We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”
Review of Hotel Michelangelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Michelangelo
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Reviewed 9 September 2008

The Michelangelo is set amongst pine trees just outside the town. We had a lovely spacious 3rd floor room with a great view of Chianciano Terme and the surrounding countryside from the balcony. Panoramic views from the roof terrace. Good size swimming pool set in grounds. We had it more or less to ourselves late afternoon ,early evening when we used it.

On the plus side room very comfortable, and staff courteous and helpful. The Minibus shuttle service was good during the day running to the piazza Italia. Plenty of choice for breakfast ,cereal, fruit, cheese, salami, pastries etc. Evening meals choice of 3 options each for starter and maincourse plus big vegetable buffet. Lovely deserts. Great choice for a quiet relaxing holiday.

Food mainly OK not sure whether some of the main dishes deserve 4 stars but perfectly adequate. The Mini bus service stops at 8pm. The small road that runs round the back of the hotel takes you down to Piazza Italia about 600metres, most of the shops further on. It is a steep hill most of the way so you would need to be fairly fit to attempt it. We did it several times and it only takes about 10 minutes.

The modern part of Chianciano is full of designer shops and has not got much character. The old town is set on a hill at the opposite side of the town from the hotel. Well worth a visit. Very pretty with wonderful views. The archeological musuem on the Via Dante just before you reach the old town is excellent if you are interested in Etruscan and Roman period.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ambula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2008

This hotel was our base for a touring holiday. We booked it as 4 Star with expectations quite high. Oh dear what a disappointment. The hotel is quite away from the town but there is a shuttle bus which stops running at 8p.m. The climb up to the hotel is steep and although I am just 60 years of age adn I am fit, I did struggle. The meals were very average and not a lot of it very meagre breakfasts, and unoriginal evening meals. The hotel desperately needs refurbishment. The rooms were not too bad, good size with nice bathroms with a bath not a shower. The hotel has a decent pool area, but whilst we were there a party of school children were also there. The Berlitz summer school was the name of the organisation. The children took over the pool area with no way of swimming as they had organised games in and around the pool. The bar was badly stocked. The other guests at the hotel were mostly aged Italians. The staff were inconsiderate and sometimes rude. There were problems with other hotels in this area. We would not go back to this hotel and would not recommend it to others

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Pina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mauro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank PaCb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anya1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chianciano Terme hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#2 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#14 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
982 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
#9 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
3,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Perugina
Hotel Perugina
#7 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#19 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Del Buono Centro Benessere
Hotel Del Buono Centro Benessere
#20 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Michelangelo

Address: Via delle Piane, 146, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Michelangelo 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Michelangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing