blankets were needed as rooms were cold) and many had no balcony. It seems that odd numbered floors have carpet (we were on 3rd floor), even numbers have marble floors. The food was my only complaint. Breakfast was dreadful - the tea is ready-made in a boiler and is grey in colour and weak as dishwater with no taste, coffee was rough, the milk is the same awful sweet UHT stuff that you usually get in Europe, the cheap cornflakes are awful and of course no toast. I don't mind continental breakfasts but you expect a decent cup of tea or coffee and nice bread. It is a set dinner menu - soup to start, then pasta (invariably dried pasta with tomato sauce), then meat or fish with salad then dessert. I am a vegetarian and was given an omelette one night, a deep fried mozzarella sandwich (!) on the second and half a tomato, courgette and red pepper with cheese melted on them on the last night. We'd given up on the 3rd night and gone to eat out, but be warned there is nothing in Chianciano Terme (apart from the spas). There are no restaurants in the new town, only a snack/icecream bar where we did have a nice lasagne but it was a small snack-sized portion. There are no bars in the centre of the new town apart from the snack bar where we had our lasagne. All the shops close early so by evening the place is dead. On the last night the hotel food was better (for the meat eaters) and comprised of 5 huge courses which no one could finish (weird cheese bread with sliced meat, then soup, then lasagne, then sliced roast pork and gravy which the chef came out to carve, then slices of a huge gateau which was brought out with sparklers in it, served with a glass of Brut. The hotel has a pool (not that we would have had time to use it due to our hectic timetable) but it wasn't open in May. The old town is pleasant but tiny and there are apparently restaurants near there, close to the co-op supermarket. We had a wonderful time on this holiday because of the places we visited (Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, Assisi, Rome) and it was very convenient being driven to each place and offered guided tours and excursions. The hotel food was very disappointing, but I didn't expect much from a 3 star hotel so it didn't spoil my holiday.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Morgana29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chianciano Terme hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sanremo
Hotel Sanremo
#25 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#20 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#45 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Iris
Iris
#52 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#18 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Angela
Albergo Angela
#26 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Chiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Chiara

Property: Hotel Santa Chiara
Address: Via Dei Colli 50, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 87 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Chiara 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Santa Chiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing